We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

An enormous twin bedded room with fabulous bathroom. Very comfortable bed, large wardrobe, dressing table, 2 armchairs and coffee table. Food and service in restaurant impeccable. Vast choice of juices, cereals, fresh fruit, continental breakfast, rolls, croissants, ham, cheese, yoghurts and full English breakfast. Evening meals choice of starters, then soup, main course and desserts. All beautifully cooked and plenty of it. You would not go hungry. Free internet access in reception, swimming pool and fitness suite. Evening entertainment including singers and bingo. The bingo caller is a pain, Continental style drinks service, no queing at the bar. Hotel near shops, Howard Davis part not far and beautiful. Bit of a walk to Havre des Pas beach but worth it. Good tours round the island and not far from ferry terminal for day trips to France. Did not try spa, fitness suite or childrens facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbs069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    375
    163
    56
    26
See reviews for
182
389
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our first visit to Jersey but one we will repeat staying at the Mayfair. This hotel offers friendly staff, excellent food, good location, pleasant reception area, lovely sun terrace with the added bonus of the indoor pool.

No faults to find would thoroughly recommend to any future visitors to Jersey.

Thanks Mayfair Staf for a really relaxing Holiday

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesGrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We are a family of 4, with 2 children under the age of 5. Yes, it is true that the hotel appears to be mainly for the over 60s, but if you are looking for a comfortable, exceptionally clean, welcoming and reasonably priced break, this hotel is for you. We are fussy, and usually stay in 4 star hotels, and have been known to change rooms and even whole hotels if we have not felt comfortable. At The Mayfair however, we were very happy with our spacious family room which was spotlessly clean and cleaned every morning. Yes, it could do with air conditioning in the bedrooms, but the staff were great and provided us with not one, but two fans for our room. The temperature was only rather high for a couple of nights. Staff are friendly and engage with the children, and the pool is lovely and warm. Again, I agree the entertainment is designed for retirement age, but my kiddies actually loved listening to some of the songs when we were stood in the doorway. We were hardly at the hotel anyway, and it really was just a base for us, and served the purpose perfectly adequately, and would not hesitate in staying again. This is a TOWN hotel - do not expect outstanding views, as this is an unfair expectation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutpeazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for five days with extended family including children. The girls at reception were friendly and helpful. The foyer, coffee shop & bar area could not be faulted. The hotel in general could do with a make over. The bedrooms were stifling in the heat. The bed linen was definitely not of the quality one would expect in a good hotel. Most of the other guests were definitely of an older generation (and I'm no spring chicken!!). The staff in the coffee shop would benefit greatly from some proper training. The children enjoyed the pool and the games room while the adults made the most of the good weather on the sun deck afterwards.The hotel is close to the shops etc which is great. Haven't quite decided whether I would stay there again.

Room Tip: A family member stayed in a t/ rm in the early 100 & it was much bigger than our d/r. B/r also b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarethehare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Well. to start with, they could at least put air conditioning in the room! i was there rosting away eventually, i got a fan any good? no, not really!and you cannot really SURVIVE in the pool without goggles! i really would of liked different breakfast cereals as well. also, this hotel is a MAZE!!! i reccommend this hotel for people over 50.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank olmnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

OK, granted, this hotel caters mainly for the more senior portion of the population, but is comfortable and friendly. It runs a kids club, and has a good indoor pool to keep younger guests busy. The restaurant is large and as such the catering is on a similar scale. The good point is that the hotel is walking distance from town & sea and the plethora of shops & restaurants. It is dated in décor and fittings, however, with things like continental quilts only available on request, and LCD TV's non existent. Watch out for the following : 1) Low quantity and size of parking spaces - these seemed to be used by locals and hotel staff 2) Smoking area right outside the door, and no smoking in rooms not enforced - the lounge, and maybe your room will stink 3) Loud entertainment, which, although seemed to satisfy the elderly residents is of no interest to anyone under 60 and is too loud in rooms in the main block of the hotel if you have children. Ask for room numbers above 45 on each floor 4) Food is mass catering - especially breakfast 5) TV is limited to 4 channels - don't expect local news or weather 6) Internet access limited to only the public areas not the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with numbers above 45 on each floor, they are further to walk but quieter. No rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Very impressed on arrival, lovely friendly girl at check-in. Everywhere was spotless including our room which was cleaned daily along with fresh towels each day. Food was fantastic with plenty of choices, something to suit everyone. Nicholas, our waiter, was so nice and friendly, couldn't do enough for us, nothing was a bother to him. Although we were only B&B, we had dinner three nights in the hotel as the food was so good. Entertainment was provided nightly which we did enjoy. Lovely new coffee shop also in the hotel offering snacks as well as coffees. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, tours could also be booked at reception. We ate out some evenings and would thoroughly recommend Halketts, Cock & Bottle and a brilliant Italian restaurant, Romanos. Ladies toilets in Halketts has to be seen, hair dryers and straighteners on wall, television screen, flame effect fire and chaise longue!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkymonkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#2 of 5 in St.Saviour
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: St Saviour's Street, Brooklyn Street, St. Helier JE2 4LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayfair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular three-star Mayfair Hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of St Helier and a 10-minute stroll from the beach. Open all year round, the hotel offers a wealth of facilities including indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym, along with regular evening entertainment, restaurant, bar and coffee shop. Accommodation options include twin/double and family bedrooms, each en suite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities and junior suites with separate lounge and bedroom areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Mayfair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel St Helier
Mayfair St Helier
Mayfair Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing