We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay View Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Apollo Hotel(St. Helier)
$163
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$193
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa(St. Helier)
$329
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pomme d'Or Hotel(St. Helier)
$209
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Yacht Hotel(St. Helier)
$300
$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oaklands Lodge Hotel(St. Helier)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Revere Hotel(St. Helier)
$175
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel de France(St. Helier)
$200
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Savoy Jersey(St. Helier)
$190
$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
64
80
21
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
80
21
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshavre des pasthe busguest loungefamily roommy mumwi ficarolynmicrowaveaccommodationislandjerseygoreyhelierlidomushroomshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 184 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Cannot believe I stayed in the same place as other reviewers of this guesthouse.

Ceiling of breakfast room falling down (next to the breakfast buffet). The 'friendly?' staff member at breakfast the first morning asked what I would like, I asked for scrambled eggs on toast. The response, 'there's the toaster make your own'!

Carpets throughout needed cleaning.

The TV guide in the lounge made me laugh, three months out of date. Great if you wanted the Christmas TV scheduling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Julie, we cannot trace you in our records so cannot fathom why you should make such ado about nothing!
February storms caused a leak and builder cut hole to investigate source and no point redecorating until he finds it and solves problem.
No contamination threat to buffet or guests who were seated away from that area, not pretty but not a problem for our many other guests. Restaurant floor is wood, so assume you have based your carpet comment on the stairs and hallway where there is maximum traffic, we disagree and take cleanliness very seriously.
Guests leave magazines and newspaper supplements in our lounge, which we leave for other guests to browse. We have Sky TV in both our guest lounge and bar so it’s easy to find out what’s on, we do not provide a TV guide.
We find it very hard to believe that a member of our staff would tell a guest to 'do it yourself' and feel this must be a communication problem. We ave a toaster in the breakfast room which guests use to toast bread as required along with the other items on the buffet station which they serve themselves with having as much or as little as they want, whilst we do, at the same time regularly prepare any number of choices 'on toast' as part of the cooked breakfast option available to guests.
We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us but have to accept that with the best will in the world it is not possible to 'please all of the people all of the time' - Carolyn & Geoff Mayger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just come back from staying in the bay view for 9 nights .it was my third time staying there it's very home from home the owners are very friendly there is a wide selection of food for breakfast free wifi and computer usage I've always been happy with my stay so I certainly will be staying there again thank you for a lovely stay

Angela Hempshall

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post review Angela. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again and thanks for bringing the sunshine with you and it has be lovely and sunny ever since :-) It's always good to welcome back returning guests and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip - Carolyn & Geoff Mayger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Bay view for my wife's birthday and had a lovely time. The Hosts were very friendly and helpful with places to visit and local buses. Breakfast nice and freshly cooked. Plenty of dvds in the lounge to borrow to watch in your room. Room nice and cosy and very comfortable. Over all a very a very enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Double en-suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future when you are in need of some R&R - Carolyn & Geoff Mayager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hosts very accommodating. Bed and shower very good, Bar good with a huge selection WHEN OPEN!! Booked the junior suite, very small, cluttered with poor decorating and everything very tired.. Out of date milk cartons for 2 days then no milk left final day. Biscuits left for 1 day out of 4. Toilet seat and towel rail on wall both very loose, WHY? what is cleaner doing. No view of bay whatsoever, on a busy road and traffic non stop until 11pm. Only 5 channels available in room on tv and wifi very poor in room. Bus service superb.

Room Tip: only stopped in junior suite, would not have that room again
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. You did regularly join us for a drink in the bar and wish you had raised some of these issues then as clearly we could have dealt easily with some of them. The junior suite has only recently been repainted so we struggle to understand how you consider it to be tired. Maintenance issues have been looked at and apart from the toilet seat having some play (but firmly secured) we cannot find any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 very happy days here at the Bay View. Welcoming, good comfy room with huge bed, decent breakfast. Nice owners. Several excellent eating places within short walk. Could not be faulted, definitely would return.

Room Tip: At rear of hotel quieter being away from main road
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Bay View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thanks for your kind review, Carolyn and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay View another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews