We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Unawatuna

Unawatuna
Ranked #17 of 225 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the cooking that chef Sudu learned as a child. Armed with his mother's homemade spices (she sends them over every two to three weeks) Sudu set to work, introducing a slice of Sri Lanka, and the cuisine he loves, to foodies around the island. The authentic decor - a team effort, which both Sudu and his partner worked hard to create, sets the backdrop for his first big adventure - Unawatuna - an original name to represent the unique cuisine.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am so pleased to have discovered this Resturant. Amazing food and great atmosphere. Thank you Sudu

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadzGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comment. Hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    76
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow! Must try it”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends last month after hearing good things about St Heliers newest restaurant. We we're not disappointed! Food was fantastic, makes a nice change from your usual Indian and Chinese. They have a made a big effort in making the restaurant feel authentic but not over the top. The staff we're brilliant, made us feel very welcome and attended to all our needs. Will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Jerseyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you very much for you review and we look forward to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning flavours...”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just had a gorgeous Sri Lankan fest at Unawatuna at the Weighbridge. Used to go to Sudu's Spicehouse on Gorey Pier, he has now moved here and has really been able to show off his talents! Really authentic cuisine, the fish curry was the best i've tasted. Loved the dahl, fresh and tasty. Staff couldn't do enough, very friendly and knowledgeable. This is something different, a refreshing change from the usual Thai and Indian. Full marks to Unawatuna!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It's very nice to see that you followed us to our new location and that you had a great experience here.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
2 reviews
“fragrant flavours”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Brilliant meal. Packed full of lovely flavours with hints of heat. Much better than an Indian or Thai meal which can be heavy & stodgy and lack the subtly of flavours that these dished offer. Would recommend that you go there ASAP, the spicy black eyed peas and fish curry are stunning. At the moment they offering a brilliant deal with their Sri Lankan fest - make sure you try as many dishes as possible, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HilsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Hope you'll come in again and try the rest of our menu and daily specials.
Sudu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just had an absolutely stunning meal. We used to have meals when they were at Gorey Pier and we always really enjoyed them and it was always disappointing that they were closed during the winter. We were so pleased when we heard that they have now got permanent premises in town. We took our parents and a couple of friends there for the first time and were all delighted by the attentive service. Food was as ever packed full of flavours and the selection is much bigger than before. Unfortunately there were not enough of us to try every option on the menu but we tried our best, everything we had was perfect and bursting with flavour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grouville G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Owner at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am pleased to see that you followed us from the café & hope to see you again.

Sudu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing