We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed November 20, 2012

went on a turkey and tinsel break to the mayfair the hotel is very clean and the maids are cleaning all the time our room was a suite no 1 we didnt have a view at all just looked out on to roof of hotel with pipes on top but this didnt bother us we wernt in the room at all only to sleep a lot of people were complaining about the heating being on all the time it was makin the rooms very hot we didnt find a problem with this our room was just right our room was lovely plenty of room the sitting area is a real bonus food was also very nice and was waiter service entertainment a couple of the nights was awful but the last 2 nights were good celebrated christmas and new year while we were there we also went on a few trips which are value for money saw a lot of jersey and it is a beautiful place must say we had a great time met some lovely people as well and it was a really quiet hotel at night so you got a good nights sleep every night

Room Tip: choose the suites they really are worth that bit extra more roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 914 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent five nights in October 2012 at this hotel. I travelled through Leger holidays. The hotel was comfortable and clean. I had a room on the third floor. It was quiet, the bed was fine and I slept well.

The food was excellent, you were served at your table by attentive and polite waiters. The hotel has a pool, which was good. The entertainment in the lounge was something different each night and was better than most hotels put on.

Jersey itself was not as picturesque as I had imagined, but was very interesting.

On the day of our return, our plane was unable to land due to fog. After we had sat around the airport for some time. Easyjet arranged a hotel for us for the night. This hotel was the Apollo, which was just around the corner to the Mayfair. The Apollo was also a pleasant hotel, and we were able to go around to the Mayfair after dinner for the entertainment.

Room Tip: I was fine on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marjorie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a really good 3 nights at this Hotel late October. Could not fault the dining experience; the swimming pool and health facilities; coffee shop presented fresh food; and really good entertainment.. ( well done Kirsty!). For all this ( the bedroom was fine and we had coffee/tea making facilities; hair dryer; tv.) BUT... on opening the window ... oh dear. I attach a photo. Please management, give room 207 a good spring clean... just wash the window frames and clean the outside of the windows; and paintwork; replace the trim on the shower panel... we had our bathmat replaced... just simple things to freshen it up.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the street... eg room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I returned from the Mayfair Hotel yesterday after a 5 day Shearings half board break. The hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The food was exceptionally good - with a 4 course meal every night - good choice and a menu that changed every evening -and a superb breakfast that included everything anyone could possibly want! There was also an excellent coffee shop - very reasonably priced - that served lovely food suitable for lunches.All the staff were polite, friendly and extremely efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them and not once did we have to wait for a meal. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and my husband and I both slept well. There was entertainment every evening in the bar which we both enjoyed very much and the swimming pool and leisure facilities were also very good. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and the bus station so it was very easy to get anywhere - we took 2 of the coach trips available which were absolutely superb - the drivers were so knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to - a great way of seeing the island. We will definitely return to the hotel - didn't really want to come home!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed a week at the Mayfair having booked a package holiday through a travel agent.

I would recommend this hotel, excellent and very friendly service with plenty of facilities. If you wish you can book various tours at the hotel. The room we had was adjacent to the main room which was a bit noisy but got quite at about 11pm, so no problem. The restaurant is very good with excellent service. The menu is limited, with 3 choices of a main dish, but you get 4 courses and will not go hungry and at only £16 per head is excellent value. The menu was changed every day that we stopped. Also as we booked early we got the meal free.

The hotel is located on the edge of the shopping area and if you walk one way the area is a bit run down so you need to head towards the shopping area to get to main centre (and seafront) of St Helier. It takes about 10-15 minutes and is a nice walk.

Recommended.

Room Tip: My wife and I recently stayed a week at the Mayfair having booked a package holiday through a travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just back from a week in this hotel. This 3 star hotel is is well positioned for easy access to the town.The staff are great & the entertainment is satifactory. The only problem is that it is so hot that you have to keep going outside every few minutes to cool down. And that's at the end of October, so goodness know what it's like in the summer months. Having read other reports on this hotel it would appear that the management don't realise that there is a problem with the heating. It will stop my wife & I going there again.

Room Tip: There is no A/C so every room is to hot to sleep in, even with the window wide open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are just back from a four day stay at the Mayfair Hotel,
St Helier in Jersey.Cant fault it.The rooms were spacious,
spotless,and the food was first class.There was a gym,
indoor pool,jaccuzi,the works.I would stay there again,no
bother at all.
Dave Williams

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daishop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#21 of 31 in St. Helier
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Address: 50 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $63 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing