We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defiantly NOT 5*!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Defiantly NOT 5*!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I recently had an overnight stay at The Grand.....never again!
The room was ok, no view but we had a quids in offer so we weren't expecting the best room. We ate in the Victoria resteraunt, my husband had the guinea fowl it was as dry as sawdust! The breakfast in the morning was definitely not 5star standard, we arrived for breakfast at 9am (a reasonable time), the bacon was all stringy and greasy, the eggs were in a Bain Marie sliding around in grease with hard yolks and the beans were cheap! It would've been acceptable for a 3 star.
I thought I'd teat myself to a back neck and shoulder massage while my husband had a swim in the pool, it was ok but the sales pitch immediately after the massage when I should've been relaxed was the final straw! I know it's personal choice but the spa was very dark and gloomy, very claustrophobic!
As locals to jersey which is an island of excellent hotels and resteraunts I found the Grand to be an embarrassment!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    477
    196
    62
    32
See reviews for
212
899
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose Jersey for a weekend away to de stress, and we were not disappointed, it is a wonderful location to relax. We arrived at the Grand, and all was well, lovely location and our room had the most stunning view of the sea and the picturesque castle that I think you would struggle to beat anywhere in the world. The hotel was lovely and all the amenities were 5*, the spa is the best we have come across in hotels, and there is the added bonus of the Michelin star 'Tassili' restaurant which was fabulous (see review!). Now for the slightly disappointing points.... The staff were not as attentive as you would expect from a 5* hotel, for example we arrived at 11am from our package flight, but were told the room was not quite ready and to go to the bar and wait (no drinks offered on the house), come 2pm the room was still not ready and we eventually got into our room around 2:15pm, this was all excusable but upon entry to the room (which was a perfect view and very well decorated) my wife noticed what appeared to be bodily fluid stains on the cushion and generally pretty poor standards of cleanliness all around. For the long wait we had to check in we expected more! On top of this the staff (apart from the concierge who was great!) just seemed to be lacking that fire and enthusiasm needed for a 5* hotel, so overall a great location and a lovely hotel, but just lacking that spark you expect from a top quality stay.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe sea view, anything else will disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat for my husband and myself for a two night stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, polite and happy. We had a excellent room facing the sea the room was a little dark but was not a problem, the furnishings in the room was very good bed was really comfortable, although previous reviews reported the sea view rooms where noisy we did not find this at all. We used Victoria's to eat for the two nights we found to food was fantastic although a little on the exspensive side. We hired a car whilst there and although there wasn't much parking space that wasn't a problem as the conceige always parked the car which was a great plus not having to worry about blocking people in etc. We would book this hotel again and would be confident recommending to others.

Room Tip: room 221 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angipangi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel with friends for a first visit to the lovely I sland of Jersey. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. Checking in and out was a painless experience. The hotel was well furnished. We three couples all had lovely rooms facing the sea. Rooms were comfortable, if a little on the dark side. Service all round was of a high standard. Enjoyable stay, would return.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washingtonaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

All the staff we met were genuinely friendly, thoughtful and helpful - always trying to do their best for us. As other reviewers have said it can be noisy when they have a group in and there were groups in during our stay but the only noise that bothered us was when they were yelling their noisy goodbyes in the corridor! Our room overlooked the park and was large, light, clean and comfortable. The location is central and just minutes to the beach, promenade, cinema, shopping area and restaurants, bus station, ferry etc. Tassili, the Michelin star restaurant is superb - I had the vegetarian tasting menu at around £50 and it was excellent. The wines we had during our stay were quite exceptional. There is a comfortable lounge and a champagne bar. Breakfast was very good for carnivores. I only have one quibble and that is a common one with hotels outside South-East UK and that is the lack of understanding of herbal teas. I have been given green tea (which contains caffeine and is not herbal) and asked for Redbush tea to be given red berry tea - note to self take my own teabags! They did have Redbush in the Tassili restaurant so this could be extended to the breakfast room perhaps. I would highly recommend this hotel and we are really looking forward to our next visit there.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel, public areas and function rooms if noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked a luxury three night break at this hotel, supposedly in a Park View room, as a special treat to celebrate my husband’s 50th birthday.

Although the food was nice both the accommodation and customer service were extremely poor.

Despite our booking company's written booking confirmation clearly stating a Park View room we were not given one. Instead we were put in a truly miserable, gloomy, shabby and dirty room (room 208). Its only outlook was of a roof immediately in front of the window, air con ducts and other service installations. I had previously assumed that there must be some minimum standards for rooms in 5* hotels but it appears not.

A manager did eventually deign to speak to us but did not show the slightest sympathy for our situation, engage with our concerns or offer to do anything remotely constructive. Even a simple apology was never going to happen.

In conclusion, Jersey is a lovely island with a good choice of hotels. We have visited before (a different hotel where we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay) and we intend to return. I can accept that the better grades of room at the Grand may be absolutely lovely, and that our unfortunate experience could be an isolated one, but we certainly won’t risk going there again.

Room Tip: Avoid 208. Get confirmation from hotel beforehand as to the exact number and quality of the room y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBeth1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spent three night here paid for a sea view room which was very dark could never get enough light even with all the individual lights really needs a ceiling light as windows quite small. Room was big enough bathroom was lovely so was all the extras slippers , dressing gowns and sewing kits etc We stayed when they had the storm all the roof tiles banged most of the night and we ended up with a leak in the ceiling when we told reception we were told they could do nothing as maintenance would not be in tell next day as we were leaving the next day the lady said they would look when we had checked out not in my opinion a 5 star service . Another annoying thing was the buzzing noise outside our room we were told it was probably the air condition but no one came to have a look . Breakfast was plentiful and good service with constant coffee refills do find it a bit strange in a five star hotel that you have to cook your own toast !!!
By the end of the stay the three nights of constant whistling of wind was very hard to bear and we had had enough. St Helier was a bit of a shock no where open on a Sunday in the town very run down with loads of empty places also pubs not very friendly . Found a couple of good restaurants which I will review separately .

Room Tip: Do not pick a sea view room in autumn as weather noise can become annoying .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
727 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing