We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this lovely Hotel whilst visiting Jersey for the first time on business.
Firstly i would like to say im 100% coming back to the island for pleasure as its beautiful.
Going back to the hotel.... a very warm welcome from all staff from start to finish.
I stayed on the 5th floor (top floor)
The room was very spaciouse with a nice powerful shower (a must in my eyes)
In the evening myself and work colleague had dinner at the grill restaurant, it had a lovely atmosphere with GREAT FOOD, i had the Tbone and it was FANTASTIC.
I also used the gym on my stay, the facilities are very upto date with a wide range of weights with running, rowing and cross training machines and a good floor space for core excersises etc.
Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Trowe135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    488
    116
    58
    25
See reviews for
181
1,088
45
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were here for Saturday night dinner. The Check in and Concierge team were very helpful.
Our room had nice thoughtful touches like a nightlight in the bathroom to stop you waking your partner.
The Spa area is excellent and a drink in the bar facing the square is not to missed when the sun is shining.
We were at a dinner in the Sirocco restaurant the food was excellent and the superior service made this a night to remember. Breakfast the following morning was everything you could ask for and although a buffet service the waitress insisted that she was going to refill my glass of orange juice. You pay for quality but it is delivered in spades.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new building Rooms on the Mulcaster street side are subject to some sound from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gortinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 6 days. Reception organised hire car and car parking. Food in all 3 restaurants was excellent with service in the Zephyr Bar being the most outstanding.Balcony suite overlooking Liberation Square for the celebrations. Room clean and well serviced.

Room Tip: 4th Floor front. Views over Marina and main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kagee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The room was very large. En suite bath and shower room and a nice sized veranda. The room was very clean and fresh. The staff were very pleasant. We ate in The Grill - an informal restaurant sat on bar stools but the steak was lovely. We also ate in the Scirrocco restaurant. A la carte delicious food with exceptional service. Not cheap but certainly worth it. The hotel is well placed for anything in St. Helier. No parking facility at the hotel but a multi story is a few minutes walk away. The island works on scratchcard parking vouchers including the multistory c.parks.
I would use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborn
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I rely on tripadvisor when choosing hotels so I'm hoping that by posting this I prevent you too being disappointed with your room in this otherwise impressive hotel. Starting with the negatives. Be warned there are what they call "internal rooms" which means that basically you have next to no natural light. Sadly for me as a really light sleeper that wasn't the only problem. Our room 336 was right next door to the cleaners office; the hotel promised this wouldn't affect me but every morning I was woken by the door slamming before 6.30am! There is such a difference in the old part of the hotel, not just in room size but look and feel of the corridors. All the corridors are noisy, the floorboards creak and are narrow so the noise travels the length of them all. Like previous reviewers I asked for a room change and after making us wait for over an hour for an answer they refused. I think this is standard for this hotel reading other reviews. In general the staff on front desk are brusque whilst the staff in the restaurants were all very attentive. Now for the positives. If you get the right room. The location is perfect, the gym is well equipped, the spa is lovely, the restaurants are all great and the overall feel of the hotel is luxurious. If you don't have a room with a view there is a lovely roof terrace with stunning views. On final word of caution. There is the island's most popular nightclub on the left hand side as you look out from the hotel so again chose your room carefully.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel, tell them what is important to you and pay for the room that you actually want b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauffleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Don't get me wrong this is still a very nice hotel. I have visited many times over the years. It has an excellent location with views of the marina close to the shops and the bus station. It's bar is always bursting and a very nice place to sit out in the sun. The yacht was one of the leaders to turn around hotels on the island. I stayed in the original before the new wing was built and the transformed yacht is worlds apart from that. The rooms use to have a serious wow factor which I think they are beginning to lose. What use to be regarded as flash flat tv screens on the wall are now seen as very dated early chunky Phillips TV's and the wooded surround looks dated. The rooms are no way shabby but as they are losing their wow factor I think they are also losing their justification to demand top rates.

The platinum rooms are all at the front and can be quite noisy especially when the night club empties out. The gold deluxe rooms are very similar without a tv in the bathroom and may be a better option if you want less noise. They are positioned down the side of the hotel and still have an outside balcony but the view is a bit limited.There is no car parking at the hotel. Parking in jersey is controlled by pay and display scratch cards that you can pick up in most general shops. There is a multi story up the hill or one on the front which is a bit of a walk away.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front right of the hotel which is very noisy when the night club empties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I decided to go away last minute over Easter and stayed at the Royal Yacht Hotel in St Helier. We had read reviews before booking and they all seemed really good. We were not disappointed when we arrived. It's right by the harbour and they have combined the old hotel with a more modern fronted extension that looks nice.

We were on the first flight out of Gatwick to Jersey so arrived there around 9.30 and couldn't check in until 2, but we were able to have some lunch in one of the many hotel restaurants and then make use of the spa facilities until our room was ready.

The spa and swimming pool are fantastic with lots of different areas including sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and relaxation room.

Our room was nice but slightly on the small side and it didn't have a view of the harbour. The only complaint about our room is that it didn't have a bath. Apart from that it had all the facilities you would need.

Breakfast was really good with so many different options.

We eat out both nights just because we wanted to explore St Helier and plus there were so many restaurants that had really good reviews.

We wanted to hire a car for a couple of days to explore the island and the hotel concierge arranged for Avis to drop a car to the hotel from the nearby airport and made the whole process very hassle free.

The staff were very friendly and chatty and also very helpful.

I would definitely go back to this hotel and would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay whilst in Jersey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatherineRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing