We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
87
98
34
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
87
98
34
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side sea view the bus green street havre des pas mussels full english recommend this hotel minute walk every morning lovely hotel car park clean rooms an evening meal breakfast is served bed was very comfortable small hotel town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 247 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

The staff in the hotel are mostly stay friendly and keen to please. Some have a poor understanding of English so communication on occasion was difficult.

The hotel itself is beyond in need of refurbishment. The bedrooms and bathrooms are circa early 1980’s. With the facilities leaving much to be desired. Our shower was a shower head fitting off the bath taps. The shower head left a lot to be desired with regards to cleanliness and the shower was totally inadequate with regards to requirements. There was also mould around the bath fittings and no ventilation whatsoever. The sheets on the beds however are clean.

The room has no air conditioning and as the weather was hot a breeze to cool the room could only be found through the windows. The curtains fit where they touch. The windows were dirty with bird mess running down the inside as they are always open to disperse heat. This left the room vulnerable to vehicle traffic noise (and noise from the bar)

The bar area over looks the sea. This is for guests and non-residents alike. Regrettably non-residents party until the early hours (after 3 am) and their behaviour and noise levels were off the scale. During our stay they were using the inside furniture as waltzers. Spinning them around and crashing into everything. We were told it was a birthday party and they would be coming in from over the road at 11 pm. Glasses were being smashed and management ignored it all. This is not a one off with their own staff confirming that this is a regular weekend occurrence as revellers from that bar come to the hotel when the bar closes. However on the Monday evening we came back at 10 pm after eating out expecting to have a night cap only to find that the bar had closed to everyone including residents as they had no staff to work it.

The breakfast was ok. Full English and a few continental items. Adequate but not amazing. The evening meal that we had was quite nice. You need to book to guarantee a table. Having said that it appears that’s the rule for most places. Very difficult if not impossible to get a table in a good restaurant by walking up on the evening or even phoning the day before in St Helier.

The veranda over looks the sea and is busy with dog walkers and cyclists, but not too busy to be off putting. To one side of the view is the open air swimming pool whilst to the other is the islands waste incinerator.

When we checked out no one enquired about our stay or
made any pleasantries, but I think this may have been a language barrier thing.

Would I recommend it? That’s personal choice. Retro lovers who have hearing difficulties may love it. Would I stay there again..... no.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMayger, Owner at Marina Metro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

The hotel was substantially refurbished and renovated in 2011 but not all the bedroom furniture was replaced as it was in reasonable condition and did the job, as it does today. Combined tap and mixer arrangement is common and space saving. Eyelet curtains do not overlap much. By building regulations all bathrooms have ventillation, either window or extractor fan. Chambermaids do a great job on a day to day basis as confirmed by many reviews, and deep cleans are undertaken from time to time to tackle some of the areas you mention.
The Marina Metro is essentially a holiday class hotel and mainly our guests are here to explore the Island during the day, try some of our lovely food and seafood for dinner and to enjoy a drink in the evening with entertainment when available. Our bars are only licensed to
1 a.m. for non residents, but closing time for the residents and their guests is at the discretion of the management and a 3 a.m. finish is exceptional. The owner as licencee is responsible for what occurs on the premises and has almost 20 years experience in managing people of all ages and backgrounds, who are essentially there to enjoy themselves. The impression given that there is something of a weekend free for all is quite wrong and the persons playing with the chairs were 50 year olds who were having a bit of a giggle with their wives/partners, and not causing any problems or damage to my furniture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Just come back from a week here and can't express how much I loved it. The staff were very friendly, looking after my mum, wife and myself. The views were amazing and you are on a main bus route into town if needed. Rooms were clean, showers powerful and tea/coffee/milk were replenished daily along with shower gel and shampoo if needed.
We are already looking at booking again for next year, hopefully it won't be as hot though as there is no air conditioning

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Animal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018

After a 20 year absence from Jersey we could not really have chosen a better hotel than this. From checking in we were made to feel at home. Our comfortable and well fitted room overlooked the bay. The restaurant breakfast gave a wide choice of well presented food and the friendly staff added to the enjoyment to start each day. Evening Dinners were also excellent with a wide choice which we enjoyed on 5 nights. A speciality seemed to be Lobster Special which many fellow diners appeared to really enjoy. As we had lived in Portugal for some years age there was a 'bonus' in that both waiters were Portuguese and we enjoyed much friendly banter about living in The Algarve. The 2 nights were dined elsewhere were at a nearby Portuguese restaurant - separate review to follow. Geoff - the owner - was also friendly in that we felt so much at home. The only disappointment was that there was no lunch/sandwich available. A return visit is probable in due course.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Great Location by beach. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Quiet, well equipped room. Only a ten minute walk to the town centre. Hotel generally very clean. Comfortable well equipped lounge. Very helpful reception staff.

Room tip: Full sea view is a lot more expensive than partial view
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grahamhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

My sister and I stayed here for a week, We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor, it was clean and well equipped, very comfy bed, a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, lovely shower , all the toiletries we needed and fluffy white towels. Very helpful staff. , Highly recommend the restaurant we ate in it every night - first class menu, excellent restaurant manager (Joe), prices were reasonable too. The food was delicious. ... If you want to eat in the restaurant in the evening YOU NEED TO BOOK A TABLE! Only a 3 minute walk from bus stop. At the sea, just over the walkway... I would definitely come back and stay in this hotel again.

Room tip: Bar opposite closes around 11pm which can be noisy at times, Road noise in the morning, Any noise there was did not bother us.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews