We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
85
97
33
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
85
97
33
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side sea view the bus green street havre des pas mussels full english recommend this hotel minute walk every morning lovely hotel car park clean rooms an evening meal breakfast is served bed was very comfortable small hotel town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 243 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is clean however needs a complete update.
Twin Room - large however curtains let in the light so no lie ins. We were on the road side and very noisy bar just outside the windows which went in until way after 11pm.
Bathroom - no opaque window so house opposite can see right into the bathroom so blind had to be down at all times. Really needs to be upgraded as mirror had boots missing, toilet old, and taps could do with being changed however clean and lively fresh towels.
Lounge and dining room - very old fashioned with brown everywhere. All desperately needs an upgrade. Restaurant right on the seas front and lovely to sit and have breakfast. Breakfast good and lovely staff. Evening staff not so friendly and lots of mistakes made in our order. Good is set menu for 2 courses £17.99. However not worth the money. Food very standard and not very nice at all. Steak, chips, onion rings ask completely over cooked and mussels and cod very standard. Mussels not the best quality and fish was tail end only fit for frozen battered fish!
Generally hotel is ok. Staff freindly and clean rooms.....but I hope the owners/management read the reviews as this hotel is screaming it to be updated. Good in the restaurant desperately needs a complete over haul and good quality food needs to be served for the prices charged. (Supermarket pate, standard mussels with watery sauce, chorizo was pizza pepperoni, food very over cooked.)

Good cheap stay but avoid the front road side as the bar opposite is very loud, food is very standard and hotel desperately needs to be updated.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank rowm998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

1st impression was a time warp back to the 80’s with the decor .
No one on reception- same when I waited for checkout.
Give the cooked breakfast a miss, tbh it wasn’t good. However have dinner here as restaurant is good.Difference in service between breakfast and dinner. 1st morning staff stood around looking at photos on a mobile phone . Evening so much better .
Rooms - ok . Not to happy about the single room I had - rust on the hinges of toilet seat, dirty smelly sink overflow hole that hadn’t been cleaned .
A strange mix for an Hotel. Stayed here in 3 different rooms. Once I even had body lotion in the bathroom. Different size tv as well . Appreciate that in a single room not a lot of space, but had to crane my neck to see it.
No aircon, Hotel had ran out of fans.
Having said that the view is wonderful if you get a sea facing room.
With a bit more TLC this could be a good Hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Airwave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

Hotel was right on beach front. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and house keeping came in everyday to check room. I would agree with some other comments that it does need a bit modernisation but was good value for money. The breakfast was good and it does offer meals as well. 5min walk into St Helier town center and wee supermarkets close bye for any odds and ends you need.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank dab779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Although this hotel is in the cheaper price range that does not excuse how shabby it is. Our bedroom was VERY dated and small. Very little storage space, uncomfortable beds and the curtains were thin and unlined so the sun woke us very early every morning. There was a plug in fan provided but even with this the room was unbearably hot. The hairdryer was a relic of the past, wired into the socket and basically just a weak warm breath! The sink had no plug although the shower was good, powerful and hot. Breakfast was included but we only ate there the first morning as the cooked breakfast was swimming in old grease. There is no parking at the hotel which we knew about but unfortunately there is no drop off point either so is a long way to walk with suitcases.
We paid and booked in for three nights but only lasted for two and booked into a different hotel for our last night.
The location although on the seafront is in a run down part of St Helier but this did not make us feel unsafe in any way after dark ( 2 ladies travelling alone )

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Yasminwarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay or the cooked breakfast which must have been a rogue one as the kitchen produces some 70 each day and most guests enjoy theirs. The glorious sunshine we seem to be getting every day this summer does have its drawbacks, but most guests view this positively. Our curtains are in the modern style and have eyelet fittings running on poles and unfortunately this style of fitting sits off from the wall so they do not keep out all the light. Perhaps modern and fashionable which many guests appear to want is not all it is cracked out to be. Electrical fittings are checked out at the start of each season but can fail or malfunction during the season, and should be reported to Reception so that they can be rectified or replaced, as with the missing plug.
Whilst we have no drop off area outside the hotel, there is no reason why one cannot stop outside the hotel for a few minutes to drop bags and passengers before proceeding to the public car park. Havre Des Pas is not a run-down part of St Helier but one where the old character of the town has been retained and residents pay a premium to live in the area because it is right by the sea and retains its seaside heritage, yet is only 10 minutes walk into the town centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

This is a lovely hotel with amazing sea views very clean good breakfast and very friendly staff the manager was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble ,the beds are very comfortable and fresh towels every day. We will definitely be coming back.

Room tip: Sea view second floor
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews