We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first time break to Jersey”
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Yacht Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Booked the Royal Yacht after seeing Reviews and was not disappointed. Gold Room with Balcony, midweek, no noise.... First Class staff from Reception to Restaurant to Room Service. Great meals in Sirocco, ideally placed for transport and shops.
Thank You. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pnefanPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
There are newer reviews for Royal Yacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,790 - 1,796 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just back from a three night break in this superb hotel. This was my fourth wonderful stay in the hotel and would reccomend it to anyone visiting Jersey. It is ideally located for shopping and touring with easy access to taxi's and buses and a stone's throw from the boats to Guernsey.
Our room with balcony overlooking the museum was spacious and relaxing with extra touches provided, the turn down service and chocolate and the fluffy bath robes.
Noise was not a problem, even relaxing on the balcony at night and we had very restful nights sleep.
The staff in the hotel are excellent, very professional and extremely friendly. Nothing is a problem for them, very helpful in suggesting places to go, where to eat outside the hotel and assisting in any way they can.
Food in the hotel is excellent. Steaks in the Grill sublime and food in Sirocco is superb. We had lunch in Zephyr and unlike a previous review, found the staff there very pleasant and again the food was excellent.
My favourite part of this hotel is the Spa Serene, just total "chill out" especially the relaxation room with heated marble beds, heavenly!
As this was my fourth visit to the island and having viewed "the sights" previously, I was quite happy to spend my days at the hotel inbetween some "retail therapy" and to basically enjoy all this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BB-Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My partner and I have just stayed at The Royal Yacht in Jersey. The hotel itself is well positioned in St Helier and on the surface the facilities seem very nice.

When we checked in the reception staff were very pleasant and we were happy with our room. The stay would have been great were it not for the fact that our room was above the hotels nightclub and all we could hear until 2am was thumping music from downstairs. I have to say I did not expect to be staying in a four star hotel in one of their Gold rated rooms having to listen to this racket throughout the night.

Unfortunately due to this experience I would not recommend staying here on a Friday or Saturday evening unless you are planning to be out clubbing until 2am and I certainly will not be staying here again. The stay ruined the next day for me as I was exhausted from no sleep and just wanted to return home.

The breakfast was also very average.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put directly above the nightclub
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grinch025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljtintin, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your review. We were particularly pleased to receive your positive comments in relation to the hotel itself but disappointed to learn that you found your room too noisy later in the evening. The hotel itself is acoustically designed and fully double glazed to minimize noise from inside and outside the building and we do our very best to minimise sound levels, especially at weekends. We take on board your comments and will continue to strive to ensure that our guests enjoyment and comfort is not compromised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Really good independent hotel. We stayed in a room with a great balcony looking over the square. The room was lovely, a lot of thought had gone into the design of the room and it have great little touches like good standard furniture for outside use.

The location is great and easy to walk to anywhere in St Helier and as the hotel doesn't have a car park, it's close to the main public transport hub.

The only tiny things wrong with the room was the sound proofing, nearby is a "fun" pub, we were only bothered by the noise for one night, though it was so loud you could hear everything the DJ said and the music sounded like it was comming from inside the hotel (for a moment we wondered if our room was above a function room). Also they may want to think about their internet provider, sadly really poor on wifi, slightly better when we used a lead.

If we visit Jersey again we stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and i came here on recommendation from my son. Being a little short of cash we booked the cheapest deal we could. This meant be given a silver room, which i recently learnt meant being in a smaller room. This was not an issue as the fixtures and fittings, quality and bathroom were of a high standard. However, we did ask reception what was the difference with other rooms that cost more. The lady receptionist (also a fellow Brummie) was so welcoming and took us to see a room of the next tier up, she explained how the tiers worked and and the difference in cost that it involved, which wasnt as much as i thought. Breakfast was fantastic (as much as you can eat), The Spa is to die for, i unfortunately forgot my costume but next time i will pack it 1st! Our bed was so comfy too.... the Royal Yacht we will be back....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank petalcatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in a platinum room. As it was mid week it was not too noisy. The service was as excellent as always and the staff remembered me from a business trip the month before. They really are a credit to the hotel. For my 50th next year I would love to stay in one of the penthouse suites. If you are thinking of a hotel in St Helier look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Inquirygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend and on the whole it was a very enjoyable stay with most of the staff being of a high standard. There are 3 places to eat, Scirrocco, situated on the first floor with an extensive menu and courteous staff. The Grill is situated through the back and serves the best fillet steak I've ever tasted. The staff are efficient and friendly. Unfortunately the Zephyr bar lets it down, the staff are rude and sullen, it almost feels like it doesn't belong to the Royal Yacht. You also have to be careful which room you have as I was situated on the 2nd floor and the noise from a party on the 1st floor continued until 2.00am, not ideal when you are working the next morning. Fortunately the following night was much quieter and I had an excellent sleep in a very comfortable bed. There is a spa with a swimming pool for 16+. I would recommend this hotel for couples or even a celebration as they have some lovely rooms suitable for functions.and several outdoor spaces .

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olitaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,981 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range: $138 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing