We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good city centre hotel”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in March 2013, and were in a gold room on the 5th floor. The staff were really helpful and friendly throughout the hotel, but particularly at reception. The rooms are clean, well decorated, with an incomprehensible lighting system, and particularly very quiet. We had a sideways view of the harbour, but overlooking an inner courtyard. The facilities in the hotel are excellent with several bars and restaurants and a well-equipped spa. It is well-positioned for St Helier attractions and shops. Our only minor problems were with the safe and fridge not working properly and the lack of nearby parking. But we are really pleased with our hotel choice.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor overlooking courtyard and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,713 - 1,719 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a Tues-Fri trip booked with Secret Escapes [who I also recommend]. It was close to the bus station -about 100 yd walk- and only £1.70 from the airport. The welcome we got was so friendly as if they were just waiting for us and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The nearest i have got to this level of service was on a cruise ship.
We had a Gold room, 5th floor. Very spacious and spotless. Plenty of hangers and dressing gowns supplied. The bathroom was huge and we realised we were in a room for handicapped guests. Emergency bell calls and lots of grab rails but sadly the shower would be inaccessible to most as over the bath. Fine for us though and loys of toiletries left every day along with a twice daily change of the biggest fluffiest towels.
There was plenty of tea, coffee etc and also bottled water left.
Sirrocco restaurant had an excellent buffet breakfast with all you could want. Eggs were cooked to order rather than sitting under the hot lamps. Lovely fresh pastries. Dinner was just yummy. n extra surprise was an 'Amuse bouche' each evening of Jersey crab and smoked salmon. 3 courses were 27.50 but we had paid as part of our deal. Coffee was extra but did come with home made chocs and Turkish Delight. Service was slick and unhurried.
The pool was a nice size and water just right not too cold!!! Ladies changing room well stocked with lotions etc and hairdryers, towels.
The final icing on the cake was this. My husband had arranged flowers for me via reception as it was our anniversary and when we got in that night some romantic soul had sprinkled our bed with rose petals. Wasn't that kind? We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 513, a side view of harbour and a Mary Poppins chimney top view the other way. It was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmeliaBadelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked for one night only to celebrate a birthday and to experience the beautiful spa. Which although small has every amenity you could wish for. Round the pool, well equiped gym with flat screened TV, Bucket and tropical showers, sauna, Steam rooms, meditation rooms with fragrance and warm couch. A friendly staff for all massage and beauty treatments, who are pleased to welcome you and show you around. Gown and slippers supplied and all toiletries.
We had a Silver rated room small and compact, Hotel advertises it as ideal for one person or a couple on a short stay. It was on the side of the old building and looked over some private secluded balcony rooms. It was away from the bussle of St Helier night life so we had a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room between 07.30 and 11.00 over looking the harbour and Lberation square with is well laid park area. The breakfast was fresh and everything you could think of. Continental breakfast with fresh squeezed juice, A chef on hand to help you find the right freshly cooked combernation of breakfast. All served with a smile. The reception and waiting staff greeted us with a smile and a "Is there anything we can do attitude". They made our stay a day to remember. I hope we can come back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our Thurs-Sun break at The Royal Yacht was just what was needed. We stayed in the hotel and enjoyed all the hotel had to offer. From the luxurious platinum room, the scrumptious food that left you wanting more, best spa treatments I've ever experienced (not difficult to see why they won a well deserved accolade of Best Spa in The Channel Islands. The service and friendly staff were just outstanding.

Brilliant ... Lovely to experience time after time a clean pristine establishment .

Thoroughly recommended... Thank You

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked a superior room which was very well appointed and comfortable. On the top floor with a small terrace outside. Very suitable for business people, but also a good central location for holidaymakers - but perhaps not very child-friendly. Staff helpful and pleasant. Buffet breakfast OK

Room Tip: Superior rooms on top floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Located in the very centre of St.Helier, the Royal Yacht is the oldes hotel in town, and as such it preserves its qualities of warmth and historic competence, but has also been completely modernised, so you have all you need and more in a modern hotel. Bars, restaurants, spas are all great, but the best thing is the terrace that completes most of the rooms, where you can enjoy the sunshine, the view of the harbour and the city life under there.

Room Tip: spend a bit more and have a gold or a platinum room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great service lovely food. Be careful if you want a quite hotel on a Fri/Sat night as the Disco goes on till 2am. All in all well worth visiting. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The spa area though small has numerous facilities including gym saunas pool .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 31 in St. Helier
1,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#2 of 31 in St. Helier
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
797 reviews
0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#3 of 31 in St. Helier
1,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#9 of 31 in St. Helier
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $127 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing