We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 5 days in Norfolk Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5 days in Norfolk Lodge”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here back in August last year as a late summer holiday and had a wonderful time. Our holiday included my wife, our 2 children and my parents,flying over from southampton.The hotel reception staff were very friendly and accommodating and the manager also,nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were clean with tea/coffee making facilities and a flat screen tv.Childrens room had a bunk bed which they said was very comfortable.We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was good quality and plentiful.Hotel has a nice size indoor swimming pool with plenty of room for fun and swimming.clean towels are provided at reception. All in all a great 5 day holiday and we are all looking forward to returning this August.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortsmouthCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are now open for the 2013 season after a busy winter upgrading the Norfolk Lodge Hotel. Works have included extensive decoration, much modernisation to our bar area and reception lounges along with upgrading to many bathrooms and bedrooms.

We have included latest generation LED lighting into our entertainment area and this too has made a positive improvement both to our eco credentials and to the guest experience.

We are an AA three star 101 bedroom traditional family owned hotel, with great all day catering and bar facilities, an indoor swimming pool and a large car park. All bedroom TV's are latest generation flat screen. We hope that these investments into the Norfolk Lodge Hotel further demonstrate our commitment to you and the enjoyment of your stay.

New images of the Norfolk Lodge Hotel may be viewed within our facebook albums found on our own Morvan Hotels website. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    194
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
133
193
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

An acceptable three star hotel with good sized rooms, but the decor looked a bit jaded and the hotel is not particularly well situated. The main problem during our stay was, however, the very poor food. This featured such delights as chilled starters which were almost frozen, tough meat and rock hard roast potatoes. Perhaps the most memorable food item, but for all the wrong reasons, was the seeming hard nuts served with one meal which turned out to be rock solid, massively overcooked sweetcorn kernels ! Maybe we were unlucky and it was chef's week off......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curmudgeonface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We have now closed for the winter and we are in the process of updating parts of our hotel over the winter period - in time for our re-opening in early 2013. Each year we invest into the hotel to meet expectations - taking our lead from customer comments.

Your comments on the standard of catering on your visit are noted but are not in keeping with the vast majority of the comments that we receive, as other reviews will attest. We have an experienced and long established team of chefs who take great pride in what they do at the Norfolk Lodge - preparing fresh food using quality commodities. It is unfortunate that your on-line comments were not brought to our specific attention during your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy this aspect of your stay.

By way of note, we do offer an all day menu at the hotel which has proved both convenient and popular this year and this service, ideal for arriving and departing guests, will remain in place for 2103.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've stayed in the Norfolk Lodge Hotel for five nights. My single room was exactly that everything basic but very clean. Nothing more or less than I expected. Thought the hotel is on a busy roundabout it was very quiet. It is a good 10/ 15 minute walk to the town centre but I don't mind walking at all and the centre does get quite congested with traffic anyway.
Everybody in the hotel was very friendly and helpful, the service excellent. Just a couple of times attention to detail was lacking a bit and if these little things can be addressed this hotel will get 5 stars from me.
I had booked half board and had good substantial dinner and breakfast every day. My only complaint being that I was asked already when I would like my dinner before I even had sat down for breakfast ( probably neccessary in the high season, but this was the very last week in the season and very quiet).
A couple of times I had ordered the vegetarian main course option at dinner time. I would have expected to be everything vegetarian but the courgettes came wrapped in bacon. I am not vegetarian and was not bothered by this. But what if I was?
All in all a very enjoyable stay! I hope to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiggiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Bog standard hotel at this price.

Cons:
1) Not really near anything. Bus #19 runs in front of it (and via the ferry port, which is nice) but is a good 15-20 minute walk to Liberation Station from whence you can explore the rest of the island.
2) Level of English spoken by reception staff (at least while I was there) was substandard.
3) If you're on one of the lower floors, you may be blasted by music from the lounge until 11PM or so. Fine if you're going to bed late anyway, but irritating if you want an early start.
4) Inattention to detail. Only average level cleanliness, batteries in the TV remote were dead, toilet paper left in the toilet, vague smell of mildew in the bathroom. Rough towels.

Pros:
1) Breakfast is included in most room rates and is buffet-style. Scrambled eggs are from powder, but everything else is passable.
2) Presence of a pool at this price point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raiaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are happy to add some detail to the points that you raise:


1) Location: Unusually for a St. Helier hotel, we do have a large free car park which makes Jersey accessible for those using a car.

We are only a short walk from the north of the town centre. The main bus station is to the south of the town centre. Prospective guests should note that the bus service is being renewed with a new sole provider on Jersey. This is a decision of the government of Jersey and timetables will change from January 2013. The reason for this change is due to the provision of more comprehensive coverage of the Island by the new appointed bus operator which will hopefully be beneficial for our valued hotel guests.

2) Level of English spoken by reception staff – We have had a mix of reception staff this year including Jersey residents on our team. All speak good English. We are a local family owned business.

3) Entertainment Noise – We have built our family business over many years and this is not a criticism that we have received in the past. Entertainment does not run late and is not near guest bedrooms to any great extent. Quiet bedrooms may be requested if this is a concern.

4) Average housekeeping. Detail is important to us including cleanliness. We are sorry that the batteries were exhausted in your TV remote but would comment that this is irregular not least because new high specification flat screen TV’s and remotes were installed only four months ago in all of our 101 bedrooms .

5) Breakfast buffet - Scrambled eggs are not made from powder as you have stated but rather from pasteurised egg – for reasons of food safety. We are pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of your breakfasts.

6) Our swimming pool is free for guest use and is situated indoors in a dedicated building.

We hope that these points of clarification are useful. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Three friends and myself have just had four days at the Norfolk Lodge Hotel, we had a lovely time,and found the staff there to be very friendly and helpful. The menu for the restaurant we found was excellent. We all had single rooms and found them very clean and tidy. We all agreed we will be back next year.

Room Tip: We had single rooms 11 12 16 17 and found them to be very clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Norfolk Lodge hotel for a week, half board, It was fantastic the staff were amazingly friendly and could"t do enough to please us, The dining room was well organized and the Duty manager in the Restraunt made eveybody welcome, I had some good crack with the guy, The staff would remember me [AREA 51] as they used to call me as we were in room 51, We really enjoyed our stay there and would certainly go back to Jersey and stay at this hotel, Well done to ALL the staff they deserve a pat on the back, We met some really nice people in the bar in the evening and had a good laugh,
Well done ALL THE STAFF,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of September 2012 and had a great holiday. The whole hotel is immaculately clean; and the staff are helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfasts are good - including excellent scambled eggs, good quality bacon and fresh mushrooms. The beef served for Sunday Roast was superb - although the vegetables were disappointing and let the meal down. There is no doubt the hotel is dated, although in areas there have been modernisations, but it is fair to say that it is in no way shabby - everywhere is immaculately clean and in good condition. It is a three star hotel that offers good service, good facilities and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakota567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are grateful for your review.

The Norfolk Lodge is traditional but is a well maintained complex on a large St Helier site with excellent parking.

It is pleasing that you found the hotel to be good value as this is our aim along with being friendly, clean and professionally run.

We do use local suppliers for our catering and we are pleased that you generally enjoyed this aspect of your stay. Our vegetables are supplied by local farmers and are freshly delivered each day.

Thank you for your comments. These are appreciated by our team at the Norfolk Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing