We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westhill Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Have just returned from 5th visit to Jersey and 4th stay at Westhill. The hotel continues to go from strengh to strength with the decor, food and entertainment. Matthew, Jonathan and Lena are first class hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them. This clearly has a great impact on their staff who are so friendly, helpful and willing to assist. Everyone from the moment we entered reception made our stay so enjoyable. Our waiter was very efficient, the food well cooked, hot and a varied choice, the girls at the bar always had a smile on their face and the standard of cleanlness was excellent. We asked for a downstairs room due to walking problems and couldn't have been any nearer. To do so we would have been sleeping in reception! Thank you so much Sofia.
The large car park is a bonus as parking is non exsistant at some hotels on the island.
The restuarant manager is also very on the ball, we had been seated by a window which caused some problems getting in and out of, as soon as another table became vacant he asked if we would like to move. We did and were able to keep the same waiter who was so efficient.
Why people feel the need to critise this hotel on minor things like firmness of beds,standard of food, service in restaurant amuses me. These are all personal preferences and as we all know it wouldn't do for us all to be the same.
Having stayed a another hotel on the island which was a 3 star I chose to return to Westhill because of the standards they have.
Over the past 8 years I have seen numerous changes to the hotel and can only applaud them on what has been achived so far. It is also good to see the same staff returning year after year.
This must be a good sign that the managment are a great team-not something you find too often these days.
Keep up the great work Westhill-you have a fantastic hotel and a great team of staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms are in need of modernisation the beds aren’t great and the shower was temperamental (You will dance in and out as the temperature goes from hot to cold and on some occasions the water would just stop coming out!). But all that didn’t seem to matter as the hotel staff are friendly and the service is good although the breakfast buffet and dinner was average. Most of the guests staying here are retired so if you’re looking for a quiet stay then this is the place. We had a lovely view of the pool and gardens from our room and they are also well worth using and exploring. The hotel and pool were cleaned every morning and our rooms were also spotless, if only a little dated. Some people have mentioned about the hospital incinerator and sewage works and this was a concern for us but must admit they don’t matter. You can’t see or smell the sewage works and the incinerator chimney is not used but you can see it, which can come in handy when you’re trying to find your way back to the hotel. The entertainment provided is good but not to my taste. The docile dogs are lovely and an asset to the hotel. Good car park provided with plenty of room. Location is set about 20 mins walk from St Helier but is a very steep walk up a hill to get to the hotel. If your young and fit it’s not a problem if you want to have dinner and few drinks out in St Helier but if not a courtesy bus runs down to the town at set times. If you’re not planning on spending much time at the hotel and are on budget then I would recommend the West Hill. If your looking for action/dancing/drinking etc then this is not for you.

Room Tip: No lift so make sure you dont get top floor if you struggle with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salvador76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a lovely 4 day break, no complaints about this hotel, yes it isn't the most modern hotel and the floorboards squeak, but everyone was having a great time, Entertainment was better than expected, especially the classical guitarist who put on an extremely professional show. Most guests had been before which is always a good sign. Keep up th good work and thanks again for taking care of us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We first stayed at the Westhill back in 2009 and were delighted to return to this lovely hotel again in 2012.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff and shown to our family room on the first floor. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and bunks with a garden view.

We stayed on a half board basis, and once again the food at this hotel was excellent, offering a good choice and variety of dishes. The waiting staff were friendly, attentive and professional.
Whilst we were staying, my husband celebrated his birthday. I had asked the hotel in advance if they could provide a bottle of wine and a cake in the evening for him, which they did. The cake was amazing!
Nothing ever seems to be too much trouble for the staff here - they really do go that extra mile to make your stay stress-free, relaxing and enjoyable.

I personally found the pool a bit chilly at first but I soon got used to it and I was able to warm up in the hot tub after a good swim!
The boys enjoyed spashing around in the pool and made good use of the play area and sand pit. There is plenty of space for children to run around safely and play a game of football without disturbing other guests.
The poolside bar offers free towels for pool use only and is also a good place to get a drink and order snacks. Staff regularly walk around the pool side asking if they can get you any drinks, snacks or extra towels.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained, offering secluded spots to sit quietly.

The hotel's courtesy bus into St Helier runs efficiently with friendly and knowledgable drivers. Once in the town centre you are able to catch clean and reliable public transport to any area of this beautiful island.

We were all sorry to leave and will definately return to this wonderful little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Definately worth paying the extra supplement for a pool view or garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HEJC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Westhill. It has been 7 years since out last visit, but everything was just as we remembered. All the staff were welcoming, helpful, friendly and very hard-working.
The outside of the hotel was immaculately kept - gardens, pool and play area. The pool was abit cool for me, but the kids loved it and also the hot tub.
The restaurant was well organised and the food good. A large selection for breakfast, from cereals, fruit and croissants to the Full English (and every possible variation!). Evening meals were 3 courses plus coffee, and has something for everyone. As a previous reviewer has said, the Childrens menu was more basic (Fish Fingers/Burger/Nuggets/Pizza etc) but still good - and there was usually something on the main menu for the kids - they even managed to rustle up bananas and custard on request!
Our room was a spacious triple with a very large bathroom (with bath and shower over), and other members of the party had equally spacious bedrooms with an adequate bathroom with walk-in shower. We were pleasantly surprised that all the rooms were cleaned, beds remade and towels changed on a daily basis.
My only complaint with the accommodation is the noise - squeaky floorboards/ceilings, but it certainly did not impact too much on a fabulous holiday, and I'm hoping that it won't be another 7 years before we return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weekesyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We would like to say a big thankyou for helping make this week weve spent at Westhill a really lovely one. The staff were freindly ,helpful and couldnt do enough to make sure that we and everyone else had a lovely time. The hotel isnt modern but theve done a good job in making every area comfortable and bright.The dining room is well laid out and the staff are all very attentetive. The menu is different every day and very nice.
The grounds and pools are first class and we looked forward to a nice walk or to sit with a drink in the gardens after exploring the island. We will be going back to this hotel next time we go to Jersey .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pudsyadonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recentley returned from a week long stay at the Westhill Hotel in Jersey. I decided to write my first ever review as we were so impressed with the hotel. The staff were extremley plesant and could'nt do enough for you. The rooms were basic but comfortable and cleaned to a high standard every day including clean towels and bedding. We booked half board option and we are so glad we did. The staff in the restaurant were so friendly and welcoming, and the food was beautiful. Something different every night and it was of a high standard 4 courses if you include the coffee at the end, well worth the upgrade. They also had a childrens menu or they could eat off the adults. The pool area was lovely the kids loved it out there and if it got cool then you could nip into the hot tub. There was a play area for the children to keep them entertained which included a sand pit for the little ones. The grounds of the hotel were all kept clean and tidy and to a high standard. I would highly recommended the hotel for couples and families alike, and the entertainment on an evening was good to end a busy day. The only downfall of the hotel is that there isnt a lift. We have a 19 month old baby and wanted to keep his pram in our room so we had to carry it upstairs. It would'nt put us off going again as we are going to re-book for next year, but its maybe something they could consider.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.2 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 31 in St. Helier
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 31 in St. Helier
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St. Helier
916 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westhill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westhill Country Hotel

Address: Mon-a-l'Abbe, St. Helier JE2 3HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $102 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westhill Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matthew and Jonathan wish you a very warm welcome to the Westhill Country Hotel which has been owned and run by the family for over forty years. We take pride in providing enjoyment; relaxation and value have been our standards since the hotel began. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westhill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westhill Hotel St Helier
Westhill Country Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing