We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the birth place again for a special event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back to the birth place again for a special event”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Grand Jersey is a very nice facility and the staff are really great. The 5 days we had there were for a special event and the grand staff made the day of our friends 90th with breakfast a very special occasion. It was nice to find a hotel that was more concerned with their guest comfort than the time frame for breakfast and their clean up for lunch and table setting. Not once did we feel at any time that we were in the way and expected to vacate the breakfast dining room ... thanks for the special event assistance. The rooms are comfortable and the greeting and introduction to the hotel were second to none with a welcome that provided a guide to the room and the hotel facilities by the concierge. Check in and check out were a pleasure and simple process and they assisted with a large postal exercise to reduce the weight in our bags. Thanks for your assistance and the lovely view from our Castle View room ... I spent many days in my childhood with family and friends in the cafe across the road and on the boats that ferry people back and forward to Elizabeth Castle. The Grand is also really close to town which means your don't need a car to get your around. Thanks again it was a pleasure to stay in such a well run hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miaamego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    477
    196
    62
    32
See reviews for
212
899
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a great weeks holiday at the Grand we had a standard double with no view, the room was very comfortable,although it was a inside facing room the windows were obscured so you couldnt see outside but you still had the light coming in, the only downside was that you couldnt open the windows at all because outside the fans were noisy with a smell of cooking, so we used the air conditioning at night,the bathroom was beautiful the bed was comfortable with soft cotton sheets,the tea coffee making facilities were replenished every day as were the toiletries,free dvds on the tv were a bonus too. We ate in the hotel the first night, the service was slow and the portions were tiny we paid £27,50 each for the set menu and my husband left the restaurant hungry, so we didnt go back for 2 nights on the Wednesday we tried again it couldnt have been more different, the service was fantastic we went for a different menu which was normal portions and was lovely the waitresses were so attentive, the breakfast in the morning was superb, the hot tureens were constantly being topped up the only thing they didnt serve at breakfast was baked beans I thought that was strange,but the huge selection you got made up for it.The location of the hotel is so good, you have the beach over the road and the view of Elizabeth castle and a short walk you are in the middle of the town,the road outside the hotel is a very busy dual carriageway and it can be a bit noisy at certain times of the day,We would certainly come back to this hotel the nice touches,your luggage being taken to and from your taxi and the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble thank you for a great week,

Room Tip: inside rooms are cheaper we paid £539 for 7 nights inc breakfast so if you dont mind having no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As the name implies a very grand hotel, staff very friendly, rooms comfortable , swimming pool and gym superb and in a good location just over from the beach and just slightly out of the town centre. Breakfast was excellent, did not eat in the hotel as a bit expensive also plenty of good reasonable priced restuarants nearby, try the Romano Italian superb food and very reasonable prices.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sap3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

I am delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us recently and wanted to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

All feedback is very much appreciated and used constructively, and I shall pass your compliments on to the team here at Grand Jersey.

I hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,


Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay for 3 nights. Perfect location across from Elizabeth Castle and close to town. Friendly staff, great breakfast choice. Good pool and sauna/steam room. The only negatives were Small single room but well equipped. Mattress was old and saggy on single bed and pillows cheap and lumpy! also pidgeons nesting on balcony! But apart from that a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and have taken on board your points regarding the pillows and other room observations, which I shall be speaking to our Housekeeping team about further.

I do hope that you decide to return to Grand Jersey in the near future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

There are some good things about this hotel. We appreciated the lovely soft sheets, books by the bed, the mostly very amenable staff, the amenities by Pecksniff and the nice sized and well appointed bathroom.Public areas are elegant and stylish although the scent of "The Jersey Lilies " was a little overpowering at times for me.
We did not like the location as traffic noise is a big problem. The decor of the room is very strange, dark colours, swirly carpet and a bed head illuminated by red or maybe pink lights. (We rejected the soiled pillows that were on the bed and were given fresh ones but as others have pointed out they don't really work as pillows any more and it is time new ones were bought. ) A layer of dust on top of the wardrobes could have been eliminated if the room had been better planned by making the wardrobes celling height.
None of these things help you feel relaxed and seem totally out of keeping in a seaside hotel. In fairness the decor is just as it appears on their website so I think the hotel appeals to a holidaymaker who wants things that we don't want on a holiday in the Channel Isles ie a relaxing tranquil break. Maybe a business traveller would enjoy The Grand?
Breakfast was hard work in the hot, big ,noisy restaurant where the swirly carpet meets you each morning. Hot buffet food is as you would expect when it is being kept warm rather than being freshly cooked. My boiled eggs freshly prepared were well presented and cooked just as requested. One table we were shown to was next to a grease spattered wall so we moved ourselves.
The fire alarm went off one evening. Evacuation procedures seemed to work but we not given an explanation of why it had gone off nor offered an apology for the inconvenience of leaving the hotel to go out into the rain.
St Helier could be an attractive town but the dual carriageway and car parks that greet you as you arrive don't do it any favours which seems a great pity as the town has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Contessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here at Grand Jersey.

All comments are viewed constructively, and I shall be following up on some of the points you raised - thank you for bringing them to my attention.

I am glad that there were many elements of the hotel and staff that you enjoyed, and we would love to see you return to Grand Jersey in the future.

Best wishes,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very good Location. The rooms were spacious and clean as you expect from such a Hotel. The best aspect of the hotel was the staff who were very attentive and considerate - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Grand Jersey.

Your recognition and acknowlegement of the service our staff provide is very much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Grand Jersey, St Helier (Jersey) from the 8th April 2013 to 13th April 2013 in room 331 (park-view). We've stayed there three times (Aug 11, Feb 12, Apr 13) and they keep improving their standards. The hotel staff were very kind upon arrival and took our two big suitcases up to our room. The room was spacious. It was equipped with a tea set (i.e. kettle, teas, biscuits, sugar, coffee, etc). The beds are a joy to sleep on and the doors insulate the sounds from the corridors very well for a good night's sleep. The breakfast buffet is very luxurious: there is a wide selection of food from the hot buffet section, cereals, "bakery section", fresh fruit and you can order some hot dishes too - e.g, poached eggs on toast, kippers etc. Although, 1) you have to order baked beans if you want them, and 2) the only freshly squeezed juice is orange juice. However, this doesn't affect the pleasure of a stay at Grand Jersey. The spa at Grand Jersey is excellent. The swimming pool is a heated swimming pool and is not too hot (like the Jacuzzi) or too cold (like a leisure centre swimming pool). There is also a sauna and steam room and gymnasium. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk to St Helier town centre, the main bus station (Liberation Station) and the tourist information centre. There is also a bus stop outside the hotel were busses to the West Coast, North Coast and Airport stop. (The bus stop for the bus from the airport is a one minute walk west of the hotel.) Across the road (directly in front of the hotel) is the boarding spot of the "Charming Betty" water-bus that takes people across the sea to the Elizabeth Castle. This is very convenient.

Overall, we both enjoyed the stay thoroughly and the hotel is (100%) worth the 5-star rating it has! Thank you Grand Jersey.

Room Tip: Most "Park-View" Rooms have balconies (and most overlook the coast as well as the park) N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Anthony,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your recent stay at Grand Jersey.

It is very much appreciated by the whole team when their hard work and five star service is recognised and acknowledged by our guests and as a returning guest to the hotel, I would also like to thank you for your continued support.

I can't wait to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helier
1.0 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St. Helier
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St. Helier
1,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 32 in St. Helier
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#3 of 32 in St. Helier
726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa St. Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing