We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”
Review of Unawatuna

Unawatuna
Ranked #17 of 225 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the cooking that chef Sudu learned as a child. Armed with his mother's homemade spices (she sends them over every two to three weeks) Sudu set to work, introducing a slice of Sri Lanka, and the cuisine he loves, to foodies around the island. The authentic decor - a team effort, which both Sudu and his partner worked hard to create, sets the backdrop for his first big adventure - Unawatuna - an original name to represent the unique cuisine.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor.

Staff were very friendly. The starters of king prawns and ribs were very good, fresh and tasty and portions were good.

We had the large version of the 'special', chicken and mango curry was tasty and again, a generous portion.

The small portion of chicken curry with coconut milk was spicy but lack a depth of flavour to our tastes.

Overall, a nice meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, General Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of our restaurant and the kind comments about the food and the restaurant. Concerning your comment regarding the chicken curry, all our curries are cooked in the authentic way (as they would be in Sri Lanka) so this how we are serving all our dishes. I do not understand how the chicken curry might seem to lack flavour but the two are not comparable as our Special as many more ingredients ( eg : Mango ) with makes it unique.
May I recommend on your next visit to try one meat curry and a couple vegetarian, this is the perfect combo.
I hope this helps
Regards
Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    76
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had my eye on this restaurant for a few months and wasn't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived and seemed happy to spend time with diners, even though the restaurant was busy.

We ordered four of the small curries between two people - the fish curry was particularly fantastic, as was the pumpkin. This was just about enough for two people when combined with a portion of rice, rotis and raita and a crunchy salad. For dessert we both had coconut and lime panna cotta from the specials list which was perfect to round the meal off.

The restaurant has a nice, relaxed atmosphere. As we visited on a Saturday evening there was buzz of people chatting and some background music. But it is the staff who completed the atmosphere. While service was not terribly quick (I didn't want it to be), the staff were only too willing to help and to explain the dishes and answer any questions.

The bill came to a little over £60 for the two of us - quite reasonable when including a few large beers and a liqueur coffee.

I can't wait to go back to try the rest of the menu!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluffysheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We have been working hard on perfecting all the small details to make our experience unique since we have open and I am please to see that it has paid off. We are trying to take our customers through a journey from the moment they arrive, to the moment they try our food accompanied with the service and the atmosphere.
We look forward to welcome you again and hope you enjoy the rest of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food! A real delight to experience good quality food served by nice friendly staff.
I would love to take the menu back to London.

Helpful?
Thank 18bells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Its nice to see that you have tried us when being over in Jersey. I hope you get a chance to come back and try more of our menu.
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'd highly recommend this Sri Lankan restaurant - convenient location, friendly service and the food was great quality and excellent value. It's particularly good for vegetarians.
It's worth going for the larger portion unless you're having more than one curry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbarrysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending our restaurant and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sri Lankan food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

tried the town restaurant yesterday. Owners used to be on Gorey Pier. Warm welcome, attentive service and the food was very good at a reasonable price. Limited menu but that is a good thing. Chicken and mango curry was really tasty and plentiful. Young daughter had the ribs as a main course with sticky basmati rice. Need to book in advance for weekends as very popular. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your meal with us and that we had an option on our menu that was suitable for everyone.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing