We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, friendly staff, very relaxing stay”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Booked for a long weekend away for special birthday. Arrived about 12.30 to friendly staff who asked us to come back after 14.00 but we could leave our luggage which would be taken to our room, so we went for lunch at Kings on the main street in St Helier which was loveley. We found everyone to be genuinely friendly wherever we went over the weekend. We had a balcony room which was great, overlooking the outdoor pool and we actually had good enough weather to sit out there when we got back to the hotel late afternoon. It was a lovely suntrap. We enjoy walking so did a lot of that over the weekend thanks to the weather. Went to the War Tunnels and Mount Orgil (think that's how you spell it) castle - amazing - but be warned a lot of steep stairs, but well worth a visit. As we were only there for a weekend decided not to hire a car as bus station and service were excellent - don't know that we would have been so keen to use buses on mainland - they are very reliable and very clean. As we were informed by staff it was not worth our while buying a bus pass as the most expensive fare is £1.50 and the only other fare is £1.00 single journey so unless you want to spend all day on a bus it's not worth it. Linked to hotel was sports bar which was very well laid out showing all different sports at once - got a bit hectic when footie was on but great atmosphere. Had a great weekend and would recommend hotel and jersey and will definately go back! Used hotel sauna, pool and jacuzzi - after walking was lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boabca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 870 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

We were apprehensive after reading mixed reviews about this hotel, but were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a 'superior' room which overlooked the inner courtyard of the hotel which was where the outside swimming pool is.
The room was cleaned every day and all appliances worked.
The restaurant staff were excellent and the breakfast we had each morning was first class with lots of choice and plenty of it.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main shopping area.
Car parking is to the rear of the hotel and is secured by a barrier.
Indoor pool clean and warm.
Staff very helpful.
Downsides are..
The overall decor needs updating
The room walls are very thin so you could drop unluckly and get noisy neighbours
Surly manager
No customer internet

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woooodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

we were a group of eight staying for the weekend the staff were really helpful and friendly
the breakfasts were lovely
only complaint was the showers in the room they were a bit of a nightmare
we would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolMollymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I cannot fault The Apollo. I suprised my wife for Valentines, staying Friday to Sunday over the Valentine's Day weekend. I upgraded to a superior room through another site which was well worth doing with a King Size bed, new decor and great view. The hotel is well located for walking into St Helier and also has a car park at the back(even though a little tight) for those coastal excersions.

Generally I thought the hotel was in good condition with kind and pleasant reception staff, lifts to every floor, swimming pools looked great and also the bar area was full. We only used the restaurant for breakfast which was a buffet ranging from cereals, fresh fruit, full english breakfasts and lots of toast, again the staff were very professional.

I would definately go back again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank americatravelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Some parts of the hotel were ok, some were pretty dire. The rooms were very 'tired', tv did not work, bed uncomfertable, shower didn't work and wardrobe was broken. Staff were generally unhelpfull and surley. Food was terrible, breakfast fairly close to inedible, evening meals had to be sent back. On the plus side it's a good location and bar, pool, gym etc were all ok. Maybe because it was off season or maybe just because it wasnt a very good hotel, but I would not reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank megadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights and could not fault it, especially location wise.

The only thing that will stop me staying again is how thin the walls are. We could hear every single word of the conversations the people had in the next room to us. We didn't complain, as they were just having a normal conversation, no loud voices or shouting. But it was so bad we ended up whispering as they would obviously hear us too. Pity really as its a lovely hotel, but never again.

Stayed: February 2009
1  Thank Jayne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Stayed at the Apollo (for the second time) in January 2009 for a couple of says. Primary reason for visit was shopping and organising our forthcoming wedding in Jersey.

The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment, particularly in the restaurant area and so breakfasts were served in the smaller cocktail bar/bistro by the pool which was perfectly adequate. Breakfast plentiful and tasty, with a fair selection of hot and cold items. A whiff of paint smells were apparent however this was restricted to a few areas downstairs - Bedrooms and dining areas were not affected at all. All of the hotels facilities (pool/bar area etc) were operating normally.

The check in proceedure was quick and curteously handled, with us being shown to our room by a porter who also kindly carried our bags. The staff were helpful and friendly any time we requested advice or assistence. The room was rear facing, overlooking the car park, however this was relfected in the price which we paid for a standard double room - certainly competitive compared with other hotels in St Helier.

The room was of a reasonable size, en-suite bathroom, however the shower temperature was at times unpredictable.

The hotel itself is a short walk from the main shopping areas of St Helier, and a 10 minute stroll to the sea front. The hotel has its own car park which is not always the case with other hotels in St Helier. Also attached to the hotel is the bat and ball pub, which seems popular with residents and locals alike.

In summary, the Apollo is a well located, mid range hotel with a variety of room types and a reasonable tariff. The hotel boasts a reasonable range of facilites and is staffed by helpful and curteous individuals. For the price range, in our opinion the hotel is to be well recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LDB_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.4 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Helier
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
769 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 32 in St. Helier
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in St. Helier
848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.5 mi away
Ommaroo Hotel
Ommaroo Hotel
#18 of 32 in St. Helier
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $53 - $1,759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing