We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb,classy,modern yet homely hotel”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare,
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb,classy,modern yet homely hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Recently returned from a four night break in this superb hotel,ideally located on the harbour, taxi rank outside, a few minutes from the bus terminal and the high street shops, a great base for the tourist attractions with a small beach a short walk away.
Our spacious very comfortable room with balcony was very well equipped for a very relaxing stay, a haven to return to, modern yet homely, plenty of wardrobe space, flat screen tv, self coding safe and mini bar. The balcony with table, chairs and lounger, overlooked the Museum with lovely views of the harbour, great to "vegetate" and watch the ships come and go. The bathroom was spacious wiith complimentary robes and slippers, plenty of towels and toiletries, a super shower and large bath. There was a turn down service in the evenings and a great room service menu.
Previous reviews had concerns about the noise from the disco which we did not find an issue. The corridors were very quiet and the room was very tranquil, even sitting on the balcony at night was very relaxing and peaceful.The disco was on at night and Cafe Zephr,Drift and the area outside the hotel was a hive of activity with happy young people. We sat in the P.O.S.H bar which was quiet and relaxing, watching the comings and goings and had very pleasant nights soaking up the super atmosphere and wishfully reliving our youth!
All the staff at this hotel are just out on their own, extremely professional with exceptional attention to detail. Along with their professionalism, they are very warm and welcoming, really friendly making this hotel like home from home. Nothing is a problem for any of them, they are just exceptional. I have never experienced such continuity of care in any other hotel.
Food at the hotel is excellent from breakfast to dinner. We had lunch and dinner in Cafe Zephr along with many beautiful cappucinos and dinner in Sirocco. Excellent food and excellent service.In Sirocco make sure to get a table where you can watch the very professional chefs in action. On our previous visits we always enjoyed super steaks in The Grill, unfortunately we left it to the last night and it was full to capacity with locals, a good indication that the quality is still as good as ever.
The Spa Serene is just fabulous. We wandered down in our robes to this place of peace and tranquility. The pool area and facilities are really high standard but the "piece de resistance" is the heated marble beds in a really tranquil room where Cleopatra would feel at home ...total de-stress. Also super pampering treatments which we availed of.
Cannot wait to go back to this hotel, only an hour from Dublin is a little bit of Heaven!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB-Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    472
    113
    57
    25
See reviews for
171
1,061
42
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed in Royal for a short break in March and loved it!! Reserving the room was a breeze and they couldn’t have been more helpful on the ‘phone. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Gold deluxe double on the Museum side of the hotel with a nice private terrace to relax on in the afternoon.Checked in and headed straight to the grill for a steak- the good things never change!- I’ve stayed in the Yacht prior to the refurb & was worried that the Grill would become a relic of the past, but thankfully not!! Next stop was the Spa all I can say is that it was fantastic. I enjoyed a lovel back and neck message and a soak in the pool!.

Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable visit- down to the fluffy towels & ‘designer’ toiletries.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie_ROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I was recommended this hotel by a friend of mine as we were visiting the island for the weekend, and we had the most amazing weekend and will definitely be going back again.

The rooms were immaculate, and the beds were lovely and comfy. The first thing we did on arrival was pop on our robes which were provided by the hotel and went down into the spa. I had a facial from one of the lovely girls there and overall I found it a very professional and luxurious experience. We were then allowed to use the spa facilities, sauna, steam, rain shower, cold bucket and pool etc. There is a gym next door which we didn't use but looked very nice. You must try out the hot stone beds....my partner found me fast asleep on one, and to my horror snoring!

After the spa, we got changed and freshened up (my skin was glowing like I've never seen it before). We decided to try out the "posh" bar before dinner and had a glass of champagne. The Royal yacht is clearly "the" place to be as the outdoor seating was really filling up and there was a great atmosphere going. We then had dinner in Sirrocco which had a much calmer feel to downstairs. Food was out of this world and service was top.

I have to say, I was a little concerned about the remarks made on trip advisor about the noise from the night club downstairs, but this really didn't effect us at all. I slept like a baby! Maybe these comments were made from a slightly older crowd? But my partner and I (both in our late 20's) didn't find this a problem. Granted if you want to sleep on the balcony then its not going to be like sleeping in the countryside! But with the doors shut you don't really hear anything. The balcony by the way is great if you have weather like we did, great views of the harbour and you could sit out there all evening if you wanted to.

Next day we did some shopping in the town which was walking distance from the hotel which was really convenient. The reception are happy to give recommendations on places to go to and they gave us the address of a lovely restuarant in St aubin and beach to visit.

We decided to sample the nightclub the next night after dinner and were suprised to find so many different age groups in there. We were too knackered to stay till closing but it was great to just jump in the lift straight up to bed and not worry about getting a taxi home.

Overall, we had a great weekend at this hotel and have already booked to go back for my birthday.

p.s if you eat in the grill room have a steak diane, delicious

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We have just returned from Jersey after a two night stay
Rooms are fantastic and so is the spa the big letdown is the in hotel nightclub which blasts out music until 2am.
The noise continues until 3am outside as the main taxi rank is adjacent to the hotel not good when you are leaving at 0530 for the redeye.
5 star facilities but a 1 star location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy19601960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stunning Sunday seafood buffet on Liberation Day along with superb carvery and excellent wines. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed at The Royal Yacht Hotel in St Helier for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the moment we arrived to the time we left. After a warm welcome at Reception we went to our spacious room on the 4th floor. At the end of a corridor, this was extremely quiet throughout our stay, with even the inevitable loading of bottles into the bottle bank taking place at civilised hours mid morning and late afternoon. As well as an extremely comfortable king sized bed, the room was well equipped with comfortable armchairs, a writing desk, flat screen television, mini bar and wardrobe with plenty of coat hangers, efficient hairdryer and excellent lighting throughout the room. The wardrobe contained shelves, but no drawers. The bathroom was very spacious, with underfloor heating, two shower options as well as a decent sized bath, complimentary robes and slippers and very generously sized bath sheets. Breakfast is buffet style every morning, with a good hot breakfast choice including eggs cooked to order, but a rather more limited choice of yoghurt. fruit and pastries than some hotels offer, although still more than adequate for our requirements. As well as breakfast every morning, we ate dinner on Sunday evening in the hotel dining room (Scirocco) from the fixed price menu, very enjoyable although not exceptional, and one lunch in Cafe Zephyr, tasty food efficiently served. We also enjoyed drinks in the Cabin, which is a traditional pub style bar for residents, and the Lazy Jack, which is a more formal cocktail/after dinner drinks bar. There were other bar venues, all busy and all clearly popular which we did not use. Thoroughly enjoyed a swim in the pool and relaxation by the pool, and again, were impressed by the friendly, willing, service from the staff there and the beautifully appointed changing rooms. Possible downside - we only ever found two lifts, and at busy times this might be a little frustrating, but perhaps we just hadn't looked hard enough! A very enjoyable stay in a nicely appointed hotel, extremely comfortable and made special by the charming, willing and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeachF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

excellant staff,could not have been more helpful.Good situation though a little noisy!had booked a Platium room with views over the harbour,excellant,having stayed before in a silver room(very small and noisy) also a deluxe double,go for the Platium.
Spa area/swimming pool very well maintained and classy.
Sirrocco restaurant very good also service on a busy weekend vg.
Only negative comment is the noise level coming from the "disco" late at night,if you are a light sleeper--bring earplugs--no matter where your room is ,you hear the music.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing