We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended hotel in St.Helier”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel in St.Helier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, arriving on 13th September and checking out on 15th. The purpose of the trip was a short break to celebrate our anniversary.

Before booking a hotel, as always, we checked Trip Advisor – the majority of the feedback for the Hampshire Hotel was very positive. We paid £80 per night, which included breakfast.

We travelled from Poole to St. Helier with Condor Ferries as foot passengers. This cost us £120 return (for both of us). We were surprised that the Catamaran stops briefly at St.Peter Port in Guernsey, as it wasn’t obvious from Condor’s website. This wasn’t an issue, and in fact was a pleasant surprise, although due to a delay getting along side the berth, we arrived in Jersey 30 minutes late.

Pricing on board the Catamaran for food was expensive – drinks were reasonable. It was nice to have allocated seats. There is a shop on-board supposedly selling newspapers and magazines, but on both journeys there were no newspapers.

On arrival in St.Helier, we decided to walk to the hotel which takes about 20 minutes – you can collect a free map in the main building at the port. Check in was smooth and the receptionist very helpful. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant that night and booked a table – In fact, the food was so good that we ate there the following night too.

We stayed in room 40. It’s on the third floor. It was clean and spacious with an en suite (toiletries refreshed daily). It had TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small lift – supposedly for 4 persons. – although we feel that this is a tad optimistic and it would be a bit of a squeeze. It is also a bit ‘urgent’ when setting off and stopping, so don’t be alarmed!

The bar area is spacious and clean, the staff polite and the prices not too expensive for a hotel. To the rear of the bar is an outdoor heated swimming pool – we didn’t use it, as it wasn’t the best weather.

The food in the restaurant was excellent. They have a fixed menu (£18.95), which varies from day to day. We would definitely recommend the mussels. The service was brilliant – the staff were attentive, friendly and polite.

We took some time to explore the island. In our view the local bus (operates from Liberation Station – 15 mins walk) is the best and cheapest method. You can pick up a free timetable and the buses run regularly and were on time. There are two price structures, £1.20 and £1.70 (per person, each way). The latter relates to ‘long’ journeys (but this is anywhere on the island, so far as we could tell). We travelled to Gorey Bay on the Friday, with the intention of visiting Mont Orgueil Castle. On arrival (around 3:30) we discovered that it would cost us over £11 each, and especially as time was short, decided this was too expensive.

On Saturday we took the bus to the War Tunnels and then on to La Mare Wine Yard – both highly recommended. The tunnels cost £11.20 each for adults. The Wine yard tour and tasting was £9.50 each. Our only criticism of the Wine Yard was that we arrived early afternoon with the intention of eating lunch. We were told that due to a wedding the restaurant would close at 14:00 – we had to rush a rather expensive sandwich to get onto the tour that we’d chosen.

Our journey home was not the best – A rough crossing. You can’t blame Condor for the weather, but be warned that if the weather’s not great, you will feel very sick!!!

All in all, we had a lovely time and would highly recommend this hotel. Should we return to St.Helier we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    164
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
89
237
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed, in a Premier room - 14, at the hotel for 8 nights from 7th September 2013. Our room was very clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable.

The food in the hotel was excellent - breakfasts, bar snacks, or evening meals, all terrific.
All the staff on Chris's team were friendly, polite,very helpful and always very cheerful.
The weather was such that we could use the outdoor heated swimming pool and associated decked area which was very clean and tidy and a great area to relax in.

The hotel is situated approximately 10 minutes level walk from the town centre in a more residential area of St Helier, which was not a problem for us at all.

The only negative issue we had, was the noise created by creaking floorboards from any movement in the room above. Unfortunately for us the occupants were very early risers!!!!!!!

All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room unless your an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in here having read many of the reviews for the St Helier hotels. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious, the food excellent and all the staff friendly and willing to help in any way they could. Unfortunately I was taken ill (nothing to do with the hotel) and needed to be admitted to hospital which marred the holiday for us to some degree, but this is where the hotel staff excelled themselves. My wife was made to feel not only very safe but also well supported by the owners and their team. Only a short walk form the town centre so all bars and restaurants with in easy reach. We will be going back and encouraging friends to consider joining us too. got a heated outside pool too (but never go to go in it unfortunately).

Room Tip: We were in room 8 which was spacious with a good large bed and would happily stay in there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Guys stayed here for 4 nights , nice room and I must say one of the best English fry ups I have had in a hotel, I did hotel. Location is excellent for the bars and sea front. And the hotel has loads of parking . All in all they did well. Also the staff who served us were very good too, well done too all, and I mean all the breakfast team

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCannyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff were all very helpfull and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable . The buffet breakfast was excellent. Some people have complained about the location but it is only a 10 minute walk in to the centre of St Helier.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithbr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very good quality 3* hotel. No complaints at all. Very helpful and attentive staff, especially the guy that the runs the bar (I think his name is Chris). It was a short 10 minute stroll into St Helier so location was great.

Room Tip: The normal traffic noise was not too bad however the Bin Wagon at 0615hrs was quite noisy and distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The meals in the dining room were excellent. We loved the pool area also the spacious lounge/bar area. We would recommend the Hampshire Hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St. Helier JE2 4TB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing