We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday on Jersey”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

2nd September. We have just returned from a 1week holiday at the Monterey.From the moment we arrived the staff were very professional,friendly and helpful.We went half board,the buffet breakfast started the day well, the dinner at night was 1st class,our compliments to the chefs, the restaurant staff worked so hard,we were always met with a smile and nothing was too much trouble,a real credit to the hotel.The room was spotless and a very comfortable bed was appreciated after a long happy day.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor facing the pool ,nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 767 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel was a ten minute walk from the main shopping area.
We had a double room on the ground floor next to the outdoor pool.
Bed was really comfortable and room was spacious. Nice and quiet at night especially as we are quite early to sleep.
Breakfast buffet was really good and they will endeavour to provide you with anything not readily available.
We had dinner twice during our stay (once in the restaurant, the other in the bar) and the food was excellent (especially the steak !).
The bar was very comfortable and relaxed.
We made good use of the indoor pool, steam room and jacuzzi which were never over busy.
The staff were wonderful throughout our stay - nothing was too much trouble and they treat you with real respect, patience and always a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skipper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely staff, very friendly especially the front of house staff, room clean and clean towels daily, breakfast good, if you cant see what you like just ask and the staff will bring it for you.. Pool area quite pleasant, use of hotel towels..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012, we were very impressed , the staff are very helpfull, room was nice and a good size, the facilities ( pool and Bar ) are very good, and we couldnt fault the food, we will stay here next year for sure .

Room Tip: We stayed in a side room overlooking the pool, it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kugaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our reservation had not been processed (by a third party) so we weren't expected when we arrived, however the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room we were given was of a good standard, the food was good, and the facilities great, and all the staff bent over backwards to help us with any request. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel apart from one incident in the breakfast room with a member of staff, we drew this to the hotel managers attention who seemed genuine and very sorry going out of her way to resolve the issue. We were then contacted by another manager (Phil I think) who again could not do enough to ensure we were happy.
Obvioulsy things are going to go wrong from time to time but its how these things are dealt with that makes a difference, 10/10 in this case.
Apart from this the hotel was excellent and the rest of the staff superb, reception in particular were very friendly and amusing.
We found the location very good bieng around ten minutes walk into town and having plenty of parking for your hire car which you will need to get the most out of Jersey.
Rooms were clean and smart but a light sleeper may find the traffic noise a little intrusive if you are non the front of the building, still £3.99 for some earplugs will sort that out!!
All in all an excellent stay and we will come back when we return to this beautifull island

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boltonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Excellent Hotel,staff and room. Food and facilities indoor and outdoor pool first class. Everything was perfect. Will definately stay here again as a base for Island as only 15 mins walk to town centre or pick bus opposite hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor room overlooking outdoor pool was excellent. Stepped outside patio door onto sunlounger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in St. Helier
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#13 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $104 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing