We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mayfair Hotel, St.Helier”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
perth uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Review of Mayfair Hotel, St.Helier”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed a week at this hotel and thought it was excellent. It has spacious bright public rooms. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. One of my party was wheelchair bound and we found it very easy to move around the hotel and get to our rooms. We found the restaurant to be fantastic. there was a good selection on the menu and the food was lovely. Our waiting staff were very well trained and couldn't do enough for you.
It is a great hotel, very comfortable and the staff were amazing. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corinne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    375
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
389
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have Just returned from a week staying at the Mayfair. Frankly I cannot fault it - Spotlessly clean , with attentive , friendly staff through out the hotel. Wonderful breakfast ( the best porridge ever!) and enjoyable dinner menu every evening. I am 88 years old and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world over the years, so I do know what I am talking about. I never give praise when it is not due or earned. I have stayed in many hotels in jersey over many years of visiting the island and this hotel is definitely head and shoulders above the rest. Why it isn't more than a three star hotel. I really don't know , but I will be returning here without hesitation. Many thanks to all at the Mayfair for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Suite 7 with two of our children. First impression not good - the smoking area outside the front door and the cloud of fumes we had to breathe in to enter the hotel. Why oh why in this day and age do they have a smoking area?!?

Plus-points: Staff friendly and helpful enough, facilities reasonable for the price, room clean. A fairly standard middle-of-the-road hotel. Parking plentiful and, most importantly, free.

Negatives: the room was baking hot. No air conditioning (except opening the windows, but then subjected to noise in the night from staff talking too loudly). Breakfast a little limited in choice, especially the cold selection. Take your own hairdryer, the one in the room was impossible to use due to having to hold down a button on the front to stop it turning off. WiFi only available in public areas (although it is being trialled in the suites, though reception was patchy).

Would we rebook? Not without air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndThenThereWereFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

First impressions were good modern public areas and staff eager to engage and help. They printed some boarding passes for us with a minimum of fuss and no charge. We had a three bed 'family' room which was hot and cramped, but a fan was quickly supplied upon request. Food is perfectly acceptable for a 3 star hotel, but service was a little brisk for our liking - you are not encouraged to linger. It has an excellent sun terrace for reading and relaxing - not boozing! The pool is a bit small but fine for the kids. Finally this is not just a hotel for those of older years as others suggest. Many families use it and from what we could fathom, they are returning customers. So in conclusion, not the best in St Helier, but you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel was very good and accomodating as the first room we had was on the second floor but we upgraded to a suite at a negotiated rate .

The breakfast staff were a little short as we turned up two minutes early and was told to wait.

The guy at the desk Danny was really helpful and we even got a bowl of fruit on the second day .

Generally pleased but would say to book a suite as some of the rooms are dark and the staff very helpful.

Enjoyed our stay for my friends retirement party.

Room Tip: try to book siute 2 as this was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helier
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rooms too hot, needs air conditioning fitted. Overall a nice hotel that does try hard to please. Parking excellent and rooms comfortable. Bathroom clean and looked after. Entrance welcoming and inviting

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

this was our first trip to jersey and we were very pleased with our Hotel, not too far from the shops eyc bit furher to the beaches but some well organisedf trips around the island helped us old pensioners. there is a lot to see and take in, very emoitional when you consider that island was occupied for five years in the 1940s and this has made its mark on the island. we were able to visit Sark by boat that again was an experience. our hotel were very helpfull and kind and fed us well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingron9232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St. Helier JE2 4LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing