We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey mini break, 2 retired teachers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jersey mini break, 2 retired teachers”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A friendly staff from receptionist to cleaning staff. We stayed breakfast only, you could help yourself to as much as you wanted which was well cooked. The waiters and waitresses were attentive and eager to top up your drinks and toast etc. One night we had a bar snack which was very tasty. Although we dined out most nights, we always popped in the bar for a few drinks and my wife enjoyed the liqueur coffees.
The rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean.The indoor swimming pool was a bonus and the car park always had space for our hired car. Touring the island was easy, as nowhere is more than 30 minutes away from the hotel.
As I relax back in my own home, I have happy thoughts re- our hotel and holiday on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool, mainly because it's quiet being on the side of the hotel away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    248
    77
    9
    11
See reviews for
153
365
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our thanks to all the staff of this wonderful hotel for our wonderful 6 day stay with you. Nothing was too much trouble and anything asked of them, they gladly carried out there duties with a smile and a curtious thankyou. We have stayed previously at the Norfolk Lodge, a sister Morvan hotel and We can honestly say that when you leave after your stay you certainly can say you had the Morvan experience. The food was absolutely first class and we highly recommend the half board option. Thankyou The Monterey and all your staff on behalf of our very thankful parents and my wife and I for a wonderful time. See you on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a long week-end to celebrate our 35 wedding anniversary. It was rather last minute but we were not disappointed. The hotel has a large car park and is a pleasant flat walk into the town centre especially through the Millenium Park. We were warmly greeted and given a pack of information leaflets including a map of St Helier and of the island. We had a comfortable bedroom with French windows that opened out onto the outside pool area. Everything was immaculately clean and the fluffy towels were changed at our request each day. Toiletries were provided. There is however no air conditioning, which for 10 months of the year, doesn't matter. Speaking to a member of staff on departure, we were advised that we should have asked for a fan which would have been supplied and which would have been more than adequate. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold. The 3 course evening meals were equally as good. We found that it was only necessary to buy drinks during the day. The staff were welcoming, friendly ,extremely efficient and courteous without being intrusive. An excellent find in St Helier !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNorthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a great hotel. good location from the town centre, only a 10 minute walk.
It's hard to say if the staff or the food was the best bit of the hotel but both are above and beyond what you expect from a hotel. The food is to die for breakfast and dinner , the staff are very helpful and jovial all the time.the whole hotel is spotlessly clean including your room. The only one criticism i could think of was maybe aircon would be nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul121dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. These are much appreciated.

Re: Air conditioning - This is not a common facility in Jersey hotel bedrooms mainly because of our location. Being located on an Island in the English Channel we benefit from the moderating influence, upon our night time temperatures, of the sea in the summer which is never far away. The sea acts to reduce night time temperatures making temperatures fall at night more so than would happen on a large land mass in mid-summer. We do provide fans though, on request, for bedrooms.

I hope that this gives some explanation as to our situation here in Jersey - relative to your comment on provision of air conditioning in bedrooms.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night break in Jersey. We stayed at the Monterey Hotel in St Helier. The hotel was a very clean warming and tidy hotel. We were greeted on arrival by a very helpful and accommodating member of staff. We had received a complimentary upgrade to a superior room which very large, good comfortable beds plenty of storage and lots of of coat hangars. The bathroom was just a bath with a shower over, no shower cubicle,and bit small in comparison to the room but of no real consequence. TV and coffee making facilities in the room, Breakfast was buffet style although some additional items could be ordered through the staff who supplied endless tranches of toast and coffee/tea. Evening meals were chosen from a small but well varied menu and was waiter/waitress served. All the staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. Would we consider returning,, most definitely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We came for a relaxing, comfortable holiday and got exactly what we came for. The foundation was the hotel which met all our requirements, especially as I am partly disabled. The staff were extremely helpful on all occasions. In particular the ones in the dining room were not only efficient but also courteous Our room was pleasant, on the ground floor and was also clean and tidy overlooking the outdoor swimming pool which was kept clean and the sun-loungers straightened every day.
The reception area was always staffed and able to offer advice about places to visit, parking on the island as we were in our own car, complete with mobile scooter! A parking ticket [free] issued by the hotel ensured parking in a bay for the disabled.
The breakfast set-up was of the highest quality offering a range and choice that would satisfy anyone.[ including kippers and porridge]
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Jersey. If we were to come to Jersey in the future we would definitely use the "Monterey".

Room Tip: ground floor useful for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We would thoroughly recommend this as a perfect hotel to take your family. Our children are aged 4, 2 and 5 months.We were all made to feel very welcome by all the staff, managers, receptionists, waiters/waitresses, bar staff, porters and cleaners. Indeed we had much better customer service in this 3 star hotel than other 4/5 star establishments we have visited in the past. As other reviewers have noted we found the room extremely clean. We had asked for a fridge and a travel cot. They were in the room when we arrived. The room was always well stocked with a large selection of refreshments, toiletries and towels. The food in the restaurant was superb with a variety of choices each night and good portion sizes. The children's menu was very suitable for our children's taste. On two nights there were live musicians. They were very talented and very enjoyable to the whole family. We could go on and on about this hotel. We found no fault with it and would without hesitation recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant holiday whilst travelling with a young family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGGGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,771 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
1,432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
780 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Property: Monterey Hotel
Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing