We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAULTLESS”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just had a 4 nights break in this hotel. Large bright modern room (122) with modern bathroom, flat screen TV and copious amounts of tea and coffee and was excellently serviced daily. On the main road and there was a little noise from passers-by but nothing to worry about. Excellent breakfast buffet supplement with a waiter served full English. Good choice of well prepared food table d'hote dinner menu with a'la carte available. A host of public rooms providing a vast array of entertainment and activities, all of which are bright clean and inviting. A well stocked bar with an excellent pint of guinness and wine list all at competitive price (for a hotel). Very friendly and efficient staff in all departments. Optional trips from the hotels were arranged daily. Travelled on a package arranged by the hotel (Modern Hotels) and Angela Holiday and it is hard to think it possible to get a better value holiday. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonehengedeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    375
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
389
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came to the Mayfair on that historic snowy week. Couldn't get out on the Tuesday but it soon improved. Do not go by the look of the place, its not pretty, but it all changes as you go inside. Clean spacious reception, large lounges, extremely pleasant staff, all very helpful. Rooms clean and smart, the restauraunt had so many staff we were never waiting to be served, food was really very good. I had some fussy people with me and nobody could find a bad thing to say about this establishment. It has a swimming pool and fitness rooms which we did not try but there was no noise or interference from them. The internal cafe was great for lunches and the entertainment in the evening was just what was needed untill the snow went. We had a blue badge guide for a day tour of the island which unfortunately was still snow bound on the northern shore, but still a good idea if there is a group of you. We could not fault this hotel, thats why we came back a month later and did it all again, this time in sunshine with most places open for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Mid April 2013 for 3 days after a short 35 minute flight from London Gatwick. The transfer to the hotel by Minibus was a bit cramped but only took 20 mins.
The hotel is close to the town centre but a good 20 minute stroll to the beach. The location was ok but i would have prefered a location overlooking the sea.
The check in and reception staff are really friendly and helpful and the bar and lounge area were bright and comfortable.
Thought the drinks were a bit pricey particularly for shandy and unfortunately they only have Carling and Grolsh lager on draught ( they do have Guinness and bitter).
Entertainment suitable for the 60s generation with a band on one night and guitarist another night. There was an area for you to dance and jive!
The rooms were comfy although there was a lot of intermittent noise from what i thin was an air extractor or conditioning unit outside. One night the room vibrated at 3am for about half an hour and when we flushed the loo the water was black and also from the taps in the sink. a plumbing problem we think but it got sorted.
The food both at breakfast and evening meal was very good. A large glass of Rose wine at £5 was a bit over the top but you can get a half bottle for around £8.
As you come out of the hotel front door turn right and keep going straight until you see a costa coffee shop in front of you and then turn right this brings you to the centre then there are signst to the beach as you get in the shopping centre. Tobacco is cheaper at Jersey airport than on the plane.
We did the all day tour and were very lucky with the weather. I wasn't overly impressed with the 'Jersey Experience' part of the tour which was in my opinion over hyped and £2.75 for a cappuchino and £5.95 for a panini in the coffee shop was a rip off. If you can wait have some food at the Jersey Pearl stop a bit later although the stop is only 20 mins.
Watch out for the seagulls if you buy an icecream at the lighthouse stop ( which is lovely) they will swoop an take it out of your hand, they are a bloomin menace.
The trip was worth the £20 each but guys if you have long legs like me try to be on the bus first and get the front seat as the coaches are narrow , old and very cramped, this is not the operators fault it is just that the coaches are 9 inches narrower than a standard european coach and the roads are narrow and these are the only type of coach allowed to operate ( strange when you look at the buses).
Overall we had a lovely 3 days and on one occasion got a bus to St Aubin and walked back. The Mini train if £4.50 each way. There is a nice coffee stop on the walk back with yellow table cloths and flowers about a third of the way back. One thing to remember is The Glass church is not open on Saturday but the park next to it has a nice play area for young kids and is goood for a rest break.

Room Tip: Not easy as there is Traffic noise at the front and air extractor noise at the back. Take some ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank technoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbedr
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March on our silver wedding anniversary trip. We arrived just as Jersey had had its heaviest snowfall since 1962! Luckily, the hotel was conveniently situated for exploring St Helier on foot. We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean and the staff were attentive and friendly. Our room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. We had a large, airy ensuite bathroom with lovely hot water to warm ourselves up after days out in arctic temperatures! We had breakfast in the restaurant each day and there was plenty of choice, both for a cooked breakfast or a continental style breakfast. We ate dinner in the restaurant on the night we arrived and the food was good but we found that there was such an excellent choice of restaurants in St Helier, that we ate out on the other two nights. All in all, a very positive experience, and I would recommend the Mayfair Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qurumh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Mayfair on a three night break last week and had a really nice stay. The hotel is large(220 rooms) but you could still find quiet corners to sit and chat and it never felt crowded. All the staff we had contact with we're very friendly, reception very efficient and entertainment was great, we particularly enjoyed The Grumpy Old Men!. Food was excellent and breakfast service quick and efficient. Ideal for town centre and not far from harbour. Look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebee757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just spent 3 days at this hotel and wished I was able to stay for longer. Staff were great and efficient, rooms perfect and warm, still very cold weather for April! The food was superb. Not far from the harbour and shopping area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChunkyChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel islands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stay every new yrs eve and have a great time here ,the gala buffet is fantastic and the entertainment is fab..the rooms are very clean and spacious albet a little warm..but at xmas its cold outside so its no bother we always stay here at xmas and luv it

Room Tip: all the rooms are a mirror image of the one next door so i would say dont worry about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerjsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St. Helier JE2 4LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing