We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel - would recommend”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've just returned from a three night weekend stay, in a Platinum standard room.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and left today feeling relaxed and rejuvinated.

The room...
Very spacious, spotlessly clean, good bed, good shower, lots of facilities, and an excellent turn down service. Although, for this standard of room, I would of expected large bottles of toiletries (as Aromatherapy Associates products used in the spa) and maybe an Nespresso coffee machine. A good room overall though.

The spa...
Cute spa. Lovely staff. Amazingly well equipped gym and some nice wet facilities. We both had 75 min full body massages that were executed perfectly (hard, just the way we like massages).
Special mention to the Spa Manager Caroline... wow, she gives a brilliant massage!!

The food and drink offerings...
Plenty of options to choose from. Breakfast was OK- enough choice. I'd recommend trying the Castaway cocktail in the Little Drift Bar. Weird to have a fashionable nightclub in the hotel, which made for good people watching and was nice to then just wander upstairs to bed!!
We ate one evening meal in The Grill.... WOW WOW WOW!!! Stunning steak (we agreed it was the best meal of the holiday), very quick service, nice buzzy atmosphere.
Special mention to Nicoleta.... she works very, very hard. Impressive. Multi tasking at its very best. We were amazed by how efficient she was. Management, if you're reading this review, please give that woman a bonus!!!

The hotel itself.....
Well located, great in the day but we found the noise of drunk revellers outside at night (some outside The Drift, smoking) a bit disturbing. This hotel is literally in Party Central - bars, clubs and burger shops everywhere. Its THE place to go in St Helier at night. But dont let that put you off staying - it feels safe outside, the mess is all gone by morning, and actually staying in quite a hip hotel was kinda fun! TIP: we found the slight wurring of the AC in our room blocked out the noise at night, on a low setting.

So, my five tips...

1) Upgrade to a Platinum room
2) Book a full body massage, and make the most of the spa
3) Eat in The Grill
4) Drink a Castaway cocktail
5) keep your AC on a low setting at night for a while, if you're a light sleeper!

But there really is no-where else, I wouldn't have thought, worth staying in St Helier!!

Room Tip: Choose a Platinum room if you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Royal Yacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,540 - 1,546 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Paid for upgrade to Platinum room - excellent facilities, immaculate. Dinner very good - menu selection, service and food outstanding. Breakfast choices good with resident 'egg man' but bacon poor. Good selection of eateries and bars with good outside heated area. In house wifi excellent in all public areas and bedroom. Parking nearby in multi storey 5 min walk away - have to use wretched card parking system! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just had short break here. Cant fault this hotel. Rooms beautiful and clean, bathroom immaculate. Staff very helpful . Facilities such as spa , pool, gym etc also excellent. There are several bars and eating areas in hotel and each one excellent again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel on two seperate occassions as part of a small group and cannot recommend it enough. The bar at the hotel has a real buzz about it throughout the day and evening but if like things a little quieter then the residents bar on the 1st floor is for you. There is a nightclub downstairs if you really want to party but don't worry about the noise if you don't - we never heard a thing once outside of it.
The Spa and Gym are ideal for a short stay.
The hotel is ideally situated if you want to use the restaurants and bars in central St Helier and a few minutes walk from the bus station if you want to explore the island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family had a family wedding at the hotel, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms are well equipped, clean, and tidy, service was excellent.the noise from the club below couldn't be heard from our room and the views from it were terrific.
It was a shame that the pool was off limits to our children 3/5.
The location was great and we all had fine time, many thanks to the hotel and the staff for thier efforts .kevos and family

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is average for business but decent for leisure. No iron in the room, bathroom is small and the room service is so incredibly slow it was unbelievable. The wifi was poor and finding an outlet in your room is a search for the holy grail.

However, the hotel sports three restaurants, 2 bars a decent nightclub and the very best gym I've seen in 3+ years of business travel. It has a full Spa and equipped gym with lots of equipment, space and full changing rooms.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the New wing of the hotel - Rooms are more spacious and have better bathrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2013, and were in a gold room on the 5th floor. The staff were really helpful and friendly throughout the hotel, but particularly at reception. The rooms are clean, well decorated, with an incomprehensible lighting system, and particularly very quiet. We had a sideways view of the harbour, but overlooking an inner courtyard. The facilities in the hotel are excellent with several bars and restaurants and a well-equipped spa. It is well-positioned for St Helier attractions and shops. Our only minor problems were with the safe and fridge not working properly and the lack of nearby parking. But we are really pleased with our hotel choice.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor overlooking courtyard and was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,982 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $138 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing