We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great staff”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed them all. Very good staff and the room was very clean. It is a good 10 minute walk from the town centre but at least 2 buses stop outside and the cost is only £1.30 if you are too tired to walk up the hill (timetable available at reception). These same buses take you all round the island so its worth a trip just to get your bearings. Breakfasts were super with lots of choice . Wifi is available in the rooms . Didnt use the pool so can't comment on that. Will stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank julesfevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Monterey to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary on what was our first visit to Jersey. We had booked a standard double room, which was exactly as described, compact but with adequate room for both of us, a comfortable bed and a supply of hot water for the bath although the bathroom was a tight squeeze, but hey, we were here to enjoy the wonderful island, not spending excessive amounts of time in our bathroom.
We had taken advantage of an offer with our holiday company to take our evening meal for only £5 each per evening and approached this with at least if we eat only a couple of times in the week it will have saved us some time and money, what we discovered was that the food, the restaurant staff and the service was exceptional. We were treated over the week to a fantastic selection of menus which gave us the opportunity to try all sorts of dishes and be thoroughly spoilt by the waiting and bar staff, for whom nothing was too much.
With an ideal location, a short walk into the bustling St Helier main town and on the A7 for easy access to any part of the island, the setting was perfect for us.
Thank you to everyone for making our special week memorable, we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSpinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and booked it for 3 nights.
The minute we arrived in the hotel - the satff were just lovely - super friendly and helpful. We had only stepped in our room when we had a knock at the door and we were given a bottle of sparkly stuff - to say "happy birthday" to my husband - a lovely and unexpected touch.

The room was a little dated - but the bed was comfy and the room & bathroom were spotless.

Wi-fi in the room was very, very sporadic but worked like a dream on the ground floor.

Buffet breakfast was great - amazing scrambled eggs and lovely bacon (along with usual stuff), coffee was brought to the table and the staff again were really lovely.

Hotel maybe a 15-20 minute walk down in to main St Helier.

The reception staff organised car hire for us - and had a car on its way to the hotel within 30 mins!! We also then had free parking at front of the hotel.

All in a wee gem of a place. I would just say if Wi-Fi is important - maybe get a room closer to the ground floor (we were on the 3rd).

Room Tip: Close to ground level if looking for a wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisybeedesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We spent 5 days half board in this hotel. We had superior room which was fab. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned and towels changed every day. The breakfast and dinner were lovely with a lovely choice !! Well presented and good choice. The indoor pool was a nice size for me, steam room lovely and had whirlpool all to myself !!! The deal with condor ferries was really good got one night free when booked 5 nights and therefore good value for money!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have massive space with huge double bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

8 of us enjoyed a 3 night stay could not find fault with the hotel very clean, excellent breakfast, staff very friendly, service very good, will go back again, 10 minute walk to town centre good base to explore jersey

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houseoflords1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, efficient and informative. Although we were only staying as B&B we still ate at the hotel restaurant two of the four days we were there, also using the sister hotel just down the road, the food was excellent value. There were two couples and we had rooms overlooking the pool which were comfortable and quiet. All facilities were readily available. The hotel location was a short walk into the town centre and then onwards to the waterfront. Finally as one of the couples were celebrating birthday and wedding anniversary during their stay, prior instructions for flowers/champagne in the room was awaiting us on our arrival and were exactly as ordered, our thanks was given to all staff on our departure.
Thanks once again everyone at The Monterey for such a memorable and happy stay and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are more quiet than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at this lovely quiet hotel. The facilities are first class with an indoor and outdoor pool. The staff very helpful and friendly in both reception and restaurant and Bar. Our room on the top floor overlooking the pool was comfortable, clean and quiet.
I certainly looked forward to Breakfast which were hearty and set me off for the day and we also had Dinner on a couple of evenings and the food was excellent.
We would certainly return and stay again and also recommend friends.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool are sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
#14 of 31 in St. Helier
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $105 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing