We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at the Hampshire for 6 nights from 29 July in a superior room (36). The room was very spacious and a fan provided without having to ask. The restaurant staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast choices good. The choice of bar meals is limited, however the restaurant menu was good, beautifully presented and delicious. Overall cleanliness is very good and I would happily stay at the Hampshire again.

Room Tip: Room 36 is a spacious Superior room at the back of the hotel with the restaurant below. Very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    167
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
95
243
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hampshire with family on a 3 night break. Booked a Premier room and a standard. If you decided to stay here go for a Premier, the Standard was like a cupboard at the back of the hotel (room 26) stuffy, small, smelly and bathroom in need of modernisation. TVs in both rooms were poor ( only 4 channels and poor fuzzy/ grainy picture reception) and whilst flat screen one wasn't even widescreen!
Service was very mixed, with welcoming and friendly staff on the reception to miserable and abrupt bar restaurant staff (perhaps it's cultural).
Breakfast was very good with a very wide choice of Full English and continental style.
The heated outdoor pool with decking area adds a great dimension to the overall hotel which is situated about 25 minute walk to Liberation Square (15 minutes to the shopping area).
The hotel decor in public rooms is fresh and modern however there is no Air conditioning which makes for a stuffy environment despite opened windows and doors.
So overall a very mixed experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisR23, Owner at Hampshire Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampshire Hotel

I am disappointed to read your comments about our new barman(I was aware that you had said something about him on your departure) as you may not beware the evening in question was actually one of his first nights at the Hotel he is shy but not arrogant I am sure you will be pleased to know he has settled in and is doing a great job.

I agree the room you were is small however that is why it is priced so reasonably and as you said our Superior and Premier rooms are much larger.

I apologise for not having air conditioning however I hope you did mention the heat to reception where a Fan would have been provided.

C Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Long weekend for family wedding.
Excellent food and very pleasant and friendly staff.
Convenient location in quiet area.
The room was a bit small, but adequate.
On another trip to Jersey we would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel was ideally situated with a 15 min stroll to the promenade and the shopping centre. Stayed 4 nights on a B & B basis. The food in the restaurant for dinner is comparable to many other good restaurant in St Helier. The dining room is well appointed and the staff are extremely attentive. The food is very good both for dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and lunch in the bar area is excellent value for money. My only criticism is that next door but one is a Co-op local supermarket and some bedrooms overlook the car park and at 6-15 each morning ( 8-15am Sunday ) deliver lorries arrive and reverse into the loading bay with their very loud reversing alarms which wakes one up, particularly if the window is open due to the hot weather. Nearby there are also recycling bins and occasionally when one is asleep on the pool sunbed there is an almighty clatter of broken glass. This was taken up with the hotel reception about their neighbours being more accommodating but was told several representations have been made but to no avail. I suggest request a room well away from the supermarket. Having said the above I would return.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the Co-op supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonW318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned after a weeks stay at The Hampshire in St Helier, a party of five my wife and I with our 16 month old son, and my wife's parents, I cannot praise the hotel highly enough from check in to check out was really faultless,
All the staff must be highly praised for the excellent hard work and dedication to making your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one, nothing was too much trouble, everyone is very friendly and are easy to chat to no matter which member of staff it was, they all were very good with our son who at 16 months old did require a lot of attention and he got it !!
Rooms are very well kept as is the whole of the rest of the hotel lovely bar area and pool/terrace area.
The food is of great quality so much so that we ate in the hotel quite frequently not because It was easier than going out with our son, but the food was that good !!
Once again a huge thanks to the staff at the hotel for making it a great holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hampshire Hotel, we upgraded to a Superior room (35) which gave us plenty of room and a spare bed. We opted for a DBB arrangement which worked very well as the food was freshly prepared and of a good quality. On the one night neither of us fancied what was on the set menu we opted for a main meal from the Bar menu (which they were happy to allow us to do). The Hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the main shopping area and bus station. We arrived at 10 am and the staff were happy for us to leave our bags so we could enjoy the day before checking in. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful and we would stay here again when we come back to Jersey.

Room Tip: Our room (35) had a double and single bed and a separate single bed in an adjoining room so would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickandLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here in early July for a long weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel food was excellent with a good bar and pool area. With its own car park and just a short walk (10 mins) from St Helier, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St. Helier JE2 4TB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing