We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Surprise!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Welcome Surprise!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

You don't expect much when the hotel is marked at 3 *. I don't know what the criteria is but if its marked just on food, service, cleanliness, and location then we were 5* at the Metropole. The room and a bit of evening noise is the only weakness.
The staff are brilliant. Full marks Stan and the lady 'doing' our room 128.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boags666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    41
    14
    7
See reviews for
81
80
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from five days at the metropole nice modern hotel,rooms very large and clean, breakfast excellent,evening entertainment quite good ,only criticism is bar area needs to be updated like the granite lounge, the five days we were there was a mix of ages , just avoid rooms on top floor would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Avoid upper floor levels if any disabilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howielong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from my 7th visit to this hotel. Love everything about it. Excellent location, rooms spotless, facilities and food excellent and staff wonderful you really could not fault this hotel. My family and I are already planning for our return visit next year. Can't wait !!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are good or try the second floor above reception. I would agree with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyfanLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice modern room very good size & very large bed good size bathroom with shower over bath . Only problem adjoining door to next room though ideal for larger families , not very well sound proofed so we were often disturbed by persons in next room , long walk to some rooms from lift. Food & staff were excellent especially our waiter Orlando . Nightly entertainment was average, a comedy night would help.
Two good swimming pools and jacuzzi with free towels & sunbeds . Near sea front and town so hotel in good position.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with adjoining doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsue1069784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My partner and I have just come back from a wonderful week's holiday at the Hotel Metropole in Jersey. The hotel was excellent and caters for couples, families and people of all ages. The rooms are spacious and beautifully clean with refreshments in the room as well as lovely toiletries in the bathroom. We were booked in for half board and the breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. As we were given so much to eat at breakfast time, we didn't need to have a lunch and the evening meals were different each day. The hotel has excellent facilities including a laundry room which means that you can launder your clothes before you go home. The hotel also has a well equipped gym, indoor and outdoor swimming pools and a steam room and the big plus was you don't have to use your own towels - they are provided. The hotel staff are very helpful and we shall be returning. It was excellent value for money and we think it should be rated as a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. All staff were friendly and had no problems answering any queries we had. Very close to St Helier itself with only a short stroll down to the beach. The room was kept in an immaculate condition and was in very good condition. Throughout the holiday we had great views of the sunset and had absolutely no issues with the hotel or staff. The pools were well kept and looked in great condition and the gardens were very peaceful and made us feel at home immediately. The food was superb and there were lots of things to choose from. We're going back this year to a fantastic hotel. Would strongly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Jersey.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor as there are quite a few stairs!! Stay in the middle as it's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrOliverThacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Travelled to Jersey for a family holiday with two teenagers. First impressions were good, public areas were clean and bright, reception efficient and pleasant and the porters offered us help with the luggage. The rooms were large and well furnished with modern flat screen television's, tea/coffee and hot chocolate sachets, etc. The room's did get warm but we asked for a fan and this made sleeping easier.
We had booked half-board so the food was an important aspect as we have a fussy eater (who doesn't !) Breakfast was a bit early for us ending at 09.30 but there was enough to choose from with cereal, croissants, fruit and a selection of cooked items. Perhaps some yoghurt would have been nice. Evening meals also had good selection available and only one night didn't appeal to us but we didn't mind and just went out for a change. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient.
The swimming pools were good with towels provided and enough sunbeds for those who wanted to lie outside by the main pool or in the garden.
Evening entertainment was limited to the weekend and we went out most nights so cannot comment on this. The Cinema in town was 15 minutes walk away, the beach at Havre des Pas 5 minutes , shop's are a 5 minutes, Bus station and marina only 10 minutes.
In summary a good base for a holiday, we had a good time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brickfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Helier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westhill Country Hotel
Westhill Country Hotel
#12 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#11 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Norfolk Hotel
The Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Roseville Street, St. Helier JE1 4HE
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel St Helier
Metropole Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing