We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a week at Fort D'Auvergne Hotel and I must say it was one of our best holidays. Hotel location is exceptional and if you stay in one of the rooms with a balcony you will understand why I say this. Hotel located directly on the seafront offers breathtaking views.Only 10 mins walk from the hotel to center of St.Helier but also it is a bus stop in front of the hotel and you can take the bus to Liberation station and from there to anywere on the island.Back at the hotel with my comment...it is a very clean hotel with a great indoor swimming pool and with a restaurant that offers breathtaking views from your table. As stated the hotel is spottlessly clean both in bedroom and public area, but the small lounge,reception and bar,are in urgent need of refurbishment.We had the same table during our breakfasts and dinners and the fact that it was next to the windows and that we were served by such a lovely,friendly and polite young man(Lucien) always with a smile on his face and having served such a delicious food ,made us feel so good during our stay at this wonderful hotel.The bedroom had a kingsize zip&link type of bed with comfy mattress,clean linen and a nice goldcolor of the bedspread.Bathroom was basic but very clean and we had our towells changed every day plus a nice supply of cofee,tea and milkportions .Our maid was a lovely young lady that smiled to us every morning and she has done a good job in cleaning our room so thank you.Just a quick mention...our bedroom had a 22" (i think) flat screen tv with both english and french channels and it was great for my husband as he is french born :). We also had the chance to meet with the lovely manageress Joan one day in reception and me and my husband were both impressed about the fact that she and the man from reception are able to speak French at a so high level.They also told us that they are fluent in Italian and Spanish...how great is that!?! Both advised us to visit the must seen places on the island and one of these wonderful places was Durell Wildlife Zoo from where we now have great photos and memories.We were so happy during our holiday spent at this hotel and we decided to return next year so thank you so much to all of you at Fort D'Auvergne and see you (all hopefully) again next year!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your constructive and thoughtful review. This is much appreciated by our team at the hotel.

We are so pleased that you report that 'it was one of our best holidays', this makes our efforts at the hotel very rewarding and this feedback is appreciated.

We too believe that the hotel location on the waterfront is exceptional. We have owned and run the hotel for over 30 years and never cease to be amazed by this marine setting.

We are a very much a traditional seaside hotel and as such the public areas of the hotel mentioned are traditional in nature. We will look again at these areas in mind of your comments.

The Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust is an exceptional world class attraction and does much good work around the globe protecting endangered species. We would recommend that all visitors to Jersey visit and support their good works – thank you for your feedback on this recommendation from our reception team.

Thanks once again and we hope to welcome you back in 2014 to the Fort d’Auvergne Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 619 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Firstly have got to say for the price you shouldn't complain as long as you know what to expect.

The Good Points - the hotel was very clean. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bar man was a hoot and the prices for the drinks very reasonable. There is wi fi but only in the reception area and the small lounge next to reception. The fried breakfast was excellent, we didn't do dinner so can't comment. Breakfast staff again very amiable. The dining room appeared newly decorated and the view if you were by the window was lovely. 15" flat s teen tv in bedroom. Bus stop directly outside hotel but only 15-20 minute walk to main bus terminal with routes to all of island. A lot of the rooms have a sea is, ours had a sea view for approx half an hour a day the rest of the timeout view was rocks, bit of sand and the swimming complex building. Bed was comfortable although a small double. Mattress had protective cover and it was sheets and blanket with bedspread, dated but again clean. Some good restaurants within walking distance especially Roseville Bistro.

Not so good points (our personal opinion) - lounge and bar area very dated. Our room although good size was very drab and dated. Crack across ceiling, Mis match of furniture. As stated was clean though. Shower room very basic, Lino floor, mismatch tiles. Not a very powerful shower which as the cubicle had a shower curtain I suppose was a good thing. Wall mounted shelves for bedside tables great if you fall out of as wouldn't hit your head bad for trying to see time in the night! The first 2 nights we were there we appeared to be the only residents under 65 (possibly 75) which at 50 made us feel young but may have really made anyone younger feel very uncomfortable. They did put on entertainment on Saturday night which again a little dated but we avoided the crowded bar as it was more like a Darby & Joan outing. I don't mean this to sound offensive but has I have known the average of the clientele is have booked somewhere else. The heating appeared to be on constantly and when sat in centre of breakfast room not near a window it was almost unbearable. Radiator in room meant sleeping with window open. There aren't hair dryers in room but it sated could get one from reception. Was going to until woman in front asked for one to be told none available (take your own to be on safe side).

I can't comment on pool as we were aware of several people using it but did hear them say one of the showers was out of action.

we were told no room service available and you couldn't get anything but crisps after a certain time.

As stated above, it was a cheap hotel so if money an issue would recommend as clean and friendly as long as you don't mind the feeling of being in a residential home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your review and the positive points raised.

A number of the points / opinions raised may also benefit from clarification / correction for future clients.

We warmly welcome all guests to our sea front family owned hotel and our clientele does vary from week to week, as with many hotels.

Our bedroom televisions are all new generation minimum 22 inch flat screen units and all are newly fitted in 2013.

Our dedicated hotel leisure swimming pool complex is possibly the best positioned in Jersey - directly overlooking the beach / sea. Our pool complex showers are in working order and in additional to full changing rooms with shower cubicles we have a shower at the poolside. Towels are provided free of charge.

Our restaurant is fully air-conditioned - please do ask if the temperature is not suitable as this may be immediately given our attention.

In respect of the sea, the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is surrounded by beach / sea on two sides. For your interest, the tidal range at the hotel is 40 feet which is one of the largest tidal ranges in the world.

The hotel is situated on a RAMSAR area (prospective guests may wish to google this term), a wetland of International importance to wildlife. This tidal range provides a habitat for many marine and sea bird species and the tide on some days will not rise around the hotel quite as much as on other days as the tidal range varies from day to day. Many guests like this feature as it is regarded by many to be a wonder of nature.

Finally, had we been aware of many of your comments we would have been pleased to discuss these with you at the hotel in order to have made your stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope to welcome you back at some future point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We so enjoyed our holiday in Jersey that we are returning again to stay at the
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, the staff were most helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. We were fortunate last year that we had a seaview and a balcony room but this year we are only able to get a seaview room.
We have made our own travelling arrangements this year

Room Tip: If possible choose a room with a seaview and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are a family owned traditional seafront hotel with a fantastic location right on the beach. In addition to our normal winter upgrading works and decoration, for 2013 we are fitting new latest generation flat screen TV's to all bedrooms - these will have both English and French channels.

The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has a stunning indoor swimming pool complex with direct waterfront views, fantastic marine views from the restaurant as well as a large sea facing terrace. In addition, our hotel bar overlooks the sea. The beach and sea surround the hotel on two sides and this helps the marine aspect of the hotel.

We are traditional in style but seek to provide great value and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming guests in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Booked a couple of nights in the end of september.
Great location , seafront , a couple of minutes from downtown with busstop just outside the hotel.
Service was excellent , impressive breakfasts and stuffing dinners with minimum spending.
Rooms were outdated and so was the reception area/lounge but kept clean.
The swimming pool is small but clean and it seemed that we were the only ones using it.However it's nice to take a swim while watching the sea which had in general a small temperature to swim in.Perhaps in august you could do also that but we preffered the indoor water.
I warmly encourage visiting this hotel because of it's prices,exceptional service and location.
We will surely return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We are grateful for your kind review. We are a family owned traditional seafront hotel as your images illustrate.

The Fort d'Auvergne is long established and is situated in a prime coastal location. Value and attentive service are key to our team here at the hotel and we hold a Bronze Investor in People Award which helps us to achieve our aims.

We have now closed for the winter months and we re-open on 12th April 2013. Thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming new and return guests to Jersey in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in June this year we were so impressed with the hotel and the island of Jersey that we could not wait till 2013 to return therefore we have just returned from our second visit this year! As we said in our previous review in June the hotel is just perfect, it has everything that you could possibly want and unlike the previous review it is far from a ‘budget’ hotel! A budget hotel is basic and has little or no facilities, this hotel had everything, indoor swimming pool, air con restaurant, balcony rooms etc! As when we stayed in June the hotel was clean and the staff were most helpful and polite. The manager Philip recognised us as soon as we walked back into the hotel as did most of staff. Great service with a friendly but professional touch. Location wise the hotel was perfect and looks directly out to sea, it only took us around 10minutes to walk to the main city centre and when we felt lazy we caught the bus from outside the hotel that ran around every 20min to the city centre. The food is of a good standard and the menu was varied. We have already booked for next year and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a seafront hotel in a quiet but convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A budget hotel run by a Jersey company running a small chain of 6 hotels. This hotel is not open all of the year, opening in Spring and closes 29th October in 2012. A large proprtion of the guests would appear to come via a coach operator based in the Midlands/Northern UK. The hotel is situated on a frequent bus route into St. Helier, every 20 minutes on the winter timetable, but no buses on Sundays or in the evening. It takes about 12/15 minutes to walk into the centre of St. Helier via the tunnel. The hotel is situated right on the promenade with only a narrow walkway between to hotel and the sea. The hotel does not have a car park so, with the narrow roads around the hotel, a car would be a liability.
The hotel does have an indoor swimming pool where the water is kept reasonably warm. The pool area itself is kept very hot. Our room, and it would appear to be many others, had a radiator that could not be adjusted so the windows had to be kept permanently open to keep the heat down.The hotel does have a lift to the 1st & 2nd floor but there is a small flight of stairs to negotiate to reach the small lift. On reaching the upper floors one again encountered several stairs to reach many of the rooms. The rooms are smallish with an old CRT television, 4 channels plus radio, but reception was not good. We made the mistake of booking a double room but the bed was only 4 foot 6 inches wide so very narrow for a double. Not that comfortable either. Best to get a twin. Large wardrobe plus limited drawer space. Bathroom has a small shower, with curtain !!!!!, and not to great a pressure. A nice touch is the provision of shower gell, shampoo and tissues. The room, as the hotel was kept nice and clean. There is a small lounge and a bar.
We booked halfboard. If on B&B anbd you wish to dine in, the cost for a 3 course dinner plus tea or coffeee was £16.96 per person. Menu had a choice of 4 items for each course. The food is best described as good homestyle cooking with ample proportions. A good cooked buffet breakfast is provided.
The staff at the hotel are excellent. Very firendly, attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: If you do not wish to, pay for a seaview room or balcony and seaview room ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johncb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for rating our hotel and staff as being very good.

In response to your comments, you may wish to note that we have many bedrooms which have 'zip and link' larger double beds at six feet width. These may be requested when booking.

All bedrooms are being equipped with new latest generation flatscreen TV's for 2013 with new high specification ‘head end’ aerial equipment ensuring the best TV reception to each bedroom. Both English and French channels will be available.

I do hope that these comments are of assistance.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have recently returned home after spending one week at this hotel, the hotel was clean and the food was delicious. Our room was spacious and looked over the hotel court yard – which was an average view. As other reviews have commented the hotel décor could do with updating, but this made no difference to our enjoyment of the hotel. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Mr. Heron the manager was very helpful and seemed to never be out of the hotel! The bus stop was just outside the main door which had a very good frequent service to the town centre and bus station. The island of Jersey was beautiful; some of the views across the bays were breathtaking. We would recommend that people visiting Jersey should visit, the Jersey Zoo, the War Tunnels and the Gorey castle. We cannot wait to return to this hotel and have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.2 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 31 in St. Helier
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $131 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing