We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12th. - 16th. September 2013”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Apollo again with several family members and friends for a wedding on the island. The staff were without exception friendly and efficient and would do their utmost to assist. The rooms were clean and tidy and has been mentioned numerous times before, the breakfast was varied and plentiful. Hotel facilities were good especially the indoor pool and jacuzzi however the wifi was only available in or around the reception area however we were there to relax so !!!!!. Overall the hotel is well located being only 2 minutes walk from the pedestrianised shopping area and a further 5 minutes to the promenade and Liberation bus station where island bus routes were readily available.
Will return to the island on numerous visits and the Apollo will be our first choice for hotels.
Thanks to ALL staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie_and_Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 887 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Apollo from 20-23rd September 2013, our first visit to the beautiful island of Jersey.

We arrived at the Apollo early and were greeted very friendly by the hotel staff who looked after our cases whilst we went and had some lunch. On our return we were shown to our room via the small cramped lift - that says it accommodates 4 but more like 2 at a push... the lift has very sharp brakes so hold on to something when it stops!

The room we were given was no. 125 on the front of the hotel, we immediately noticed how noisy the road was and there was no way we were going to sleep that night! We went down stairs and the asked for a room change, the staff did not seem to be surprised at all ! They explained they couldnt do anything until the next day so we were stuck in 125 for the night. it was horrendous, the traffic was non-stop all night, noisy, screeching brakes, I didnt sleep, you couldnt have the window open as there was no air con and no double glazing. The next day we were moved to room 219 overlooking the pool - a much better room, bigger than 125, but in a quiet location - no traffic to be heard at all. Both rooms and the hotel generally is in need of a face lift and updating - I have not seen showers over baths like they have since the 80s!

The breakfast time was a bit odd, more staff than guests on duty and as soon as you placed your knife and fork down one of hovering staff would whisk it away before you could change your mind, we had difficulty requesting a table of our choice - overlooking the pool was favourite - but the tables were reserved for people "who came every day" but were never there when we ate!! The breakfast was good, although the bacon it bit over cooked and dryed out but other than that a good selection was offered of hot and cold things, but do ask them immediately for coffee and toast before you sit down otherwise the toast is cold before it gets to you.

Summing up - we enjoyed Jersey but thought the Apollo in serious need of some money spending on updating it/decorating - double glazing and air con would improve it as well as new electric showers. Oh the only thing that was a bit annoying was the cleaner on the day before we left binned all our travel documents........................(flight details, car park at return airport and tourist info on Jersey) ....why we dont know they were left on the dressing table. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite at all times.

Room Tip: Request one that is not on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a superior room overlooking the pool and when we arrived we had been upgraded to a balcony room, everywhere very clean, staff very helpful. used the indoor pool , yes small but very good and the hot tub was fun, changing rooms are quite small with no lockable lockers so best to leave your key at reception with your valuables in your room. there was lots of choice at breakfast, the set menu in the evening catered for all, although you can choose to upgrade to the other menu should you wish , hotel is close to the shops, a short walk to the harbour or the bus station, where you can travel the island for very little, would recommend the Durrell zoo, a great place to visit , I would love to visit again, just would like to see some sun !

Room Tip: pay the extra and book a superior room much nicer and quieter overlooks the pool and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent hotel clean comfortable and lovely friendly staff.
Breakfast was very good it was self service with everything you could want from Full English to fresh fruit, cereals, and continental. Tea coffee and toast were served by the waiting staff at your table, no waiting around very prompt service. The evening meal included a set menu which changed each night at very reasonable prices and the a la carte had a good varied choice.
Brilliant location a short walk to the shops. The island also has an excellent bus service, there are bus stops just outside the hotel. We went all round the island with a day ticket which only cost £7.
We could not fault this hotel and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for a week in September 2013, and cannot fault the hotel unless I were very nit picking. One of the other reviewers said it might be one for the more mature customers, fine, leave it to us older folk!
The hotel is situated on a main road and if you can avoid staying in one of the rooms fronting the road, do so, it does get a little noisy, especially with a public house a few doors away. Busses are available on the road and there is a car park at the rear of the hotel.
Wi-Fi is available in the cocktail bar area, and I got it in my room which was above the cocktail bar on the 2nd floor, and the front lounge. All the staff are very helpful and the indoor pool, although small, is nice. Should you want to go for a swim, then do leave your valuables in your room and carry the room key with you into the pool.
I don't know why a previous submitter complained about the set dinner menu, we found it perfectly acceptable, and we only had three items off the a la carte all week.
Five minutes walk from the town centre, and you must visit the market on Halkett Street and go to Bloomers Bakery there for good baguettes and pastries- very cheap!. Do also visit the Hospice and Cancer Charity shops in Union Street- good quality items at cheap prces- recommended!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comeuppance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We thought this hotel was excellent at the price. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a first floor room over the pool which was very pleasant and comfortable.
The set meal in the hotel restaurant was just to be avoided; very unpleasant! However, Breakfast was varied and good.
Plenty of eating places in easy walking distance for the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms over pool are good. We had 120.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had an eight day stay. Food was excellent at dinner. But you need to be an Elvis fan.. Same music every evening. Hotel staff nice and friendly especially in the restaurant. We were amused by one waiter who must have had metal studs under his heels - clickety click!!! The mattress in our room was extremely uncomfortable - could feel the springs but otherwise the balcony room was nice except for the banging of the metal gate leading to the car park. Not having Wi-fi in the bedrooms was a great disappointment as the hotel does say wi-fi is available and free. Location is excellent for the fabulous shopping street all pedestrianised and great shops.. We would come again and stay here but will bring a supply of cd's for the bar area and restaurant as a gift for the hotel.!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#4 of 31 in St. Helier
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#8 of 31 in St. Helier
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#16 of 31 in St. Helier
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Normandie
Hotel De Normandie
#4 of 5 in St.Saviour
737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.7 mi away
The Revere Hotel
The Revere Hotel
#11 of 31 in St. Helier
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $48 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing