We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very enjoyable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned today from a 4 night break with my daughter and 8 year old granddaughter. All in all we have nothing but praise for this hotel. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but chose to eat in the hotel two nights. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant staff couldn't do enough to help and were very welcoming and friendly as were all the other staff at the hotel. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable and we all slept well. The swimming pool, although indoor, opened out onto a small terrace with a few loungers and tables and chairs - ideal in the hot weather which we experienced. There were a number of families in the hotel but the entertainment area was mostly used by elderly guests. Although it didn't deter from our enjoyment perhaps more entertainment suitable for families could be offered. Location was 10/15 minute walk from centre of St Helier. Can't comment on local transport as we had hired a car. We would have no hesitation in returning to the Norfolk Lodge Hotel although we would prefer children to be better catered for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    188
    69
    18
    5
See reviews for
133
190
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

For me as solo traveller, wanting to walk the cliffs this hotel was the best choice. It was only 20 minutes walking from Liberation Busstation, where I could catch my buses. I skipped breakfast twice as I needed to get a 9 am bus, but thanks to tea and coffeeservice in the room I could have my own modest breakfast.
The solo room was old fashioned, giving it a charm as well! My room was spacious and comfortable enough. People would usually go to bed around midnight, so that was a help as the walls and floors allowed noises to travel.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially towards the elderly with walking difficulties they just went out of their way!!!
Food was average. Being a vegetarian and a good cook myself I am never really impressed on any trip with the food. So I survive the trip and enjoy my food while at home, ha, ha!
I loved the swimming pool, which at times was too noisy and splashy to me due to young kids. I just dislike noise and being splashed, my problem so to say.
Wi Fi only in lobby and a very slow connection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent staff, so friendly and helpful. The hotel was lovely and adequate for what we needed. It was not too busy so there were plenty of places to sit in peace and quiet. During the night we could hear noise from upstairs but besides that there were no problems. The pool was a brilliant bonus and the entertainment was adequate. It was the staff who made the experience wonderful and memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floor may be more noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are delighted that you found our hotel to be excellent overall. We are a busy and vibrant family business and have been in the same family ownership for over fifty years. Attention to detail is important to us. Your kind comments in respect of our team are very much appreciated by all at the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Norfolk Lodge Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Excellent service spoilt by night after night of good food served cold. The swimming pool is a real bonus and the rooms are comfortable although poorly insulated from noise from rooms above. A good 20 minute walk from sea front with a bus every hour.comfortable budget hotel, cold food often overcooked and very expensive bar. The evening entertainment defied description - we missed being able to take a walk after eveing meal as hotel is in the suburbs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank folkfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our team of staff at the hotel and your feedback is appreciated.

We have retained the same highly trained and experienced kitchen brigade at the hotel for many years and we believe that the quality and standard of our catering is very good and exceedingly consistent. The only comment we recall receiving in respect of cold food was that our cold mackerel fish starter was too chilled; but this is a matter of taste and the item is chilled to maintain food safety. We are a 100 bedroom hotel and cannot recall any other comment in respect of food temperature.

Our location is outside of the heart of the St. Helier town but this is appreciated by many guests and we provide our guests with the added benefit of a large free car park - which is unusual for Jersey and is a key selling point for the hotel. We have large public areas within the hotel and an all day menu for your convenience. Many guests to venture to our sister hotel, the Best Western Royal Hotel, towards the town centre, and this provides an excellent pub style bar and great catering, both by day and evening, within an easy ten minute stroll.

I do hope that the above helps prospective guests and thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived here after a week staying in a rented cottage in St Aubin's and found the staff very helpful. We stayed in a family room in the Annexe building which was located outside the main hotel, past the swimming pool and up a flight of stairs. The room was somewhat old fashioned but very clean if somewhat cramped with a double bed, bunk bed and an extra single bed which the hotel had kindly put into our room to accommodate our 6ft son who would have struggled with the bunk beds! Toiletries are provided (although they were coconut scented and not to my taste). Tea, coffee and hot chocolate satchets, milk and biscuits were topped up daily and rooms were cleaned with fresh towels daily. The bar area is relaxing and Damien (the Bar Manager) was very helpful at every visit. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of fruit, cheeses, meats, cereals and eggs, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms etc in the hot buffet to choose from. The restaurant staff were very efficient and helpful. If you wish to eat there at night it's best to book in advance although like us you may wish to eat in the more relaxed bar/diner area on demand. We were surprised with the number of senior citizens in residence - it would appear the hotel is a favourite for organized tour groups. It is located a 15 mins walk to the main esplanade of St Helier where you can find lots of little restaurants if you do not wish to stay in the hotel in the evenings. We used the indoor pool which was lovely although the changing area is quite small - only 1 toilet, 2 showers and open plan area to change, no lockers. We were easily able to extend our rental of the room at a £10/hr cost as our ferry was delayed due to engine trouble. I probably would not return to this hotel as I felt the evening entertainment (week nights only in July) catered only for adults and my 12 year old daughter was bored. There are limited facilities for children within the hotel grounds (no play area or games room).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our catering and found the hotel to be convenient for your needs.

Thank you also for your comments in respect of our catering arrangements - we do try hard to meet guest needs as catering is an important part of any hotel stay.

We welcome a range of clients to our AA Three Star hotel and the profile of our guests will vary from day to day - as with most hotels.

I trust that the above comments are helpful. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on the edge of St heiler twice before, in 2005 and 2006 and we can say that the hotel is much the same as it was six whole years ago. Except for one major thing Fernando, the best hotel manager in the island, has left and has been replaced by a new manager. We never seen this manager so can't comment on him but he is not as public as Fernando. The highest person we seen in public is the head of staff in the restaurant, known to us as Mr T, he was very pleasant. Food is just as nice, if not better, salads are massive with what you want on it (ham, cheese, tuna, prawn) and the mash potato the best ever. The only drawback now is the set times for dinner, when we last stayed here it was turn up when you want between 6.30-8.30 now it's set times 6.30/7.00/7.30 and Mr T is saying that a table should be turned around in 45 minutes. Waiting staff in restaurant are very, very good but don't think there is enough of them, maybe this is the reason for set times? Cleanliness is outstanding, best in jersey, if not the other channel island too. Beds feel very worn, even when you are sitting on it. The bed even gave me a sore back. My wife and I kept rolling into the middle of the bed to meet, certainly not pleasant if you knew my wife. Did not sleep at all with bin men coming at 7am. Entertainment varied each evening (not sat/sun when there is none) suites different age group each night. The main shops are 15mins walk, beach 20mins walk. Reception staff can gave plenty of information, very nice but Beatrice, who has left with Fernando is a big miss. Finally if you like good food this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: A room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having recently stayed in this Hotel I have to commend the staff for a happy relaxing stay.The service, food and cleanliness were above average. Only one down the swimming facilities were not ideal for the less able in our party.Entertainment was varied to suit different tastes,as was the daily menu I personally would return to this hotel for a future holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katusha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Property: Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing