We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,876)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveler rating
990
550
217
76
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
550
217
76
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barelizabeth castlepark viewvictoria restauranttassili restaurantsea viewfive star hotelsmall balconylovely hotelsea frontrelaxation roomsteam roomfirst classmain restaurantnothing is too much troublemain roadshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recently stayed at the Grand for a week on holiday and overall it was a good experience. Food was fab, room service, concierge and reception staff excellent and spa wonderful. Room had a fantastic view of Elizabeth Castle and the seafront. A visit to Elizabeth Castle is definitely worth it by the way - The 'Master of Arms' there is brilliant as is the 'Surgeon'. Back to the hotel - the room was okay but not quite up to standard for me. For example the air con broke down more than once, there was no separate shower,some of the bathroom fittings were broken and the carpets weren't vacuumed every day. The Terrace is a great place to relax for pre dinner drinks and the bar staff on the Terrace were friendly but didn't exactly rush so the service could've been a bit better. Overall though we liked out stay there and would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finlaysathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took family that were visiting Jersey for Sunday lunch at the Grand. It was a buffet so I wasn't expecting anything spectacular. We sat on the terrace overlooking the seafront, everyone having the buffet was sat inside but the weather was so lovely we requested to sit outside which was fine and we were reserved a table. Only downside to this was that the staff outside were very reluctant to serve us and we had to ask for the table to be cleared multiple times.

Unfortunately the food wasn't great either. We were informed that the buffet is served till 5, so when going in for our main at 4ish we were informed that there was no more yorkshire puddings or veg for the roast. So we were left with meat and potatoes which tasted as though it had been sat around for hours on end. For £30 a head this really isn't value for money as it was pretty much inedible.

I would never go back for the Sunday buffet and would not recommend it to anyone.

On the upside, their terrace is a great place to sit and have a cocktail!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank molliehegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from this excellent hotel.Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff without exception were brilliant nothing was a problem. The spa facilities were fantastic very relaxing and very plush surroundings. Had a very very relaxing massage. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The television could have done with having more channels and teletext and the plumbing in bathroom could have done with an update. The food was certainly value for money. Lots of choice and piping hot lots of variety and value for money. Will certainly visit this hotel again but please can someone do something about the flag flying on the flagpole it is filthy and torn and lets the hotel down. Hope to see this rectified on our next visit.

Room Tip: Sea view would be good.Fantastic views of the bay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Jersey. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time whilst in Jersey, and I shall pass your lovely comments onto the rest of the team who always appreciate their hard work being recognised and acknowledged.

I have noted your comments about the bathroom, television and flag and will ensure these are all looked at and rectified.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,


Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Immaculate hotel,for the money it really is brilliant, spa is excellent had a lovely massage, rooms are really modern,room service wasn't the best in terms of quality for the money but everything else was

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cab37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing Grand Jersey on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you had a great stay and experienced all of the facilities within the hotel.

I hope you will decide to return to Grand Jersey in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was recently treated to a birthday dinner at Tassili. Being a 'foody' I was naturally excited to visit my first Michelin star restaurant. I was certainly not disappointed; on arriving we were shown to the champagne lounge and indulged in a cocktail on the plush modern sofa. The menu was brought to us to peruse by the very friendly and knowledgeable waiter. We chose the 7 course chef surprise menu and were delighted by what we received.
Naturally on being presented with a portion size that's barely 6 inches wide you might be tempted to load up on bread but trust me and stay clear of the bread because there is more than enough food. Having delighted in dishes such as foie-gras and smoked duck we were pleasantly surprised to have a pre-dessert and 2 subsequent desserts. One being a marinated strawberry and sezchuan pepper with cream and the other a pistachio and olive cake with chocolate.
Staff were amazing, food was delicious and fabulously presented, definitely worth the £87 price tag.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeathersinherPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor following your recent evening in Tassili - we really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Our Executive Head Chef, Richard Allen will be delighted that you enjoyed your "Chef Surprise" dining experience and I shall pass your comments onto him and the Tassili team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews