We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Despite the poor weather this hotel was beautiful. The bar/lounge area was fabulous. We were going to go out in the nights, but enjoyed the bar and restaurant so nuch we stayed in. The room was spotless and very spacious. The only negatives were 1 ,it only had a double bed 2, tv was too small for such a big room and only 5 channels despite there being sky in the hotel. Overall would definately return to this hotel. Staff were great too !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 502 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at the Hampshire Hotel with our 9 year old grand-daughter. We had booked a Premier suite, which was superb, very spacious with great furnishings, spotlessly clean and our grand-daughter had her own shower room and flat screen television. The location was very good as it was only a ten minute walk into St Helier town for an evening meal, although you could also dine at the hotel. Breakfast was varied and of good quality. Parking wasn't an issue as there was a spacious car park. Also, following a day on the beach, my grand-daughter needed her jeans and top to be tumbled dried, which the hotel Receptionist kindly organised for us.
The only negative was that the heating in the suite wasn't working and we had to request a portable heater which was delivered to our room immediately. Would definitely return to this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Would really recommend a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

First time in Jersey and thanks to Trip Advisor picked a gem of a hotel. We go on at least 3 holidays/city breaks a year and can honestly say best food we have had in a hotel. Only arrived back home 2 hours ago and felt needed to review immediately while fresh in my head. Booked the full package through Preston Travel Flights/Transfers and Half Board and the 3 nights stay went as smooth as anything. The rooms are large with new furniture. Hotel has a pool (weather wasn't up to that). Breakfast plenty of choice and evening meal was excellent with a choice of 4 starters 3/4 mans and 3/4 sweets plus coffee. Staff excellent nothing a bother. On first day decided on island tour and receptionist phoned and organised it all. Location was good as well 10 minutes from the main area of St. Hellier. We have stayed in Selfridges in London and Grosvenor Hilton in Glasgow and this hotel beats them both hands down and only 3 star. We always book 4/5 star but after this experience will research more. We will return!

Room Tip: We booked a Superior room tried to book Premier but they were full. Having said that Superior was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We picked this hotel on the basis of location in St Helier, price and ease of parking. Room was clean and newly decorated with plenty of room and storage. The bed needed a valance and the bathroom smelt musty, but otherwise all satisfactory and a very comfy bed.

Bar and restaurant were lovely, food reasonable and mostly well cooked although a little attention to detail would make it excellent. Specifically some scallops and new potatoes were both underdone, and breakfast buffet good except for the scrambled eggs which tasted as if they were made from a packet.

Easy walk into town and easy parking, beware if you have a large car as the car park entrance is tight.

We would stay again.

A special mention to the maitre d' in the restaurant, who was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jben40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We picked this hotel based on previous reviews from Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Good location with an easy walk into town, but away from the hustle and bustle and also easy parking in the onsite car park.
We stayed in a Superior room - room was large, well decorated and very clean. The whole hotel had a great feel about it, warm and welcoming. We used the bar a few times, again a beautifully decorarted area and reasonable prices. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This Hotel is great value for money and in a great location,easy level walk into centre of town where there are some really good restaurants ,Dix Neuf being one.
The rooms were very clean and modern recently refurbished I believe.
Its also an easy walk to the sea front and harbour

Would definitely stay there again and already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickjl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I recently had a birthday whilst staying at the Hampshire hotel - which was made more memorable by the
beautiful room & a box of chocolates a very special touch. Chris was very warm & welcoming as we're the staff & being a vegetarian nothing was too much trouble to accommodate me.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone & would return in a heartbeat.
Tracey Mayne.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey1mayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 30 in St. Helier
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 30 in St. Helier
1,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 30 in St. Helier
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 30 in St. Helier
2,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 30 in St. Helier
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Address: 53 Val Plaisant, St. Helier JE2 4TB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $81 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the the newly refurbished Hampshire Hotel. Warm soothing tones, natural woods and tiled floors have transformed the hotel into a colonial style oasis in the heart of St Helier. Each of the 42 bedrooms extends the promise of comfort and rest. Plus, families can benefit from interconnecting suites. Upgraded with flat screen TVs and free WI-FI Internet access, it’s an ideal base for the business traveller too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Hampshire St Helier
Hotel Legacy Hampshire
Hampshire Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing