We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staf make all the difference”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Canvey Island
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Staf make all the difference”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, including New Years Eve & had a great time.
As others have said the rooms are dated & need some TLC ( Apricot bathroom suite, sapele doors & fluorescent lights are a little passe!!)
What makes the Apollo is the staff - they are all fantastic. Friendly & efficient - nothing seemed to be a chore.
Breakfast is great - hot & cold buffet. You'd have to be REALLY fussy not to find something.
We only ate evening meal on NYE, which was not the normal menu, but based on the quality of that meal, I wouldn't hesitate to say the food is really good.
All in all very good value, would definitely consider a return trip (maybe when its a bit less wet & windy!!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazzrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    348
    198
    82
    49
See reviews for
168
396
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights including New Years Eve at The Apollo Hotel.

In line with a number of previous reviews, yes the rooms do look a little bit tired but they were spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

The food is good and the location a short stroll into the heart of St Helier and NOTHING and I do mean NOTHING was too much trouble for the lovely staff who work there.

I would definately stay again but yes a bit of TLC to the rooms would not go amiss.

Cheers
RH

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Racing-Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at the Apollo late Oct, to early Nov. Really enjoyed the stay, staff were very friendly & helpful. The rooms were clean & comfortable although a little tired & just about getting ready for a re-vamp, night time can be a little noisy though due to other guests but not too big a problem.

Breakfast was really very nice indeed, buffet style so go nuts, delicious.

Location was quite good as well, loads of pubs in the vicinity.

Already looking forward to next visit.

Room Tip: Try for top floor as noise from above can be a bit bothersome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly staff, our room was nice with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, all very very clean
And tidy, breakfast was a bit early 7:30 to 9:00 but plenty of choice,. The barmaid and bar were
Not very welcoming and expensive that's why it was empty I presume. Hotel had a nice little indoor pool, very agreeable. Good location only short walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

overall a very pleasant stay, the receptionist on check-in was very curt and unwelcoming, and the barmaid looked decidely unhappy that we had the audacity to ask for a drink whilst she was in the middle of using her mobile. That said, the rest of the staff were excellent, the rooms very clean and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KalymnosPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just had a 4 day trip and this hotel was first class. Whilst it does need some TLC I would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were all extremely helpful. The room was a good size, clean and the bed was very comfy. We were on half board and the food was very good with a decent choice. Breakfast was excellent with a very good selection. The location was also a good feature as it is a 5 min walk to the all the shops. There is also has a decent size car park. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in April, 2013 and we were very satisfied by the entire experience. They are not the most fanciest of the hotels in St. Helier but they are definitely one of the best in service there. We had a car during our stay and the hotel had quite a spacious and secure parking place. Also, the indoor swimming pool was really great. The weather was too cold to try out the outdoor swimming pool but it was very tempting none the less. The restaurant was good but we would recommend you try out the pizza place next door as well. Overall, the stay was very pleasant and the staff were absolutely amazing. The hotel manager personally gave me a lift to the bus station when I had to come back to return the keys which I had forgotten to return during checkout. Highly recommended...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidhartha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing