We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just returned from 5 days in Jersey staying at The Monterey Hotel. If you are looking for a swanky flash, lively hotel this may not be for you BUT if you are looking for VALUE FOR MONEY - a good location, spotlessly clean, excellent service, tasty food, good lesiure facilities at no extra cost (2 pools, & mini gym) etc. then this could well be for you. Our spacious room was unpretentious, slightly dated but again lovely and clean. Suprisingly no duvets but having sweated and then frozen alternately in other hotels when the weather has been warm, this may be why and you'll be ony too grateful to have a crisp clean cotton sheet to sleep under!

Dinner at the hotel was available in both the restaurant and bar at very reasonable cost (- certainly cheaper than eating out anywhere else). In our case we opted for the bar meals which were more than sufficient and very good - (recommend the Jersey fishcakes). On a couple of nights there was light entertainment too. You may be thinking of eating out in town in St Helier in the evening (as was our inital intention), but word of warning the local buses STOP RUNNING after about 6pm so you'll have to leg it back from town, which if you've already been on your feet all day may be the last straw and you'll be only too gratefuL to have chosen a hotel with 2 very reasonably priced dinner options.

DON'T FORGET TOO to claim your freebies before or at reception if you booked online (for 3+ days) = a free bottle of wine and 2 x Jersey (tourist attractions) Passes for 2 days for the price of 1 (a saving of £32). TOP MARKS to the Manager and staff of this hotel who were quietly unassuming but sparklingly efficient!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinTinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 786 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had booked a premier room which really was premier with lots of room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of cereals,juices,fruit,yogurts and hot food. The Hotel was a pleasant 15 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninewells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Montery is an exceptionally well-run hotel. Particularly the staff are excellent: friendly, helpful, and available. Absolutely nothing was a problem. I cannot remember the last time I experienced such good service, in a hotel or anywhere. The hotel itself was clean, well-appointed, and everything worked as it should. There is a nice swimming pool, gym equipment (if that's your thing) and lounge. The breakfasts are generous and the dinners quite good. The table service was also of a good standard. Finally, it's fairly close to the centre of town, and not too expensive. I just hope they don't go and change anything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charles300566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We do work hard to meet the needs of our guests and are pleased that this enhanced your stay. We do indeed seek to provide good value and we are grateful that you felt that we met this aim for you. Thank you for your custom and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Monterey Jersey at some point soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We spent 7 nights here and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. Short walk into the centre of town and we never had a problem parking at the hotel. Decor a little dated, but the staff more than made up for this. Food excellent with a good choice and having booked half board, very good value. Best thing about this hotel, the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggieal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

We are grateful for your positive feedback in respect of our staff at the Monterey Hotel. These comments are very much appreciated by our team at the hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June and were very impressed.

The service from every member of staff we encountered was impeccable. They were always very polite and helpful.

The room was of a reasonable size, there was ample storage space, mirrors and a hairdrier and the bed was comfortable. We had asked for a room away from the traffic and were not disappointed.

The bathroom was a fair size; I have seen smaller! It was clean, the towels were soft and toiletries were provided. The shower was quite powerful and there was always plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was more than ample with a large choice of cooked and contintal dishes and plenty of tea and coffee. We ate in the bar on two evenings and for the price the meals were very good, but not exceptional. However, the cheese and pickle sandwich was a little disappointing. I had expected more cheese and pickle and less lettuce, but now I am just being 'picky'!

The hotel is located about 15 mins brisk walk from Liberation Square which seemed a bit of a drag after a day out walking, but there seemed to be few hotels much closer. There is a bus (No 23) which passes the hotel, but I'm not sure how often. There is also no view as it is in a built-up area. There are restaurants closer than this. Mino's was an interesting one! I would certainly return there.

The weather could not entice me into the outdoor pool, although on a hot day perhaps I could have been tempted. We did not use the indoor pool or the gym because we were too busy outdoors, so I cannot comment on those.

Most of all I liked the fact that after a whole day out walking and sight-seeing I knew I could look forward to a comfortable, clean hotel in which I could relax.

There is nothing I disliked about the hotel. I just wish it could be closer to the centre and with a sea-view!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jitterbugYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed here as part of a wedding party, though the wedding venue was elsewhere on the island, the staff at the Monterey were helpful beyond the call of duty. Some of the rooms maybe a little dated in decor, however, they are comfortable, all facilities that you want are there, but any shortcomings in the rooms (let's be honest, it's only decor) were more that balanced out by the helpful "can do" attitude of the staff.

Would I recommend this for your Jersey stay? Definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

We are grateful for your feedback and are pleased that you would happily recommend our hotel.

Our guest bedrooms are deliberately fairly traditional. Whilst enjoyment of style and decor is to some extent a subjective judgement, we are pleased that you also felt able to give Monterey high scores in respect of service, value and facilities. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a five day break in jersey staying at the Monterey in St Helier. We chose this Hotel because of it's great reviews.We were not disappointed. The hotel was spotless, with french windows opening out onto the pool area was lovely and comfortable with a flat screen television and tea and coffee facilities. The Jacuzzi and indoor pool and sauna were great. I had them almost to myself during my visit and made full se of the excellent facilities.We opted for half board and the three course evening meals were superb whilst the breakfast included full english (Bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, sausage and toast. There was cereal, fruit, yoghurts,cold ham and cheese. If this wasn't enough you could order kippers or boiled or poached eggs!
Because my husband is suffering from cancer he needs to be encouraged to eat properly.The chef and our waiter Sorin helped to adjust the meals to suit him. Not that they needed much adjusting.
I wanted this to be a special holiday. The Monterey helped to make it EXTRA special.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timetraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
862 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#1 of 31 in St. Helier
2,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviours Road, St Saviour, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $116 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing