We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

First review I have felt compelled to do online.
Thank you, enjoyed a lovely 4 day stay just before Easter. Excellent Staff, very friendly and helpful and excellent food. Rooms also excellently cleaned.(anyone knowing me will know the foods a highlight for me.) Really enjoyed the three course evening meals of restaurant quality and choices.My friend had stated that herself and son would be eating out at least once during our stay,(even though half board) to try local dishes,fish and chips etc, but after making plans to do so one night, did not as didn't want to miss out on the lovely hotel menu she had seen, but rather risk the wrath (sulk) of her (teenage) son not getting fish and chips. Location great, right on sea front, less than 15 minute walk to center or bus stop just outside hotel taking you to center where you can easily and cheaply catch buses to most places on the island. Much to do and see for all and especially if you like walking to and around pretty coastal surroundings.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view. Room 60 had really nice outlook, not overlooked and not over street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    182
    68
    25
    12
See reviews for
108
341
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was great, we only had breakfast there but it was excellent - lots to choose from, both hot and cold options.
The location is great - not right in the centre of St Helier but you can walk it in less than 15 mins. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel and for £1.30 you can be at Liberation Station in about 5 mins.
Our room was very comfortable and cleaned to a very high standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Lovely Hotel,Food excellent. Staff very helpful . Manager Philip Heron very professional , helpful and Made our stay very enjoyable. Loved the breakfast especially. Local bus service very good.
Car hire in the area not so good as parking is very limited. Garage across the road will however let you park overnight.

Room Tip: Balcony room fabulous views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssshearer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Located directly on the seafront with a great bus service every twenty minutes. The hotel was recommended by some friends and we will certainly return. The hotel was very clean, staff helpful and food delicious. Our room was nice with views overlooking the sandy beach. An excellent hotel, thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leeviews1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit of the year at this hotel and it is just as good as we imagined we have visited twice a year for the past four years in April and October and are returning again in October the staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you the hotel is spotless and the meals are great we have already provisionally booked for next year keep up the good work. Lovely position bus stop right outside hotel to town what could be better

Jackie Philip Carol and Stan

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit.

It is always wonderful when guest such as yourselves return to the hotel so regularly.

Thank you for your custom which is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a couple of friends last week. The hotel was clean, tidy and very friendly. The food was tasty and very well seasoned. We only ate in the hotel twice as found some good local restaurants close by, however the food on the occations we did eat was superb. The island of jersey was most interesting and we wil return to jeresy and this hotel also. Overall a fantastic hotel in a great location. Highly reccommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at Fort D’Auvergne Hotel (pre Easter) for 4 nights and, after catching the no 15 bus (at the airport) to St Helier, having a meal, & walking around the headland (past the power station), we arrived at the hotel where the staff were immediately very helpful and polite. The room, with views of Havre de Pas beach, was clean & spacious (with a high ceiling) & had the usual on suite facilities with a powerful shower: A minor criticism was that the curtains let in a fair bit of light (from the esplanade lights) at night. The hotel has free wifi available in reception & the bar but I don’t think the signal went as far as the rooms. The hotel also has a decent sized indoor swimming pool (which we used twice) and one good feature of this is that you have to use their towels.

The cooked breakfasts were hot buffet style and quite acceptable: Toast was of the make your own variety which meant it was nice & hot. There were cold meats, cheese, fruit, & croissants available so you could assemble a continental breakfast if needed (which I did on alternate mornings). We only had the one evening meal in the hotel (a chicken curry) which was ok but probably not their speciality. There are a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance.

I appreciated the powerful shower as we did a lot of walking (well over 20 miles in total): Although you can get many books on walking in Jersey, I downloaded quite a few maps & guides from www.jersey.com & put them on my tablet. Fort D’Auvergne hotel is well positioned for east coast walking and there are bus stops directly outside the hotel: It’s better to use the excellent bus services (£1.80 for any single journey) rather than a hire car as Fort D’Auvergne does not have its own car park. Several coach firms offer round the Island trips with pickup directly outside the hotel.

The evening before we checked out I asked reception if they could print out our boarding cards but was told ‘we don’t have our own internet connection’ (which surprised me) however they suggested that I wirelessly connected to their printer or emailed them the file (neither of which worked) however, the following morning they contacted our airline (flybe) who said that they could print these off (free) at the checkin desk. This is a good hotel bourne out by the many regulars present during our stay. We used a different route back to St Helier bus station turning right half way up Mount Bingham into South Hill; this made it an easy 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Booking direct with the hotel (rather than through an agent) will help you get the room you want. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seajay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#19 of 32 in St. Helier
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Property: Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Address: Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing