We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best two star I've visited!”
Review of Stafford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel very well situated for the town, bus station and St Aubin's bay. We were a bit sceptical re the two star, On our arrival we were greeted very cheerfully by the receptionist,and given all info' required for our stay. the bedroom was adequate.--clean, tidy and the bed comfortable. Meals were very good especially the breakfast and noticed a few of the men returning for more and who could blame them. Evening meals were plenty enough for myself but guess the menfolk could have done with a few more veg'.---none the less they were enjoyable and well presented.The staff were particularly pleasant, and thoroughly deserved a good tip!
All in all a very happy stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 314 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at the Stafford. Hotel decor is dated but clean. Good Breakfast and Evening meal, there is a small bar if you fancied a drink. Excellent location, 5 minutes from the centre of St Helier. Staff all polite and friendly. We had lovely weather while we were there which meant we had to leave the window open at night, which was very noisy. As previously mentioned, the cafe/bar across the road was used by what must be partially deaf clientel who felt the need to sit around tables into the small hours shouting to each other. There was also quite a bit of noise from late night revellers coming home or going out. I would ask for a room away from the front of the hotel if I went there again. The shower was very poor, you had to run around to get wet.
I think the hotel was good value for money, we had a great time, loved Jersey and would go back.
The choice you have is, pay more and get something more modern and possibly quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouse10Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel staff friendly. Yes it's not the most up to date place to stay but it was satisfactory. Meals were ok. Nothing to write home about. Frozen veg and what appeared to be tinned new pots not appealing. Buttered fish turned out to be battered fish, frozen and not properly cooked. Not happy when we returned it.! Made to wait for further service.... Breakfasts really good. Plenty of choice. Receptionist, local girl, really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanddunes47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

just returned from a week in jersey where we stayed at the stafford hotel, the hotel is dated but generally ok, the staff were helpfull, they let us leave our bags whilst we went out on our last day, and the buffet breakfast is pretty good, (nice bacon, scrambled egg etc), the hotel is less than 2 minutes walk from the seafront, and a further 5 minutes to the bus station, you can also walk into the town centre in about 5 minutes so the hotel has much going for it BUT the road it is on is VERY noisey, it seems to be a short cut for the early morning traffic which use it like a race track and there is also a VERY noisey "coffee shop"????? across the road with people shouting etc, i struggled to sleep with the noise so please bear in mind if your a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Stafford for 2 nights in August 2012. The price was about the lowest I could find anywhere in St Helier. The Stafford is marketed as a budget hotel and while it is a bit dated and basic there are a few added extras that make the price well worth the stay.

First was free wifi, not an essential but it meant we could easily check the weather forecasts and plan where to go and what to do, check prices etc.

The hotel is really well situated, 10 minutes walk from the ferry port and 5 minutes from the main shopping area of St Helier

We also had 2 bikes with us that I didn't want to leave locked on the street. The Stafford is happy to accommodate bikes, and let us store them in what looked like a disused bar next to reception. I would still recommend locking your bike to be on the safe side but this is still a lot safer than locked to a random lamp post.

You have to check out by 10.00 but our ferry did not leave until 17:00, again the Stafford were happy for us to store our bags with our bikes.

The rooms are very dated, but clean and tidy and the beds are comfortable.

The Stafford doesn't pretend to be anything other than a budget hotel, but does the basics well, so I am happy to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Paul1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Apart from the food, and dining staff, which were both excellent, I found this the most miserable place to stay in the world. The rooms were grotty, the staff couldn't smile, and it was so gloomy, it felt like a prison. Unless you just need a bed to crash on for a night, spend a bit more and go for somewhere more comfy, and happier. Horrid place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldlywise333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

For a budget hotel we thought this very good. The rooms were clean, the food was good and the staff pleasent. The hotel is in easy reach of sea front, ferry terminal, bus depot and shops. We would recomend the Stafford to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bonywow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.3 mi away
Mountview
Mountview
#25 of 31 in St. Helier
229 reviews
0 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#11 of 31 in St. Helier
993 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talana Hotel
Talana Hotel
#3 of 5 in St.Saviour
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#20 of 31 in St. Helier
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#15 of 31 in St. Helier
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $70 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stafford Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel St Helier
Stafford Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing