We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff deserve better”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Reviewed October 24, 2012

On the plus side, the staff are great, the pools and garden area are great and the location is perfect for shopping. Even the car park was very handy. On the down side, the rooms are very dated and need renovating. We were at the front and the noise from the road was awful between revellers and motor bikes. Double glazing would be a must, but then so would aircon because the room was stiffling.

Food was only okay. Most opted for the dinner buffet but we ordered off the menu (they weren't too impressed with that). Breakfast was just about ok, again buffet style.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
There are newer reviews for Apollo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 858 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Visited this hotel last week 11th - 15th October- couldnt fault anything, professional, efficient, helpful and friendly staff, who couldnt do more to help make our stay extremely enjoyable.
Lots of facilities, inside and outside pool, jacuzzi, and gym facilities. Hotel is situated just a few minutes from the town centre, althought the hotel has a good restaurant, buffet breakfast, it offered free upgrade to evening meal free of charge, we choose to eat twice at the hotel, both times the food was of good quality - once buffet evening meal the second "a la carte". Our room was very spacious and had good bathroom facilities, TV and tea/coffee making facilities.
Nice spacious communial lounge/bar area with free wifi in these areas.
Basically couldnt have chosen better- and would certainly recomment and return to this lovely situated hotel. Thank you for making our mini-stay pleasurable. (Room 204)

Room Tip: We requested a room at the back of the hotel, not street side, as was mentioned previously by other...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torremolinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at the Apollo for 3 nights and have no complaints, staff were very friendly and helpful bags even taken upto your room for you which was nice. Buffet breakfast lovely, plenty to choose from. We ate in the restaurant one night and it was very enjoyable and very reasonable. Very close to the town which was handy.
I agree the rooms were a little dated but comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris616264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

First impressions were good, the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The indoor and outdoor pools looked to be in good condition, although did not go in either. The rooms needed total refurbishment and the bathroom was extremely dated, the shower had a tiny dirty head and it was impossible to get the temperature right, the hose that was attached was broken and dirty. The toilet seat had chips all around the rim. For the sake of a few pounds these items could be replaced. The food was buffet style and not up to the standard it should be for an established hotel in Jersey. to say the least.The hotel was very central for St. Helier and for touring the area.Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The staff were mainly friendly and helpful. The indoor pool was warm and well kept. However the room we stayed in was clean but the bathroom was in need of updating The room smelt fusty and was noisy when the windows were open as it was at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was ok, but we had one evening meal there which was over priced compared to restaurants in the area so we wouldn't eat an evening meal there again. The car park is small - with narrow spaces if you hire a care would suggest going for the smallest possible - we were upgraded to a focus and wished we hadn't been a smaller car would have been a lot easier to park! We had problems with the wifi.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and was noisy especially when the windows were open.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini-adventure-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

On first look it was clean and tidy.Not the best if you are unsteady or in a wheelchair or with children in buggys.on every corridor there are steps anything from 2 to 6.We were at the front and the lift to the third floor was so small when my husband and I got in we couldnt even move our arms.Do not even go near if you suffer from claustrophobia.The noise from the street is very loud and constant as it is a busy road into the town centre.We had to move a set of drawers to access a powerpoint as there were only two in the whole of the room.The bathroom fittings were from the 70s and in need of an upgrade.Not our best choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

the Apollo hotel is in a good town location. From the bus station it is a short walk through the pedestrianised precinct; turn left at the end ; and you are there! The hotel staff are outstanding . . . nothing is too much trouble and they are always positive in their approach.
Breakfast was excellent. There were fruits, cereals, croissants, rolls. jams, cheese, toast and a full range of cooked items. Porridge was made to order.; tea and coffee plentiful.
The outside area was lovely. A reasonable pool and lovely gardens. There was also an indoor pool and jacuzzi.
The gym equipment needed replacing and the changing rooms were definitely past their best. You had to go out of the 'dressing ' area to have a shower!
The bedrooms are ok but could do with a revamp. . .especially the bathrooms. I am fairly agile but found it difficult to get into the bath. the over bath shower had an inconsistent temperature . It was better if hand held ( difficult to shampoo your hair then!) The sink cupboard was in poor condition and the surface was lifting in places.
We frequently had to ask the maid for the right number of towels and a dry bath mat. The floor was not always hoovered and bin contents sometimes were spilt on the floor and not removed.
i would still recommend the hotel but would not hesitate to enlighten people about the bathrooms.

Room Tip: I would ask for a quiet room as the room we were in was the route most people used to their rooms. A...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Helier hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
0.8 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 32 in St. Helier
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St. Helier
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
2,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 9 St. Saviours Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Price Range: $53 - $1,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing