We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel”
Review of Mornington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mornington Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very friendly family run hotel with a very nice breakfast served by a lovely waitress. Rooms and decor are a bit dated and not very big with some being unable to fully open wardrobe doors as beds too close and not able to move beds. Bathrooms are very small also. We asked to be moved from our room at the front of the hotel because traffic noise went on all night and this was not a problem at all. There are traffic lights right outside the hotel and we were often woken by cars stopped at lights with music blasting. There is mould around tiling in bathroom but beds and rooms are clean and the maids obviously work very hard. The rooms are very basic. There was a strong smell of cigarettes in the corridor but nowhere else in the hotel. The bar is a friendly place to go for a night cap and chat to the owners. It is very handy for centre of town just a 10 minute walk away as well as the beach and Howard Davis Park just across the road is worth a stroll around. There is limited parking available which is very tight and keys are often required to be left with owners so they can move cars around in the morning. I haven't been totally put off staying here again but I would look around and compare prices elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from traffic on busy main road outside front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrhameikle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 205 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Stay there every time we pop over from Guernsey which is quite often. Christine and Phil really lovely and had a good old time chatting to Phil in the bar and playing all the old songs on the juke box. Absolutely lovely breakfast, cereal, croissants, yoghurt, ham and cheese platter or fresh fruit plus toast jam, teas, coffee and orange juice. Close to lovely restaurants, bars and shops we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Rooms nice and clean en suite with hairdryer. Highly recommend it it is really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Purplegirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clean, well run,reasonable priced facility, the breakfasts are great and makes a big change from cooked "Full English" fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, toast, and to finish off creamy Jersey Yoghurt!
well placed for easy walk into St Helier with loads of good quality restaurants within 10 mins walk of the hotel. Also bus station about 10 minutes walk

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAVMAN70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Mornington Hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the delights of St Helier and Jersey as a whole. Under a 5 minute walk from the main shopping streets, with a late opening convenience store just around the corner you have everything you need on the doorstep. My fiancee and I booked in for a 3 night break and were made to feel very much at home by the extremely welcoming proprietors, Phil and Christine. The room was very good with a comfortable double bed, TV and large bathroom with a hot powerful shower. The hotel bar is a delight, and we had much fun chatting with Phil over a nightcap.
The breakfast is continental in format and is perhaps the best the breakfast that I have ever had at a hotel. With fruit juice and excellent coffee, cereals, croissants, yoghurt, local fruit, toast, cheese, cold meats, all served by a lovely waitress, this really sets you up for the day. There is a bus stop just across the road that serves the zoo, Gorey Castle and other locations while Howard Davis Park is under a minute away,a great place to stroll and sit amongst the palms
On our departure day, our flight was due to leave in the late afternoon. Phil was most kind and let us keep the room for the day until we left for the airport, a wonderful service. The Mornington Hotel is an excellent choice if you are looking for a great value property in a great location in St Helier. The owners are great, the rooms are great and the breakfast is fantastic! We shall be back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsavoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The place has real personality and heart. The staff are all dedicated and the breakfast had many homemade components which were excellent. I happen to be a vegan but this was no issue to the hotel, and I was provided with several items brought in specially. The bar has a bit of a Rolling Stones and Rod Stewart theme and there's a certain 70's atmosphere to the place but in a fun 'retro' sort of way. I'd definitely go back and considering the value for money, friendliness, and fun we had I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLewis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location, decent rooms. Breakfast surprisingly large and is more than enough to last for the day! Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable prices especially for Jersey! Recommended for any trip to Jersey

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runner49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enjoyed our stay so much will definitely be going back,staff incredibly nice, rooms lovely and clean,breakfast was all you could want, a hotel very conveniently located for anywhere in the town.the bar is one of the best I,ve ever been in and to see customers happy and relaxed makes a refreshing change from other hotels I,ve stayed in.
If your a nice person you are definitely going to enjoy staying here. I,ve never given a hotel this much praise.

Room Tip: only 2 floors ,all the rooms seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanharvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
1.0 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 31 in St. Helier
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in St.Saviour
734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 31 in St. Helier
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel

Address: Don Road, St. Helier, Jersey, St. Helier JE2 4QD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#18 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $64 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mornington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb, friendly, family-run hotel, established over 35 years, extremely comfortable and suitable for both holidaymakers and business visits. The hotel has an ideal location, just opposite Howard Davis Park, and just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. All rooms have private shower & WC (some with bath and shower). They are also very tastefully styled, and feature: Colour Television (Satellite & 4 English Channels), Direct-dial telephone, Tea/coffee making, hairdryers, radio, alarm clock, and an efficiency ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel St Helier
Mornington Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing