We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

we went to jersey as part of our touring holiday. We picked this hotel as it had very good reviews, also for the location. We only had breakfast at this hotel as there are to many eating places to pick from. The room was very large for a standard room, with loads of cupboard and drawers space.It has a very large and comfortable bar area, and loungers, tables and chairs round the pool.The breakfast was buffet style, and very tasty sausages bacon, eggs, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, also continental if you so wish.The staff were very friendly and the rooms very clean.This was well worth the stay for 4 days.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor on the corner, so we had 2 windows to get fresh air when its warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    163
    33
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
234
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at The Hampshire Hotel. The receptionist was very friendly, as were all the staff throughout our stay. One warning if it is a problem for you - there is no lift from the reception level, you either have to walk up or down one flight of stairs.
The room was a good size. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently, everywhere is decorated nicely. Staying during the heatwaves meant our room was unbearably hot. Luckily the hotel provided us with a fan to use throughout our stay. This helped a little, but it really was too hot.
The bar area is spacious, serving bar meals throughout the day / evening. There is also outside seating.
There is an adequate sized pool with sun loungers which is really nice and was great for the weather we were having.
For breakfast you have a choice of a full English or continental. It is all buffet style. The full English was really tasty and they replenished it regularly.
We ate in the restaurant on one occasion. It is a 3 course set menu that changes each night. We really enjoyed our meals. I ordered a well done steak but it came medium. I had to send it back as I am pregnant, but it was no trouble and they quickly rectified it for me.
There is a Co-op a stone's throw away which was very handy.
The main part of St Helier is a good 10-15 minutes walk away. We didn't expect the hotel to be as far out as it was, but that is more to do with the centre of St Helier being smaller than we thought it would be and it is quite hard to book a hotel just from looking at a map! However, we walked into St Helier and back twice a day with no problems.
The hotel has free wi-fi, it can be a weak signal in some places, but overall not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hampshire Hotel was lovely clean and the staff could not do enough for us. the weather was perfect but did not manage a dip in the pool. 15 minutes stroll to the town where there is a mix of normal high street shops and independent shops. Everyone very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seagrove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Would definitely stay here again - very friendly hotel, clean, lovely decor and great value for money. Fabulous breakfast, also had one meal in the hotel which was lovely and again great value for money. Staff couldn't of been more welcoming nothing was to much trouble.

Hotel ten minutes walk into St Helier, good location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianednh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June.

Its about a 10 min walk from town Centre and next to a Co op shop.

Receptionist very friendly and helpful.

Rooms nice & clean.

Pool nice a although too cold to get in, sat round it one day & had a nap which was nice.

We had a hire car & the hotel had a car park.

Paid £267 for 3 nights which I thought was good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigRayleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Hampshire (also called Legacy Hampshire) is located inside the northern part of St Helier's ring road in Val Plaisant 15 minutes from the Airport, the car park at the rear is just down Byron Road. The location allows to get out of town fairly quickly and a walk down Val Plaisant to the main shopping streets of Kings & Queen Sts/Markets will take you about 15-20 minutes walk.
From the hotel to the north of the island is a 15 minute drive, the roads are small and theres no need to rush about.

From walking to the reception desk booking in and in the room only took 5 minutes, very efficient.

We had a spacious superior room, very tidy well decorated, spotless, there's no fridge or minibar, although we did have another bedroom where we could place our luggage.

Breakfast was taken in the ground floor dining room, bright and airy, and is run with precision by the staff, the quality of the food on offer stood out.
Next to the dining room is a very large lounge/bar with soft seating, this leads on to the car park and swimming pool.

Buses run to everywhere on the island using several interlinking routes, if you choose to rent a car you need to buy some prepaid parking vouchers, we bought a pack of 10 (£7.50) from the Coop next to the hotel.
The voucher default is for 1 hour, and you scratch off various panels from when you start your parking, if you want to park for 2 hours you leave 2 cards - quite simple.
But there's a lot of free parking around the various parts of the island, so we didn't need 10!
We stayed for 2 whole days, and saw a lot, the best being the War Tunnels which is now a detailed account of the WW2 occupation rather than just the German Hospital of years ago, spending evenings in St Helier - Pubs vary and only some provide food, we had good food and drinks at the Pierson opposite the Cock & Bottle in Royal Square, the Office and Lamp Lighter nearby were also good for drinks.

We would recommend eating at the Hotel, or pre-booking a table elseware or you could do a fair bit of walking! A taxi to anywhere will not be expensive.

We would recommend this hotel to family and friends - our last visit to Jersey was in 1979 in a tent.

Room Tip: We had rooms 33/34, we booked direct with the Hotel, we saw a couple arrive who had booked via exped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

this is a nice hotel in a good location with a friendly manger and great value. The breakfast was good, especially the cooked items but I would have preferred more variety of fruit. There is free wifi and parking in the small car park. The room was fairly large and adequate but it is 3* so wasn't super fancy and the shower needed updating. Great value and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#10 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 31 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Property: Hampshire Hotel
Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St. Helier JE2 4TB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing