We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveler rating
321
117
35
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
117
35
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bushot tubred squirrelsour waiterwest hillpoolside barminibus servicegarden furnitureno liftevening entertainmenthotel ownersnothing is too much troublelovely weekfellow guestsfamily holidaygreat holidayfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 488 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have just shared 4 great days at this Hotel. The owner being a motor enthusiast himself ensured that our every need was met, even advising on a good local mechanic when a breakdown was encountered by two of our party. Rooms were clean and tidy food was good and plentiful. If you are thinking of a classic car trip to Jersey then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room, it will cost about £5.. extra but well worth it for the views over the gardens and surroundings.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RElli0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. It is very much appreciated by all the staff especially after an extremely busy year. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again in the future. Happy motoring!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is rated as 2 best in st helier on trip advisor and that is the reason I booked it ,however when we arrived we were shocked how old fashioned it was ,the decor and furniture was so dated and tired we felt we had stepped back into the 80s. The restaurant manager was very domineering and patronising and we were told where to sit like little children The food was repeated exactly the same for our second week although it was well cooked it was boring in presentation and recipes . I would not recommend this hotel for anyone under 60 ,I had a look at other hotels in st Helier and they were far superior and elegant it has totally put me off ever using trip advisor again .y

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Krystyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

You say you were shocked how old fashioned the decor way. I'm just as surprised you didn't mention this to me during one of our many chats. The staff and I were certainly under the impression you both were enjoying yourselves and having a nice holiday. I must agree that the room you occupied is as you put it "dated and felt like stepping back into the 80's". Unfortunately, times are rather 'tough' at the moment and we have to priorities what funds we have to spend within the whole hotel. However I am glad to announce that this winter one complete wing comprising of 17 bedrooms (which includes room occupied by you) is to under go a total refurbishment. I am sorry to hear you found the food to be boring even though we offer a variety of choices for each course. The entire team has worked extremely hard this season and it shows the fact that the hotel has managed to achieved 2nd best hotel in St Helier on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our club had wanted to come to jersey for many months eventually 10 classic/vintage cars arrived last weekend. We had the best weekend ever, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff they were brilliant. The food was excellant even when catering for the very busy Saturday evening when we had 40 people for dinner.... No problem for Jon and his team. We made use of the hot tub and the swimming pool in the lovely gardens where it was very pleasant to sit or have a walk before going off on pre arranged treasure hunts etc. There were suggestions that maybe the club should return here at sometime, I would definitely be up for that!
Thanks and well done to all at Westhill

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DAVID N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm glad to hear you all had a great time on Jersey. We all enjoyed having you stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The service at the Westhill is outstanding and nothing is too much trouble. It is a family run hotel and it shows by the friendly, efficient and polite staff, all of who make sure your stay is the best. The hotel is a few years old but more rooms are being renovated this winter and the accommodation is very comfortable. We rarely stay more than once in a location, but we would happily stay here again and look forward to a future return visit.

Room Tip: There isn't a lift so if stairs are a problem you may wish to book a ground floor room. The hotel is located on the edge of town so we didn't find noise a problem and slept with the window open.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wobblyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for all your kind comments. We close for the winter on Sunday 5 October and refurbishment work to start straight way. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Returned home a week ago,spent a wonderful week at the Westhill.
We were made most welcome from arrival onwards,everyone so friendly,nothing too much trouble.
Room was basic but spotless as was the whole Hotel.
Booked on a B&B basis,good choice of Breakfast,cooked breakfast excellent.Our waiter Fabio gave us excellent service.
Spent many hours in the lovely gardens,just chilling out especially as we had the bonus of sunny weather.
Marek & Harry kept us supplied with drinks.
Will definitely return again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Looby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for writing your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews