We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked for 6 days through travel firm as reviews looked great. First impression was, oh, oh, location not good! The hotel is at the junction of two very noisy roads. The walk to the City Centre is quite easy and takes between 10-15 minutes. St.Helier is busy and crowded. The hotel will have a struggle to rise above 3 Star rating. Although, the rooms were spotless and quite comfortable, they had their drawbacks. No decent outlook from our room was similar, it seems, to all the others. The room was small and the very small bathroom had no extractor fan. Decor was tired and dated and as the weather was hot, got very warm as windows were kept closed due to traffic noise.( Ask at Reception for a fan.) The pool area was pleasant but a lack of sunshades prevented us from enjoying a dip in the pool. Now the plusses! The staff are absolutely superb. From Reception to the Restaurant staff they cannot be faulted. They are smart, polite, efficient and very friendly. 10/10 for the Staff. The food was also very good, although Breakfast choices were poor.The Island is lovely with loads to do. If churches are your thing, please pay a visit to St.Brelades overlooking the sea. It is glorious! And the beaches! Wonderful! Also pay a visit to the Jersey War Tunnels. But take a woolly! It gets cold inside. All in all, we would definitely vist Jersey again.

Room Tip: Top floor rear is best. (We think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perranporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 768 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at The Monterey Hotel in St Helier, at the beginning of July 2013.
It was a very pleasant stay, with a large clean room, and excellent service from all the staff.
Breakfast every morning could not be faulted, and we took advantage of the (limited) gym facilities and both the indoor and outdoor pools.
It is pretty conveniently situated for a reasonable walk into town and the harbour.
We will certainly book into this holiday in the future, and will do so when we return next June.

Room Tip: Choose the larger rooms on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool terrace. Nicer and quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for one week with a walking group. Lovely hotel - clean, comfortable. Good spa facilities (swimming and Jacuzzi). Excellent food with good service. Well-trained and helpful, friendly staff. The fact that the hotel was about 25 minutes walk from the town did not worry us as we were on a walking holiday! Would definitely stay there again! LFG

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our standard room was very clean and comfortable. A good choice of food at breakfast and the evening meals were excellent value. Good choice of menu and all the staff well trained and polite. The leisure centre is very small and I enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool. The hotel is out of town and the buses run infrequently from outside the hotel. It took us 20 minutes to walk into town. If you don't mind the walk into town I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the road are noisy at times. If you would like a quiet room ask for one ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in the Monterey Hotel for a week and had a very enjoyable holiday. The hotel was very clean and the food was good. We especially liked the indoor pool and gym area. The hotel was a little way out of town but the walk through the park was very pleasant. What really made our stay special was the care and attention of the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful and always smiling. We found Diana the general manager to be particularly helpful. We would definitely stay in the Monterey again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 2nd to 6th July and had a lovely time. We had room 212 and my dad had room 211, both were very spacious with views of the outdoor pool. The bed was king size and extremely comfortable. The food in the restaurant was lovely and plenty of it, we were half board but you could also order for a supplement from the a la carte menu. The staff were constantly coming round asking if you required anything else i.e coffee, more toast etc.

The age range was mixed whilst we were there and everyone, whether young or old, were very pleasant.

My dad is 86 and had no trouble walking into town, it took about 15 minutes walking steadily. There were various routes into town but if you do need a rest, there is a lovely little park near the Co-op.

The staff, including cleaners, reception, bar & restaurant were all very hard working & helpful. All in all, we had a very nice time and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chzeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Although we were a lot younger than the other visitors to the hotel, we enjoyed our stay there. The room was large and clean, the staff very friendly, and it was not too far to walk into the main town area. I agree with one of the reviewers about constantly asking for refills of coffee and orange juice at breakfast time, but overall, we were happy with the whole experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and our room was at the end of the corridor, so we did not have many peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $104 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing