We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, very pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stay at this hotel mid October 2011, I think the weekend we left the hotel was closing for the winter. Very good value for money, excellent location for town centre, just on the edge of town, easy walk, 5mins.

Staff were extremely good, reception, bar and restaurant.

I have stayed at a few hotels in Jersey, all around the same price as this one, but this was the best by far.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grange2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 548 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here for 5 days in October, two over 60's and our daughter and 14 year old granddaughter.
It is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. The pool was great and not at all crowded.
The real pleasure is the staff , all of whom are extremely helpful.
Nice restaurant and bar area. Food good and plentiful.
Great value for money

Room Tip: We were up at the top, very quiet and nice size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akh1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was a short trip with my mother who has walking difficulties and has not been away for a while and we were made so welcome by all the staff. The Manager was polite, attentive and extremely friendly and entertaining. The staff were all friendly, efficient helpful and very welcoming and caring. The accomodation was comfortable and clean and the standard of cuisine was very high, coupled with good service.
We are both originally Jersey born and think this hotel and its staff are a credit to the island and we wll be going back on our next visit.

Room Tip: Check lift access if required
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caseyci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

place was spotless, nothing was to much trouble. Room was always kept clean. Food excellent. Staff polite, helpful and friendly. would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a wonderful joyful Hotel, the accomadation basic, but the staff very warm and hospitable. Fiona on reception was Brilliant. The breakfast was yummy and plentiful, we didnt have to eat at lunch time, was that HUGE mmmmm. Swimming pool not big but ample for the wifes morn / eveing dip.
Just one let down, like a number of Hotels, they dont use tomato sauce in a bottle, its the plastic satches.
We went last week and had a good time, Jersey is beautiful, you must visit the convesation Zoo. I didnt Like ST Hellier full of shops ha, visited west and all the south coast, which are beautiful.
The bus service in Jersey excellant, we found it cheaper paying each journey, rather than a day rover, the bus drivers are friendly, Knowlagble and happy to help.

Room Tip: Room 42 at the back was brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have just returned from 5 days at the Norfolk lodge,and on the whole had a very pleasant stay. The staff stand out for the high quality of service they give, although it must be said that there were simply not enough of them in the Dining room, where the service of drinks with Breakfast & Dinner was particularly slow.
We were on half board, the breakfast was always hot with plenty of choice. Dinner was also generally good, except for the sunday night carvery - the meat was excellent, but the rest of the meal tasted like it had been kept warm for hours - not good.
We had to change our room after the first two nights (Room 2), as it was right next to the outside entrance to the kitchen, and was noisy from 6:00am. Our request for a change was dealt with swiftly and politely, and the new room (51) was excellent. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
We did not use the pool, but it appeared to be clean and well managed.
With a little attention to the fine detail, this would be an excellent hotel for a break in Jersey.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms could be noisy from Car Park & Kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We just got back from a week in the Norfolk lodge hotel and i have to say it would be hard to beat.The accomadation is all that i had read up on through trip advisor and the location fairly central being a ten minute stroll from the main shopping areas.The real asset for this hotel is its staff,they are ever ready to serve you or book trips or taxis whenever you need always with a smile or a welcoming comment.If I had to single out one member of staff,it would have to be the Manager Fernando.For the whole time we were there he always found time to get around all the guests and chat with them or make sure that they were being looked after but most of all he had them in stitches with his endless yarns and jokes while at the same time ensuring that the premises and services were maintained to the highest standard.The food in the restraunt was very good and the menue changed daily.I will put in one tip though and suggest that before you go to bed close the windows to block out the noise of the early morning traffic heading for the city centre.Apart from that it is a super hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ciscoDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
#17 of 32 in St. Helier
618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Helier
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#15 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $101 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing