We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
339
236
89
30
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
339
236
89
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view the bus power station bus stop right outside the hotel roseville bistro indoor pool evening meal half board havre des pas good size balcony room sea front lovely hotel car park beds were very comfortable town centre bit dated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 707 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Just spent a week here and really had a great time here.

Easily walkable from the Liberation station, once you know where your going, or just get the Bus no1 and get off at Havre des Pas E ("Mallett Road" I think it is) as the bus stop is right outside the hotel

Check in was quick and easy and our room was on 2nd floor with great views over the bay and lido outdoor sea pool.

Hotel had an indoor pool but didn't get round to using it, has wifi but it was very intermittant in our room, had to go downstairs to the general room to get a good signal.

Breakfast was self service buffet type with great with a plentiful selection of hot or cold options, I had hot breakfast every morning and thought the food was of great quality and well cooked.

Our room was very clean and roomy with a large bay window with sea view, had a large bathroom with bath and over shower and very comfortable beds, our double was actually 2 singles attached together and it was massive, couldn't tell someone was in the bed next to you.

There was some amusing entertainment on most nights in the bar area of hotel, be it a singer, comedian/musician etc but it only went onto 1030pm at the latest so wasn't late or indeed loud, as I couldn't even here it in our room.

Staff were excellant and couldn't do enough for you and were very pleasant, special thanks to all of them.

I would stay here again no problem if I was to return to Jersey and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

It is wonderful that you report us to be a great hotel and give us a five star review. Our team are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the seafront Fort d'Auvergne.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

We have just spent a week there on holiday. The view over the bay is lovely as the tide ebbs and flows - less so the industrial wasteland if you look to the right of the hotel. Check in was a bit confusing as the duty receptionist grasp of English wasn't very good and there is only 1 lift which makes for difficult luggage handling as the hotel is on multiple levels. Our room was very badly sound proofed and we could hear everything our neighbours were saying. We didn't use the indoor pool but it looked quite nice and clean. Breakfast was good (buffet style) but the evening meal wasn't particularly inspiring (especially so for my wife who is wheat free and allergic to fish). Getting a GF breadbun proved to be problematic and one evening it had to be requested 3 times...only arriving halfway through the main course! The bar area was quiet and we never saw anyone in the lounge - maybe most people book B&B and just use the hotel as a base? There is a sun terrace outside the dining room which was a good place to read a paper or book while looking over the bay. Next door is an outdoor swimming pool (which floods every high tide) although we didn't dip a toe in as it was very early in the season - but it was surprising how many swimmers there were each day. In conclusion, a quite hotel in a quiet location but close enough to St. Helier (15 minute walk) for those wanting a little more excitement. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help but at times there were few about.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank jezclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are a smaller hotel within the locally owned and run Morvan Hotels group and as such we are a little quieter at times due to our smaller scale. Many guests like this aspect.

We are sorry that on one evening your Gluten Free roll was not delivered until the third request but we are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and happy. This feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Travelled family of four, children 11 and 9 during the 2019 May half term for 5 nights.

Overall a good location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and well worth the 3 stars.

Positives

Bus route 1 which takes you to bus station and Goree castle directly outside hotel.

Hotel clean and although decor is a little dated it is not an issue at all.

Pool reasonable size clean and we used it a couple of times.

Evening meal (we were half board) was very good changed each day for the adults kids menu ok but was the same all week.

Staff were extremely accommodating with a special shout out to Kip behind the bar who always had a smile and the kids really liked him.

Areas to improve

Wifi signal was very poor in our room and that was an issue for the kids particularly. There were no issues with the signal strength in the bar and lounge area.

I am not a fan of buffet breakfasts as the food is invariably only warm the eggs not runny. This was the case here unfortunately. Aside from the breakfast buffet not being hot the food itself was of good quality, bacon, mushrooms, sausage, tomatoes. I did try the kippers a few times which were prepared separately to the buffet and they were excellent.

These 2 points bring it down to a 4 out of 5 experience but we would return again.

Room tip: Check WIFI signal is good so near the main block.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thank you for your family stay and for your observations on our AA three Star hotel. We are so pleased that your family felt our team were helpful and it's wonderful you would return again.

You would be most welcome here at the sea front Fort d'Auvergne Hotel should you choose to re-visit and your custom is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

What a find, great hotel with amazing staff. Nothing was too much effort and they were always available to help. 10/10 to all the staff. Rooms clean and tidy and a great choice food. Hotel is in a great location right on the sea front. Short walk into town. Car hire opposite to allow you to explore the whole island.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank familyCampers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thank you for your 10/10 review. It is appreciated by our team here at the hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

I love staying on the sea front,10 mins from the centre of St Helier and lovely restaurants nearby. Room was clean and spacious, and a good range of food at breakfast. Try Moites restaurant across the road and Petisco Tradicional. Thai Dicq shack is also worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 905Twinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

We are in a great seafront location thank you. Your kind comments are appreciated.

It is always helpful to remind travellers that due to our location we do not have a car park on site and a public multi storey car park exists five minutes or so walk away. However, a car hire company operates from directly opposite the hotel and daily hires may be arranged directly with them. Also, the public bus service operates from directly outside our hotel too. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews