We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2009

A friend and I stayed for a weekend at the start of April.
The price for a single room was appealing as it avoided the high supplements a lot of places like to add.
We were both greeted very warmly, the rooms were more than adequate and extremely clean as were the ensuite bathrooms.
There's also an indoor pool which is a fantastic addition for the price and the bar/restaurant on site is very handy.
We both found the breakfast very generous with bread, cereal, juices and cooked items available and very attentive staff who made the time feel unrushed.
I also made use of the ironing facilities and the walk to St Helier centre is very straightforward, literally just one straight road to the promenade.
I would highly recommend this hotel for the cost and value but also for the fantastic welcoming staff who made us feel very welcome and who offered advice on bus times, cinema listings etc.. 10/10

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 554 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2009

We have gone as a group for several years staying at this hotel
in peak season, we are of varying ages within the group and have no hesitation in recommending it as a first class hotel.
Excellent and extremely polite staff and the Manager has a hands
on approach, nothing too much trouble!! Food is of excellent quality. Rooms are kept very clean. We are all looking forward to going back this year. Can't wait!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Dartvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We are in our thirties and spent a few days here at the end of September. This was the best value hotel we found on the internet, and it was absolutely fine. We found it did cater to older guests and I think we were the youngest people there, but that was fine. Notable absence of young drunken guests! However, in lieu of this what we did find was we could hear loud televisions through our walls early in the morning, and other guests shouting loudly at each other through the walls, I guess as guests of more advanced years are less able to hear...... This was only a minor irritiation however.

The staff were lovely and did their best to help with any queries we had. Breakfast was excellent, a really good choice of food and loads of it. The hotel also does a nice well priced lunch which we enjoyed with a very good glass of wine on the patio area our first day there. The bar was well stocked also, which meant we could have a nice end of evening drink after coming in from dinner. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we wanted to explore other restaurants.

The evening entertainment was definitely geared to older guests and finished early, but we saw the odd family with children seeming to enjoy it. This wasn't the sort of holiday where we were expecting evening entertainment however, and is not the main criteria for us when choosing a hotel, so we were not bothered by this. It was quite nice to watch a bit of ballroom dancing in fact with a glass of wine!

I see some people comment that the hotel is located away from the town centre and a bit of a walk, but this was not an issue for us as we enjoy a stroll before and after dinner and were down in town in about 15 minutes. I imagine this could be an issue for more elderly guests perhaps or those with children, but there seemed to be plenty of taxis about. Had a lovely meal at Nelson's Eye in St Helier - would recommend this. We hired a car which I would recommend if you want to explore the whole island.

All in all a lovely mini break and I would definitely recommend the Norfolk Lodge Hotel if you are a couple or older person, perhaps not so much for families or younger guests though. Jersey itself is not a wild party place though, but is a nice place to relax and wind down. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Hotel very clean and tidy. Reception staff were great. The other staff were OK but I felt not over helpful. Breakfast had a wide variety of food enjoyed by Adults and children (3 and 5). Waiting staff were far to quick in trying to remove plates. Had to be stopped twice from removing plate whilst youngsters "had a breather". The food was just about adequate (but far inferior to that in the Samares Coast last year). Childrens room (reason for picking this hotel) was a really useful for the children and greatly appreciated by the parents on a wet afternoon. Lunchtime bar snack of sandwiches at 2.30 was very reluctantly produced by the bar lady, who I can't ever remember smiling. Morvan Hotels are VERY good and we will be back, BUT not to this one. Next time when the youngsters are older, The Samares Coast, now that had great staff, a great position and great food.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank weymouthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

The warm and personal welcome you receive at reception when you arrive reflects the stay you are about to have at this Morvan family owned hotel..always helpful and pleasant from the general manager Fernando de Castro and all his staff, especially Beatrice, they can never do enough to make you feel at home at the Norfolk Lodge.
Rooms are more than adequate and kept spotlessly clean and tidy with a plentiful supply of soft towels during daily visits from a dedicated housekeeping staff. Public areas include comfortable seating and excellent wash/toilet facilities, indoor heated pool, vaste bar/lounge seating area with a pool table, evening entertainment, excellent lunch time bar meals and outside terraced seating.
we were sorry to see silver service go in the evening but in reality it is very pleasant to choose at the Carvery which offers an excellent choice of main course while you are served with starter, sweet and coffee at your table
Breakfast however was another matter..previously offering an excellent buffet style choice of cereal/fruit juice etc and grill with tea/coffee and toast served at your table it has now turned into an unseemly free-for-all where people are carrying cups of steaming hot drinks as they dodge around the restaurant with toast wedged in the other hand..dangerous in the extreme and for older people an impossible situation.The breakfast manager was apologetic and exhausted as he tried, with too few staff, to stem the complaints so many people were making. This was not up to the standard of care and consideration on which Morvan Hotels have been built and I sincerely hope it will be reconsidered whatever the economic basis for its introduction and revert to previous years.
The hotel is well placed just on the ring road of St Helier and only a 15 minute walk to the town centre, and there are two bus routes with stops near the hotel if preferred..indeed, although there is usually adequate parking available and hire cars are in abundance, the bus service on Jersey is truly amazing with an almost brand new fleet of comfortable vehicles that seem to service every part of this island, including the airport, with a fast and frequent timetable at very reasonable cost from a brand new bus terminal in St Helier. Hassle free and a great way to explore Jersey.
There is no doubt that our first choice for a hotel on Jersey is a Morvan family hotel..we have had the pleasure of staying previously at their Monterey,Fort d'Auvergne and Samares Coast Hotels and in every case, from the always on hand welcoming and helpful General Manager to all the support staff, we have enjoyed the friendliness and genuine helpful attitude as well as the standard of care and attention to their guests in which they all seem to take so much pride. Nothing has ever been too much trouble-thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cheshirecat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Have just had a lovely week at this hotel.The food is first class and the staff are very friendly.The location is excellent.We hired a car and it was good to have on site parking.Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of taking a holiday in Jersey.The only downside was the itchy blankets and badly positioned bedside lights!Hope the chef never leaves... he is excellent!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We have just returned from the Norfolk lodge and again had a great time getting 5* treatment in a 2* hotel.Nothing was a trouble for any of the staff.My elderley mother was ill while we were there and Beatrice sorted a room in the annexe so that i could be with her, what a gem she is.The manager Fernando De Castro has the hotel running very well and is always there to help.This was our 4th stay and there were a few changes but i think for the better eg,the waiter service has gone however it is
better to go and see what you want to rather than guess what it is Sean again did us proud with his lovelly food .Well i hope to return next September and once again WELL DONE.From The Thompson Family.
Stockton-On-Tees

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzybizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 31 in St. Helier
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St. Helier
897 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#5 of 31 in St. Helier
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $111 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing