We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original and inspiring!”
Review of Unawatuna

Unawatuna
Ranked #17 of 222 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is the cooking that chef Sudu learned as a child. Armed with his mother's homemade spices (she sends them over every two to three weeks) Sudu set to work, introducing a slice of Sri Lanka, and the cuisine he loves, to foodies around the island. The authentic decor - a team effort, which both Sudu and his partner worked hard to create, sets the backdrop for his first big adventure - Unawatuna - an original name to represent the unique cuisine.
Poole
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Original and inspiring!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This newly opened Sri Lankan restaurant in sunny Jersey brings a novel twist to sub continental cooking. Instead of the predictable 'Indian' menu Unawatuna ( apparently named after one of the founders home village in Sri Lanka) has a menu of Tapas styled Sri Lankan dishes which are different, novel and present a range of tastes which are markedly different to the one sauce base of so many restaurant curries. Seafood and vegetables feature strongly as do the traditional meat options, but all with an original authentic flavour so different from the run of the mill curry houses. A great way to sample and share a myriad of flavours and textures. We dined with friends and the fun was in the sampling of the various choices of each member of the party.
Young people and families will love this place as well the the oldies looking for something different. The decor is appealing and staff attentive and knowledgeable. A must for all those who love the taste of the East but want something different and interesting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
It is very nice to see that you have enjoyed our cuisine and have tried it the way it is meant to be eaten ( Sharing and mixing the dishes/flavours). I hope you will get the chance to come back and try more of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    74
    19
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A lovely, authentic, Sri Lankan meal in a friendly restaurant with pleasant staff. The fixed price menu was very good value and offered genuine choice. You will enjoy it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 537mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here. Decor is great and the staff are really friendly.
The food is excellent! Delicately flavoured, with a nice spicy kick and generous portions!
Definitely give it a visit, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey-CI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Interested in a different experience (Sri Lankan), we were pleasantly surprised by the décor and instant welcome. The menu is small but on a something-for-everyone selection. Sudu went the extra mile on a request about the strength of the curry and came out with a tasting dish.
Fish cakes were very good although the prawns breadcrumb casings were slightly hard. The main chicken curry with coconut flatbreads was sublime.
Decent price and good selection of lagers.
Another welcome addition to the new restaurants on the block.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We always try to go the extra mile to suit everyone's taste buds and I am happy to hear that your curry came out the way you wanted it.
Hope to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After hearing good things about this restaurant and seeing positive reviews on tripadvisor I visited with my partner. We tried the fish curry and pork curry, very nice! Lovely decor, and reasonable prices added to a great night

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagle-eye30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
I am pleased to see that you have had a great evening in our restaurant and hope you will have many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing