We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a great place to stay.”
Review of Mornington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mornington Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Simply a great place to stay.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of June with a group and can honestly say it was fantastic. The owners and staff were wonderful. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a lovely little lounge bar. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
76
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ok, to be fair the rooms are a bit 1970's, however, the hotel is nice and clean and tidy. The owners and the staff are very welcoming and friendy, breakfast is good with no shortage of top ups! The restraunt doesnt open every night but there are plenty of places to eat not too far away. All in all i would deffinately stay there again and would recomend others to do the same..... go for it !! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at the Mornington in May and was generally happy with the place. It is run by a couple who are always there to help. While the room are small, there are sufficient for the price. The best thing is the location.
There is a sense of history to the place with the narrow stairs and corridors, which would not suite everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had a nice stay at this hotel, which is a good deal in St Hélier.
The room was OK, very clean, so was the bathroom. Minor point about this bathroom, it may be time to revamp it a bit, "reluctant" flushing, showerhead somewhat anaemic (and no hand shower!), and those dreaded hot and cold water taps on the sink, where you get scalded OR frozen...
Owners and employees were extremely nice people, and breakfast was more than "reasonable"!

Room Tip: Not at street level?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mornington last year during the week of the Jersy Air Show in September.
The owners were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. They were willing to accomodate our requirements.
Hotel was very clean with helpful staff, home made marmalade at breakfast was delicious.and
The hotel has a lot of character, as have the owners who we liked a lot.
We had a great holiday in Jersey and we would definitely stay at the Mornington again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pops2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked this hotel because of previous reviews and stayed for four nights with my husband. The deco is a bit dated but the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The bathroom was reasonable size always with hot water and a powerful over the bath shower. Traffic noise is noticeable at the front of the hotel but didn't stop us sleeping well. Breakfast is served at the table by the lovely Monica who is a ray of sunshine in the morning. The choice is continental with fruit juice, a choice of cereals, croissants, jersey yogurts, followed by a choice of cheese and ham platter, fruit platter or French and English cheese and fruit platter. This is followed by toast and home made marmalade, other jams are available but nowhere near as nice as the marmalade. I tried all the choices during my stay and enjoyed all of them.

The owners Philip and Christine are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble, you only have to ask! While we were their an elderly guest took ill and was admitted to hospital. Philip and Christine were excellent at helping his wife and making sure she was well looked after. You really couldn't ask for more. We also enjoyed drinks in the bar as the music was to our taste and we enjoyed chatting with Philip and other guests.

Don't be put off by a recent review. This is not an expensive hotel and other reviews have described it as it is. If you want a modern hotel this is probably not for you. For the price it was extremely good value but mostly the staff helped to make our holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night due to its proximity to Bohemia restaurant where we had a table booked. This place is like stepping back into the 1970s. We were allocated a suite with a 4 poster bed. The walls were wood chip and cork but the bed was wonderfully comfortable and the hotel owners were lovely. We really enjoyed our pre dinner drinks in their Rolling Stones bar and really enjoyed chatting to our host.
The breakfast however was poor. Continental breakfast of ham and cheese but no bread. Toast was offered but only home - made marmalade. The food was served at the table and was really not to our taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.9 mi away
Stafford Hotel
Stafford Hotel
#21 of 32 in St. Helier
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St. Helier
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel

Property: Mornington Hotel
Address: Don Road, St. Helier, Jersey, St. Helier JE2 4QD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mornington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb, friendly, family-run hotel, established over 35 years, extremely comfortable and suitable for both holidaymakers and business visits. The hotel has an ideal location, just opposite Howard Davis Park, and just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. All rooms have private shower & WC (some with bath and shower). They are also very tastefully styled, and feature: Colour Television (Satellite & 4 English Channels), Direct-dial telephone, Tea/coffee making, hairdryers, radio, alarm clock, and an efficiency ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel St Helier
Mornington Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing