We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class holiday destination.”
Review of Mornington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovelier staff. Waitresses are superb. Manager and manageress very helpful with a wonderful knowledge of the island. Location marvellous. Other guests very friendly ,particularly in the Rolling Stones inspired bar. Food is exceptional especially breakfast. Rooms nice and clean. Chambermaids work very hard.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Mornington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel based on price-quality ratings but was a big mistake.
I received the "last available room" which was stinky, dirty and very noisy. I did not dare to use the bathroom. The internet does not work. I have also been blocked in the little parking it has and had to wait for minutes. The staff is not professional. the breakfast was the only good thing.
It is basically a family business that needs serious updates.

Room Tip: refuse room 1, is the only at ground floor and you have all the noise of the road. impossible to sle...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of June with a group and can honestly say it was fantastic. The owners and staff were wonderful. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a lovely little lounge bar. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ok, to be fair the rooms are a bit 1970's, however, the hotel is nice and clean and tidy. The owners and the staff are very welcoming and friendy, breakfast is good with no shortage of top ups! The restraunt doesnt open every night but there are plenty of places to eat not too far away. All in all i would deffinately stay there again and would recomend others to do the same..... go for it !! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at the Mornington in May and was generally happy with the place. It is run by a couple who are always there to help. While the room are small, there are sufficient for the price. The best thing is the location.
There is a sense of history to the place with the narrow stairs and corridors, which would not suite everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had a nice stay at this hotel, which is a good deal in St Hélier.
The room was OK, very clean, so was the bathroom. Minor point about this bathroom, it may be time to revamp it a bit, "reluctant" flushing, showerhead somewhat anaemic (and no hand shower!), and those dreaded hot and cold water taps on the sink, where you get scalded OR frozen...
Owners and employees were extremely nice people, and breakfast was more than "reasonable"!

Room Tip: Not at street level?
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mornington last year during the week of the Jersy Air Show in September.
The owners were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They were willing to accomodate our requirements.
Hotel was very clean with helpful staff, home made marmalade at breakfast was delicious.and
The hotel has a lot of character, as have the owners who we liked a lot.
We had a great holiday in Jersey and we would definitely stay at the Mornington again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pops2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#23 of 32 in St. Helier
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 32 in St. Helier
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel

Address: Don Road, St. Helier, Jersey, St. Helier JE2 4QD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#18 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $69 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mornington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb, friendly, family-run hotel, established over 35 years, extremely comfortable and suitable for both holidaymakers and business visits. The hotel has an ideal location, just opposite Howard Davis Park, and just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. All rooms have private shower & WC (some with bath and shower). They are also very tastefully styled, and feature: Colour Television (Satellite & 4 English Channels), Direct-dial telephone, Tea/coffee making, hairdryers, radio, alarm clock, and an efficiency ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel St Helier
Mornington Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing