We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value , Quality food , exceptional staff”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value , Quality food , exceptional staff”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Chose this hotel on our first visit to Jersey mainly because of the good reviews previously posted and the good offers available at the time of booking. Our stay mon-fri included the evening meals that surpassed all expectations with an excellent and varied choice on offer each night.
The service from the young staff was exceptional .Breakfast was self service style , again with no shortage of choice.
The room we were allocated was spacious, clean ,presentable and kitted out with the usual TV, Tea/Coffee making facillities and trouser press (for my jeans ! )
The hotel offers a small indoor pool with an attached mini spa bath .both ideal for a relaxing break in the day providing not being used by too many others.The outdoor pool is slightly bigger .The mini gym is just that ..mini ! and seemed unusued during my visit.
The hotel is a good 10 minute walk into the main shopping area .
My only criticsm would be the lack of entertainment ..There was not a lot going on in the evening in St Hellier and more effort could have been made to help occupy time,even if just a quiz . Once a week a couple of local cabaret singers do just that .
Big tip for first timers to the island.Hire a car and buy the Jersey Pass ..two days for £32 may seem expensive but it gives you access to a host of local attractions and soon gives you value for money as you can soon nip around the beautiful island with ease.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordstudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    257
    78
    11
    12
See reviews for
164
373
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My partner & i stayed at The Monterey Hotel for 4 nights on a B&B basis it was our first trip to Jersey & i picked this hotel after reading good reviews on Trip Advisor, it did not disappoint!! We booked a superior room which although not as big as i'd expected was very comfortable & had patio style doors that opened on to the sun terrrace by the outdoor pool. The weather was glorious for our stay & being able to open our bedroom door & step straight out on to a sun lounger was perfect. The leisure facilities was very good we used both swimming pools, the spa, steam room & mini gym during our stay & most of the time we had these all to ourselves, i think this due to average age of the other guests seeming to be around 70 years of age! We were by far the youngest guests which may have been because it was early july & not school holiday time, this was however a real bonus to us.
The breakfasts are excellent a self service buffet which suited us just fine & we ate very well every morning. We didnt eat at the hotel in the evening as it was a pleasant 10 mins walk into St Helier town centre where we found some lovely places to eat. We throughly enjoyed our holiday, the hotel staff were all very friendly (we even had a complimentery bottle of champange delivered to our room shortly after arrival as we were celebrating my 40th birthday!!) & assisted us in hiring a car which turned out to be vital so we could see all that Jersey had to offer. To sum up i would recommend the Monterey to anyone wanting a hotel close to but not right in the centre of St Helier which does a good breakfast & offers excellent leisure facilities in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGAHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We booked direct with the hotel a few weeks prior to arriving and received a discount of 10%. Booked a superior room 402 and was well pleased no noise. The room was spacious and beds very comfortable tea/coffee facilities,no air.con but was supplied with a fan FOC The bathroom was also spacious and had a shower over the bath and the towels were replaced daily. The hotel was well staffed all were very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble. We booked B/B but ate in the hotel as it had such a good choice of menu for dinner and the cost was very reasonable. A good selection for breakfast including a full english breakfast. Impressed with indoor & outdoor pools kept very clean, sun beds & towels supplied.
Perfect place for a relaxing & restfull holiday

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Enjoyed my stay staff,however I booked a superior room and don't believe I got one.As a standard 3 star room it just passed muster as a superior room never.Not room for the limited furniture and very small shower,330 can not be classed as a superior room.
Plus points good breakfast ,friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancsOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My first stay on Jersey but my husband's second (he went in 1961 when he was 5). Stayed at the Monterey 28/6 - 2/7/10. Definitely worth its three star status. The staff are excellent and very obliging. The hotel is very clean and well presented (not tired or dated as previously stated). It would benefit for having air-conditioning in bedrooms but we were supplied with an electric fan which was more than adequate. The breakfast was good and the dining room was very clean and pleasant. The outdoor pool area was good and the temperature of the water ambient. The indoor leisure centre was well equipped for the standard of the hotel. The location of the hotel is a little bit out of town but if you enjoy a 10 minute walk you will be in the main shopping area and 15 minutes will get you down to the coast - in saying this it is very well placed on a bus route which will take you down to Liberation Square giving transport access to all the island. We hired a car and toured the island - must recommend Plemont Bay and Greve de Lecq Bay for swimming and sunbathing. We also visited Mont Orgeuil Castle, Durrell Wildlife Park, German Tunnels, Elizabeth Castle, Gorey harbour, St Aubin Town and Harbour, St Brelade's Bay, St Helier Maritime Museum and the magnificent Occupation Tapestry, all of which were unmissable and, when a charge was applicable, very good value for money. The only slight blip was with the car hire; we hired an air-conditoned car but were delivered one without so please note that all A category cars do not necessarily come with air-conditioning. Howvver this was very efficiently rectified by AVIS with an upgrade free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denby444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. As usual the staff, facilities, food and general quality of the hotel were of a high standard, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. Thanks to all the staff for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

When we arrived my sister and I were greeted with a lovely gentleman at the desk. We found all the staff to be very friendly. We were booked in as half board and the food was really good and always a choice for the evening meal. As this hotel was at the end of the main road we could hear quite a bit of traffic most of the night. Only other fault was the distance from the town centre. We were not told this when we booked. (fault of our travel agent) But I still would go back and take ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicelady1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing