We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting but quirky”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A two night end of June short break in this old-fashioned quirky hotel, but not at all bad. The room is perfectly adequate if slightly spartan. The power shower is more like a water cannon!!!
Bed very comfortable, which is an essential these days. Looks like the original metal framed windows though so, behind the net curtains, you wake up to a river of condensation.
The restaurant was amusing, watching the predominantly Romanian staff interact. They are surprisingly good and eager to learn their trade properly, very pleasant to talk to. However if something runs out or doesn't work it gets a bit like Fawlty Towers. Very good table service though and the food is certainly above average. Clean, welcoming and acceptable - a little noisy but nothing serious. About 15 mins walk from beach and shops. Good value all round, about a 3 and a half star hotel. Watch out for random steps in the walkways!

Room Tip: if you can find it - any room should be ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Your comments are appreciated.

We are a locally owned and run hotel in St. Helier and we do put great emphasis on personal service. We are graded by the AA as a Three Star hotel and have excellent public lounges, an indoor swimming pool along with evening entertainment and one of the largest hotel car parks in Jersey - dedicated to our guests.

We are pleased that in general you liked the hotel and our genuine approach to service. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    200
    73
    18
    5
See reviews for
140
204
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. There were 12 of us in total (3 families age range from 71 to 1 year) and we stayed for a long weekend room and breakfast only in the annexe. All the staff we had dealings with were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic there was such a wide choice. We had an evening meal in the hotel on one of the evenings and that too was very good. There was entertainment in the way of a guitarist who sang a medley of catchy songs which got everybody up on the dance floor and made for a good atmosphere. We were in walking distance from the main shopping town. I recommend this hotel and if I have the chance will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren85120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just stayed a week at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel and can only say that our stay was excellent. The bedroom was modern and very clean and the girl that was looking after our room was very polite and helpful. All the hotel staff we had contact with were very attentive and couldn't do enough to help. The dining room was very light and airy with plenty of room between tables. The food was excellent and although there wasn't a massive choice there was still a selection that I'm sure would be sufficient for anyone's needs. The food was hot and very tasty and the vegetables were mainly fresh and varied each day. The waiters were very good and helpful in every way. We will definitely be making a return journey to this hotel in the not too distant future. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robincjt_diary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from St Helier after 35 yrs, if this is your first time no problem, you would not know the difference! For my wife and I the bucket and spade era seems to have long gone, talking to the islanders. Many guest houses have closed, entertainment venues also, along with the nightly groups, duo's and single's frequenting many pubs around the Island bays, Commerce and new shopping outlets have replaced the Jersey local shops and their quaintness. St Helier's 'high st' could be anywhere in Britain. With prices across the board the same as in Britain, duty free to the shopper doesn't exist anymore. A family expecting to have the advantage of a cheap holiday can forget it, even parking needs tokens purchased from certain outlets, a right scam, your always have some unused ones over at the end of your hols if your not careful. Walking and biking is the cheapest way to enjoy Jersey, which is still lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay and have not a bad word to say about anything this hotel offers. The staff were wonderful, the food fantastic, rooms very comfortable and spotless. I went with my husband and two friends, one of which was in a wheelchair and was a bit worried about how she would cope due to quite a few steps up to reception, but I had no need to worry as I had previously emailed them and they organised for her to use a back entrance, given a ground floor room right next to the door and we also had a ground floor room near her.
The assistant Manager Florin, who was also in charge of the restaurant, showed us a way through the bar area so we didn't have to use the lift and was completely on the flat, so that was brilliant. They couldn't do enough for us, made a table available in the restaurant so we didn't have to weave in and out with the wheelchair. As for the food, it was amazing - hot buffet breakfast with everything imaginable, cheeses, meats, or continental if required, as much toast etc. as you wanted to cook yourself (had a few laughs at some people who turned up the heat and it came out like charcoal) - Dinner always had at least 3 choices of starters, mains and sweets, (only managed to share a cheese and biscuits between 3 of us as we were so full) The carvery on Sunday was beef or pork and Wednesday evening it was turkey or baked gammon absolutely cooked to perfection, as was the veg.
It is a little way out of the centre of St.Helier If you have difficulty walking, about a 20 minute walk, but the local buses stop nearly outside and it only costs £1.20 or £1.70 maximum depending on where you want to go and it gives you a chance to see parts of the Island you probably wouldn't see on a tour. Also at the hotel, if you have difficulty with steps, do as I did email them or let them know well in advance and they will do their best to accommodate you. Some people don't ask and then complain afterwards, so take my advice and make sure.
I thank everyone at the hotel for making our stay so special, and lots of love and thanks to Florin and his staff, especially Alex, Marco and Macen (apologies for the name spelling, but you know who you are) Hope to see you sometime in the future. Best wishes Val, Rex, Maria and Jill

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room overlooking the indoor pool, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LincolnshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was a bit worried about going to this hotel as the holiday firm Just Go had booked us into here and I had heard it had quite a few steps and being in a wheelchair this isn't good. I needn't have worried as I had access to all the areas I needed to get to. I had a lovely down stairs room and could get to the bar area and dinning room. What more could a guest want. The staff there were all helpful and friendly. There was a wide variety on the menu in the evening and breakfast was a buffet so you could have an english or continental one. The rooms where very clean and had complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits. The hotel is on the ring road but there is a bus stop near the hotel and all buses have access for wheelchairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Norfolk lodge for 3 nights in May its location is OK but not near the centre shops etc, it has a ample free car park, the staff were to a person all excellent and the hotel very clean we preferred the bar menu to the restaurant as is was more varied and good value one thing they could address is the wait to be seated in the main restaurant the person responsible would go walk about into the kitchen etc and a queue would quickly appear if they are going to adopt this system of seating for all sittings it should always be maned. that's my only criticism so all in all a first class 3 star establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greendoor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing