We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Wonderful Staff”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff was amazing. I thought my purse had been stolen, but I was WRONG - I'd taken it out with me and left it behind at a nearby restaurant. The staff was just wonderful about it, even though I was sure it had been taken from my room. They helped look for it, assured me it was very unlikely it had been stolen (Jersey in Europe is much different from New Jersey in USA.), assisted me in making calls to my credit cards, and was just overall wonderful in helping me with what was a VERY stressful time. Grace under pressure is my measure of the quality of a place, and the staff could not have been better. Also, the included breakfast was wonderful. Had I paid top dollar for this hotel, I would have expected WiFi actually IN the room (rather than the lobby), but that was the only not-great thing. We stayed for only 3 nights, but I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    347
    198
    82
    49
See reviews for
167
396
25
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A group of 10 booked to stay here when visiting Jersey for my husbands 40th Birthday. We all agreed it was very good value for money, we had a bed and breakfast package, the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast lovely with a great variety.
The walls are thin which and you can hear your neighbours at times but for most of us this wasn't too much of a problem.
I had originally tried to book an evening meal but the hotel hadn't responded to me so I can't tell you what their dinners are like, however, the pizza place and pub attached came in handy for a snack Saturday afternoon. The pool area is nice and clean and warm.
When we returned back to the hotel on the Saturday night we went to the bar for a nightcap, the barman was friendly. The night porter was not! He asked us to keep the noise down (fair enough even though we weren't being loud) and made it clear he wanted us gone. We did feel he was rude and unfair as there was a group of ladies in the reception being very loud, we could hear them from the bar and they weren't being made to be quiet. When we went to bed we could still hear the noisy group, especially every time they went out to smoke by the pool, which is situated in the middle of all our rooms.
We were all happy with the value for money, food and most of the staff but the placement of smoking area needs a re-think as it is in the middle of the guests rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazrss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Good location for shopping,eating,dancing, the hotel is a little dated but clean and freindly staff it has a nice heated indoor pool with a jaquzz and a small gym. it has a sports bar on the side which was showing football and rugby all weekend (good for the men not so nice for the girls)
it also has a bar in the hotel which opened from 6pm till late. Good buffet breakfast with all usual bacon,sausage,eggs,cerial and fruit. the only thing we didnt like was that breakfast finished at 9.30 not good if you have had a big night. In all very acceptable and good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jongaymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights,the rooms were clean and spacious and the hotel is in a good situation for access to the town.The staff were very friendly and provided an exellent service,especially Paul the bar/restaurant manager.The breakfast was very good as was the meal we had in the hotel bar

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 603mst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a short break here in sept 2012 and arrived early afternoon
Check in was straight forward and staff helpful and friendly.
The hotel is a short walk from the town centre but the car park is a little hard to find due to the one way system!
The bar staff were friendly and attentive. Not so the breakfast / restaurant staff - they seemed a little curt and unfriendly and I m not sure why. From the outset what appeared to be the restaurant manager, was very abrupt after my husband sat down at a table in his absence and didn't wait to be seated! But it didn't spoil our visit - breakfast had a good selection of food for all tastes
Our room was a little dated and tired with a decor more befitting the 1990s but it was clean and warm. The pillows were very flat/ thin and even using two still didn't ease discomfort . Even though I asked for another pillow it never materialised. So a little uncomfortable for the week but not the end of the world
Pool was good for a relax when home from sight seeing and was warm and clean
Gym - a little small dated and dirty and staff not paying too much attention
Brilliant location meant we had a thoroughly enjoyable time at the hotel and the good out weighed the bad and all things they can improve on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyofdunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Pleasant hotel, lovely room, plenty of hot water. The indoor pool is lovely, & there is an attractive lounge bar in the hotel, with a lively pub next door. The buffet style breakfast is good, & there is a choice of the restaurant or pizza bar in the evening. Easy walking distance into the centre of St Helier, & plenty of parking space. The hotel is great for a quiet, relaxing break with easy access to the shops, bars, restaurants & clubs in the town. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor facing the outdoor pool. The only noise was the seagulls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel was distinctly average. On the minus side the decor was pretty faded and in need of a revamp, the walls were paper thin so we could hear everything from next door, the reception staff were pretty rude and there was only wireless in the reception. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent and the waiting staff very helpful, it's in a great location for wandering into St Helier, very easy to find and has free parking. I can't comment on the spa or pool facilities but they did look nice. For the money it was good value but unfortunately I didn't sleep well due to noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing