We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
323
118
36
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
118
36
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtesy bus hot tub red squirrels our waiter west hill poolside bar minibus service garden furniture no lift evening entertainment hotel owners nothing is too much trouble lovely week fellow guests family holiday great holiday first class
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 492 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned home from another relaxing week's holiday at the Westhill. I think this must be our eighteen holiday at this Hotel, so you can guess we really loved it at the Westhill. Can we just say a big thank you to Matthew and his wife Lena for making us feel very welcome once again, also Sofia and her team at Reception. To Nelo and his team in the Restaurant. Big thank you to Fabio our waiter for the week also Carlos again very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a real homely and friendly atmosphere.( Home from Home. ) Thank you all again for a great Holiday. Hope to see you all again next year.( Only downfall our Room was between to very heavy snoring people at night. Hard to get to sleep with the snoring) Didn't put us off fun to listen too and we knew they were happy and content.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emilyatwellbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSmale, Owner at Westhill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Many thanks for your review and very kind comments. I have of course, printed out your review for all the staff to read which they always appreciate - especially when they are complimentary!!!

We hope to be able to welcome you here again in the near future.

Jonathan Smale
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my first stay at the Westhill although my travelling companions had stayed a few times previously.

The pool is very nice and the grounds are immaculately cared for.

The food is very good value for money. There is plenty of choice and the portion sizes are generous. The restaurant staff are helpful, especially Carlos who served our table each day.

The rooms are large but are starting to look slightly outdated and could possibly do with being refurbished and the tv was tiny.

However, its fantastic value for money and i'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_J_C_1_2_3_4_5_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Westhill staying for 11 nights in July, and yet again were made to feel very welcome. The rooms overlooking the pool were spacious, very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed.
The staff are very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Matthew Jonathan & Lena have a great team working for them and the hotel has a real friendly and homely atmosphere.
The gardens are beautiful and very well tendered. Also the pools are always very clean with plenty of sunbeds available.
The food is brilliant and yet again Nelo and his team were always so pleasant and friendly. Joanna our waitress was really friendly and very efficient, also Carlos again very helpful, funny, and efficient.
The soups were amazing so full of flavour, compliments to the chef David, the food was excellent.
If you fancy a golfing day, Matthew and Jonathan are always happy to oblige.
The whole hotel and gardens has a lovely relaxing feel and you are always made to feel very welcome there. Would definitely recommend. Relax and enjoy!
Looking forward to returning again soon.
Thanks again for a great holiday. From the Rigby/Williams families

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool and garden were lovely
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnKen367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to Westhill. This year it was better than ever. The staff are terrific, from Sofia and her team, at reception to Nelo and his group in the restaurant. Our waiter, Julio, was so kind, as were his two colleagues, Carlos and Fabio, who also served at tables near ours. The rooms are very well serviced by a kind and considerate household staff. Everyone goes out of their way to be helpful. Staying at the Westhill is a lovely, relaxing, experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReddOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our fifth stay at The Westhill, again very helpful staff nice rooms at the front of the hotel food was good also lovely warm sunny weather for use of the gardens, pool and hot tub. Would still highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank oftentravel186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews