We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Was Perfect”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Everything Was Perfect”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We held a seminar in the hotel hosted by Eagle Eye Security (thats me) and Sony UK. The booking of the event and organisation of the room was done effortlessly by Damien Chaddock in the C&B department. On the day the tea/coffee came on time and the lunch was also served to time. The canapes and wines were very good. I cannot recommend this too highly!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    511
    120
    59
    26
See reviews for
190
1,137
49
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is a pleasant hotel with a perfect location right next to the shops, the sea and the bus to the airport.
We had a large room and bathroom (great shower!) which were both clean and functional; The negative point being the noise that the doors make when one closes them.
The staff are polite and helpful which is expected of such a hotel. Good breakfast and excellent fitness room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Could not have had better service, all staff always pleasant and helpful. Stayed in refurbished room in old part of hotel, with balcony overlooking square and bars, a wonderful asset. Spotlessly clean and modernised. Only few minor gripes- as an 'oldie' who prefers baths to showers there were no handles to hold onto getting in and out, although that would not worry a younger person. There was no bedside clock so on waking had no idea of time. Struggled to hear the TV at maximum volume. Ate in The Grill and the Zephyr Bar, lovely food reasonably priced. Breakfasts were superb both hot and cold available. Did not use spa. Would I stay her again- absolutely, and can highly recommend to anyone. Superbly situated for buses and taxis, and shops 2 min walk. Well done to all staff!

Room Tip: Choose Room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishladyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and i stayed here between 030913 and 060913. It's in a prime location, central to everything that you will need, shops, restaurants and a very good transport system. We found the staff very efficient and helpful and i would like to take this opportunity to say a special thank you to our cleaner Galia,(Gyultena), who is one of the happiest souls that we have come across and was always ready with a genuine smile. We thought that the room, a gold double was well appointed and we made use of the very good facilities in the hotel.The breakfasts were excellent although after the evening meal on the day of our arrival we decided to eat out after that and tried some of the many good restaurants nearby, see my other reviews. There were a few flies in the ointment though, namely the noise from the front of the hotel on two out of the three nights and we were right at the back! Also there was a lot of noise transmitted from next doors TV, i guess that this is because they are built into the wall and he probably could hear ours as well. You can also hear people moving and banging around from above, not good at 2am. I would imagine that a room in a newer part of the hotel may be quieter. Would i stay here again? Only if we had a better room away from the noise, bearing in mind that we stayed in room 329 which is three floors up and at the back.

Room Tip: Read other people reviews as well. This noise thing seems to be fairly common complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I last visited this hotel, many times, when it was a small commercial hotel sited next to the main bus station in St Helier with all the resultant noise to be expected from such a location. The bus terminus is now gone and the hotel has developed a superb extension on the site with all the facilities that one would expect to find in a capital city anywhere in the world. Smart restaurants, bars and a superb fitness/health centre and oh so comfortable bedrooms with so many nice touches, And I was only in the third tier of bedroom types.

Jersey, itself, seems to have pulled itself up by it's bootstraps as a tourist destination, in the face of competition from both european and long distance destinations.

Room Tip: It's all down to cost. Chose from silver (basic) through gold and gold premium to platinum or go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be slightly better than it is. The location is incredibly good for business in St Helier and has a seaward view at the hotel entrance.
But the standard rooms and the bathrooms are pokey, even if they are fairly well equipped.
I ate in two of the restaurants and they were both very good. The staff were mostly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric_erasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel is composed of an old building linked to a new one. Stayed in the new part, in a quiet room. It was spacious, with ample wardrobe space, a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, a large bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The bedding was very comfortable. The sliding windows were a bit difficult to close once open, but the friendly staff was on hand to help. Breakfast had an average range of choices. All in all a good choice for the central location and quality of accommodation, especially as many central hotels are a bit dated. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Club Hotel & Spa
The Club Hotel & Spa
#15 of 32 in St. Helier
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Property: Royal Yacht Hotel
Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing